We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good quality hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Silva Hotel Spa - Balmoral
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Spa
Cambridge
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good quality hotel”
Reviewed July 15, 2014

This is a really good hotel with amazing views. All the staff were extremely helpful and very friendly, particularly the receptionists and bar staff. Our room and bathroom were very good but there was no shampoo or conditioner only shower gel. Everywhere appeared very clean. Would definitely recommend this hotel and would return again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gghols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    204
    107
    51
    20
See reviews for
68
300
10
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2014

Really nice hotel, building is old but modern inside. clean room, very comfy bed, great service overall. breakfast could be better but. food was warm, the "hot water" was warm. the pastries and bread were very nice and there was a great selection of meats, cheese, cereal and fruit. pool is nice but not huge (15 metre long by 5 metre wide). gym has the essential but a bit dated. overall, a good stay and would happily go back. hotel is away from the town so need the car to get into Spa for evening meals. no wi-fi in rooms but available in lobby

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Stayed at this hotel last weekend. Check in was easy and friendly. Room cant fault it and the valley view was excellent. Room was spacious and ideal. Its the little things that spoil this as a 4 star. The swimming pool needs a modern refurb and the excessive amount of brown staines on the ceiling was not very nice to see. Pool was very cold and the whole area lacked atmosphere. We never had dinner at the hotel. I checked the Menu each day and its very limited and strangely the bar menu had english translation but the main menu never?? Breakfast was no probs on Saturday but Sunday was a disappointment as most of the hot buffet was not out at 07:00 and even going back later this was still the case. The hot mushrooms were stone cold and we had to wait for hot water for tea. It would also be nice to have kettles and cups, tea and coffee trays in the rooms. The canopies over the balconies like my room were needing replacing. All ripped and dirty. I would also like to see an early breakfast option for those of us who had to be at the Spa race circuit early. Makes a difference of where I book for racing.

Room Tip: Ask for a valley or lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richard s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2014

This hotel was very welcoming and the service was good. We were pleasantly surprised by the quality of the food, dinner was excellent and breakfast offered a wide range to suit all tastes although coffee in a thermos is not a good start to the day but other drinks are available fresh and hot. Our only real disappointment was the quality and level of service provided by the spa treatments and wellness that we had pre-booked. These do not love up to the promises made in the hotel promotions and our recommendation would be to give these a miss and perhaps try one of the other locations for these.

Room Tip: If booking try and get a lake view room the vista is stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SprightlyC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
182 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2014

We were here to compete in a running race: 'Les Crêtes de Spa' and this was the only hotel still available. It was all very dated and a bit scruffy, altough the cleanliness was ok. The food was tasty, big breakfast and the evening after the race there was a big buffet which was delicious as well. So they did try to make the best out of it, but next time I want to go back to the Radisson Blu in Spa because it was 10 times better than this hotel. Too bad...

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Antwerpgirl_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickKleingeld, Propriétaire at Silva Hotel Spa - Balmoral, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on Tripadvisor. These are essential for us to continue improving our services.

We regret that your stay didn't fully meet your expectations but we are happy to read that you enjoyed the quality of the restaurant and breakfast.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in order to convince you of the quality of our hotel.

We will focus on the various negative points mentioned in your comment.
Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Tasteful, modern decor throughout; gave the impression of being newly decorated - none of the chipped painting that is encountered in many other establishments. Foyer area creates a favourable impression upon arrival. Very spacious bedroom, with separate antechamber containing closet and full length mirror; pleasing lime green colour scheme. Spacious and spotlessly clean marble bathroom with bath tub and shower. Very clean. Long balcony and view trees of trees.
Very accommodating staff who were able to rustle up a meal after the kitchen had closed. Excellent breakfast buffet, with a very wide range of fresh ingredients to cater for every taste and offering healthy options (including the possibility boiled eggs which had been boiled for 5 or 7 minutes, a choice between salted an unsalted butter, as well as champagne - perhaps as it was Easter Sunday. Such attention to detail was much appreciated).

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickKleingeld, Propriétaire at Silva Hotel Spa - Balmoral, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on Tripadvisor. These are essential for us to continue improving our services.

We will share your opinion with the rest of the team. We are delighted to read that your stay has met your expectations and hope to welcome you again in the future.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
74 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

We booked a "Design" room with forest view for 2 nights.

Great and very spacious room, nothing to say.

We've been however very disappointed by the quality of the food in the restaurant. Bemow average for a 4-star hotel. Codfish was not fresh. Rumsteak of lamb was very dry. Vegetables out of a can and heated up.

Very sad.

Then a comment about the change rooms before going into the indoor swimming pool... lot of lockers were damaged and non-functional. The change rooms are very small and very dirty.

For a 4-star hotel...a pitty that little details are not being taken care of.

The staff is very friendly and helpful though.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Travelbird19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickKleingeld, Propriétaire at Silva Hotel Spa - Balmoral, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on Tripadvisor.
These are essential for us to continue improving our services.

We regret that your stay didn't fully meet your expectations.
We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you again in order to convince you of the quality of our hotel.

We will focus on the various negative points mentioned in your comment.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Spa hotels
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Balmoral Hotel, Spa
1.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Palace Hotel, Spa
1.5 mi away
Hotel La Reine
Hotel La Reine
#8 of 14 in Spa
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Le Relais
Hotel Le Relais
#13 of 14 in Spa
73 reviews
1.4 mi away
La Villa des Fleurs
3.6 mi away
Manoir de Lebioles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silva Hotel Spa - Balmoral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silva Hotel Spa - Balmoral

Property: Silva Hotel Spa - Balmoral
Address: Balmoral 33, Spa 4900, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Wallonia > The Ardennes > Liege Province > Spa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Spa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Silva Hotel Spa - Balmoral 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel, with 126 rooms, allows you to stay in a unique place. Indeed, located on the hill of Balmoral, surrounded by trees, in perfect harmony with the generous natural landscapes of the Belgian Ardennes, the Silva Hotel Spa-Balmoral offers a panoramic view on the Warfaaz valley and Lake, one of the most beautiful locations in the region. Moreover, our wellness centre, equipped with sauna, Turkish bath, outside whirlpool, relaxation room, massage rooms and an inside swimming pool, will allow you to relax. Thanks to these infrastructures, you will be ensured to enjoy your stay at Silva Hotel Spa-Balmoral to stay in a calm and warm atmosphere. Our restaurant « Au Rendez-Vous de l’Europe » and our bar are also at your disposal to taste traditional and gastronomical dishes elaborated with seasonal products. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Silva Hotel Spa - Balmoral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorint Hotel Spa
Dorint Spa Balmoral

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing