We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The casual city swimming pool”
Review of Les Thermes de Spa

Les Thermes de Spa
Ranked #1 of 13 things to do in Spa
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: A unique establishment surrounded by nature, perched atop a hill overlooking the town and nestling like a jewel amid the greenery and authentic natural High Fens habitat that is the source of Spa’s iron bearing spring waters. An extraordinary view brought to you by an architectural style open on its surroundings, with pure lines and gentle curves, endowed with monumental bay windows. A complete facility combining the tradition of Spa’s thermal spring therapies and the notion of pleasure, comfort, tranquility, companionship… : mineral water baths at 33° from the natural Clementine spring, steam baths in the hammams and their ceremonies or dry heat baths in the traditional or naturist saunas, water games in the 800m² of indoor and outdoor pools, aquagym sessions, relaxation areas by the light of a Wood’s lamp and aromatherapy or under an infra red lamp, wraps or peat and mineral water baths… In its 60 private booths, the Wellness and Beauty centre offers treatments and therapies spanning balneotherapy, massages, beauty treatments and «body and mind» modules. Spa clients benefit from the expertise of a professional team (carbonated, Niagara, Thalaxion, peat, etc…), massages (Spa shower, sub-aqua, anti-cellulitis), covering purely beauty treatments, reflexology, shiatsu and many others besides…
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The casual city swimming pool”
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Visited 'Les Thermes de Spa' during our stay at the Radisson SAS Palace. Positive is the direct access via the cable lift. We had the expectation that les Thermes would be luxurious, zen, clean and off course 'pure water' of the local source Spa. Nothing of these expectations were met. What you will find when you visit les Thermes is a dirty city swimming pool. OK, it had a round shape and it's a little bigger, but : very present chloride, dirty floors, leafs everywhere outside & basic installations : very disappointing! We wanted to book a massage but the very unfriendly personel gave us a short answer that they had no availibility. It's obvious that they really hate their job over there!
We can totally agree with Lars K his comments here...!
Never again.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
9 Thank DAVID D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

921 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    204
    318
    216
    122
    61
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
103 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Know what people go here for.”
Reviewed August 4, 2012

We were in Spa last summer, 2012 and loved it. The Les Thermes de Spa is fun but it's not a high end spa like we are used to in the States. I think you also have to understand that the locals like to spend the day there relaxing and swimming, so it's an active relaxing day. My massage was weak to say the least but I couldn't speak to him so I can't say that if I had been able to communicate he may have went deeper. The part of the spa that the treatment rooms are in is very beautiful, as a former Spa Director I was very impressed with the architecture of the treatment area. I think if you don't speak french you'll have a bit of a stutter but if you do you'll get what you ask for. My sister and daughter had weak treatments as well so maybe it's safe to say just go there and enjoy the pool and relax. They loved the pool as you can swim in and out of the building. We were there actually in July of 2011 but the thing below doesn't let you go back that far.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Deniseka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knokke, Belgium
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Thermes de Spa became Sunparks”
Reviewed July 20, 2012

Don't go there if you are expecting a relaxing spa environment. I was extremely disappointed. Floor is dirty everywhere with dust and hairs (because flip flops are not allowed). Locker area is cheaply built (there are hair dryers but no sinks).
The Sauna's and hamam's are filled with noisy people who think this is a sunparks pool park. Nobody is relaxing everybody is noisy and running, jumping in water, you will be really annoyed unless this is what you want (but then you are at the wrong place).
A spa is for me a very quiet relaxing place with respectful people, this is the opposite. Simple "camping type" families going a day to the thermes, like it would be a day out to six-flags.

They should triple the entrance price so the amount of people gets to something acceptable instead of this public pool. Only a few showers for all the sauna's and ham ams upstairs.

Customer service 0. I wish I went to the spa in my hotel (spa bal moral) which was amazing!)

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank Lars K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Great experience”
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Massive indoor pool and outdoor pool. Definitely worth going to. There's a lift room the town directly into the reception - costs €2, or you can walk up in five minutes.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Matthew_benson83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford on Avon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Lovely way to while away an afternoon”
Reviewed July 13, 2012

We spent an afternoon here and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. Loved the outdoor bit in particular. It was clean and spacious, and the changing rooms a good size. Do watch the video in reception to see how the lockers work though, otherwise it can be a bit confusing if you haven't been before! We did find it quite busy, but there was plenty of space, and people tended to move around the pools. The only downside was the food area - we ordered something to eat and must have waited almost an hour for it to come. Other, wiser people came and ordered their food and went back in the water. Insufficient staff - only two teenagers serving and making the food and drink to both the in-spa and out-spa sides of the counter is simply not enough.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tuppence_Swivel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Les Thermes de Spa also viewed

Spa, Liege Province
Chaudfontaine, Liege Province
 

Been to Les Thermes de Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing