We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely relaxing stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Radisson Blu Balmoral Hotel, Spa
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights. Very relaxing atmosphere, staff very friendly and helpful, and food in the restaurant excellent. The only downsides were that there were occasions where there simply were not enough staff around - long queues at reception for check-in and check-out because only one person on reception, and the bar had no-one serving on occasions. However, I would stay here again and would recommend it to anyone. We had no problems parking, though there were conferences on, and there were a lot of extra cars around in the daytime, but they seemed to disappear at night.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tuppence_Swivel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,373)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

255 - 261 of 1,373 reviews

Reviewed July 4, 2012

Spacious and very modern rooms. Limited parking - all outdoors. Elevator had problems getting to the third floor. Hallways on room floors could use a makeover - aged paint and worn carpets. Staff was very helpful. All in all it was overpriced. I stayed the next night just down the road at the Radisson Blu Palace in Spa city center and was much more impressed and the room rate was lower.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jrfsr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012

We've been going to this hotel for many years, as we love it's location and relaxed atmosphere, however we were a little disappointed by our most recent stay. The public areas could do with a renovation and the food at the restaurant was not of the standard we expected. We had an executive suite, which was nice but not as special as it could have been. WiFi does not work in all areas, which is frustrating. On the plus side, wellness centre has been revamped and is truly restful. In short, a nice stay, but as good as we expected.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SimplyAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

This is a nice hotel with the usual touches, but it was let down during my stay due to two technical issues, which demonstrated a pretty lax approach to customer service.

However, in the interest of balanced reviews, here is what was positive:
Lovely restaurant on site with very nice if expensive dinners, comfortable bar area and very friendly bar and restaurant staff, comfortable room, plentiful breakfast and the option to eat a lighter dinner in the bar, albeit with a very limited menu, plus a fairly large on-site car park.

The main negatives:
There was a power cut across the entire hotel one morning during my stay. These things happen and the test of a good hotel is how they respond to the problem. The restaurant staff were fabulous, using candles and plenty of cheer to keep the hot food coming, but one of my colleagues was trapped in the lift. The hotel staff took an unacceptably long time to call for help so in the end she was rescued by two other guests. On a different occasion I turned the TV on one evening and the channel I wanted to watch had been moved, requiring the TV to be retuned. It was early evening so I called Reception to ask how to retune the TV or to request somebody to do it for me. The response on Reception was very polite, but offered no solution. The Receptionist was quite concerned but did not know what to do. Good and reasonable customer service would have been "don't worry, I'll find out and get back to you with an estimated time and solution". All I got was "sorry, not possible". These two events illustrated a poor approach to customer service when things go wrong.

So, if all goes well you will probably have a pleasant stay but be warned if things go wrong!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlisonJCowan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2012

We wanted to stay out of town and this hotel was just ideal. Downtown Spa is just 5 min by car and on foot it takes you half an hour. A 15 min walk takes you from the hotel to the Thermes. The hotel has good spa facilities, a friendly staff and excellent breakfast choice. We stayed in a room in the old part of the hotel at the front side (not at all noisy at night) with a small balcony. The rooms are very modern, the bathroom is huge compared to bathrooms in similar hotels and the toilet is separate.
When we go back to Spa we will go again to the Radisson Blu Balmoral.

Room Tip: If you like to stay out of town, this is the place to be
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hugo_Nina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2012

Lovely hotel, nice big rooms....dutch speaking staff
nice wellness center and the Thermes the Spa are at the end of the road from the hotel!!!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BVFANTWERP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights. Very nice location with easy car access (ample free parking). From the hotel you can get onto several walking trails. Or you can drive to the center of Spa in just a few minutes. Comfortable, modern rooms. Nice wellness facility (we took a very nice massage). Excellent breakfast choice. Entre Ter & Mer is their evening restaurant, one of the top locations in Spa - we very much enjoyed having dinner here.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank De_Frank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spa
1.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Palace Hotel, Spa
0.1 mi away
Silva Hotel Spa - Balmoral
1.3 mi away
La Villa des Fleurs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Hotel Verviers Van der Valk
10.1 mi away
Domaine des Hautes Fagnes
1.2 mi away
Hotel l'Ecrin d'O
Hotel l'Ecrin d'O
#5 of 14 in Spa
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Balmoral Hotel, Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Balmoral Hotel, Spa

Address: Avenue Leopold II 40, Spa 4900, Belgium (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Wallonia > The Ardennes > Liege Province > Spa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Spa
#1 Best Value Hotel in Spa
#2 Romantic Hotel in Spa
Price Range: $111 - $211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Balmoral Hotel, Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Radisson Blu Balmoral Hotel, Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Spa
Spa Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing