We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“central location.clean and functional”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Restaurant L'Auberge
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Spa
Northampton
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“central location.clean and functional”
Reviewed July 4, 2010

the hotel is centrally located in the middle of the city,surrounded by bars and restaurants.our room was clean and had all we needed in it,although i struggled to sleep as our room overlooked the main road through the city.the continental breakfast was nice and there was plenty of it.
its only about ten minutes to Spa track and is opposite the Thermes,a nice experience but at £15 for a swim i dont think we'd do it again!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mark27Northampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    52
    17
    5
    9
See reviews for
13
53
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Holland
1 review
Reviewed December 21, 2009

Skip this restaurant/hotel if you can!
The room is very small and old fashioned, but that's ok. The breakfast is extremely poor, one type of cheese, one type of meat and some sweets for your bread and that's it for what you can put on it. Very basic, while I expected more and in other hotels do get more!
The nightmare is the restaurant. Don't eat there! We came with 4 people of which 2 were vegetarians. Two weeks in advance we told them that and when we arrived we had to tell 4 different waiters with hands and feet that we had a halfboard booked of which two were vegetarians as we didn't speak french. Only the fourth waiter decided to send someone to us who spoke English or Dutch instead of only French. How smart do you have to be to think of doing that? Then the food came after waiting ages for it.
The two vegetarians got as a starter leaves of lettuce drowned in vinegar. Uneatable.
The two others got a slice of white bread with a pile of mushrooms swimming in melted butter, calles hollandaise. What a starters! We couldn't eat it so we tasted and asked for the maindish. Again we had to wait a long, long time. The vegetarians got some vegetables with dry potatoes, which we tried to swallow, but that was difficult. So we stopped eating it. The others got a fish filled with something tasteless again swimming in the melted butter. After a few bites, they also gave up. We were so disappointed that we asked the waiter if it would be possible to cancel the desserts. He said that it wasn't a problem at all.
So next morning (after spending all night on the toilets the four of us!) we got the bill saying that we had to pay the full price, including the desserts. I told the guy that that should be a mistake as we didn't have one and that the waited told us we could cancel it. He asked his boss about it and his boss started to curse and didn't want to talk to us directly and let his employee do the dirty work. He yelled that we were so difficult and that because of those vegetarians he had to prepare the food 40 minutes extra (amazing that pouring vinegar on lettuce takes so much time!) and that therefor I should pay extra. Also because of us he had our desserts unused in the fridge waiting and that therefor we had to pay. I asked why it was kept in the fridge if he couldn't use it and if it's a restaurant, then why can't he poison someone else with it, but no answer. He forced us to pay for it and surely sold it to the next customer again. It was really an horrible man and a big disappointment to be here.
Spend your evening somewhere else and enjoy good food with a good atmosfere for the same money for example in the restaurant called "La Tonnellerie" or one of the many other good restaurants I would say...

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LiorHolland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Spa hotels

the Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2009

The location of this small hotel is perfect, just park your car in front of the hotel and you can walk around this small town. The rooms are clean but very small. The staff speak French and Dutch (but they prefer French) and a little English. There is a small elevator where only 2 people fit in. The breakfast (buffet)was included and was sufficient.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Knoppert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U.K.
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2009

Five of us stayed here for a long week-end, all five rooms were similar in size, were clean, acceptable and with good bathroom facilities. As other reviews mention the hotel is accessed via the main restaurant but this is not really a problem. Other reviews mention the staff as unfriendly, this was not my experience, they were perhaps reserved but were helpful and attentive. Only negative for me was the fact there is no residents bar or lounge to sit and enjoy a drink, there is a very small room on the second floor with 4 chairs, a fridge with cold drinks and a broken coffee machine. All in all a reasonable hotel for exploring the Spa area. We did not eat main meals here preferring to try other local restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deep-Miner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west mids
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2008

Just arrived back from 3 nights in hotel, Hotel was the noisiest i have ever stayed in, entrance was through restaraunt, following a mixup with our booking my daughter and son in law was put into a dark room with very little air at the back of the hotel instead of the double room we booked, however it was slightly quiter than the one we had at the front of hotel. Overall clean continenental breakfast o.k but not the best value for money

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — noise
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank WestMidsVal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
2 reviews
Reviewed June 19, 2008

I selected this hotel as it seemed lovely and was in the center of SPA.
As soon as I got there, the front desk employee was really rude. Worst of it, the room was extremely small for a double one and every time we wanted to go to the room, we had to cross the whole building including the restaurant! How nice when you are loaded with many bags and when everyone look at you.
In brief I do not recommend that hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ralf75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2007

very pleasant and helpful staff , Excellent food , The room was large, pleasant and very clean ,i would certainly recommend this hotel ,right in the centre of Spa ,great location .

  • Liked — Food and location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank megk5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Spa hotels
0.0 mi away
La Villa des Fleurs
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Palace Hotel, Spa
1.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Balmoral Hotel, Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Silva Hotel Spa - Balmoral
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Reine
Hotel La Reine
#8 of 14 in Spa
44 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel l'Ecrin d'O
Hotel l'Ecrin d'O
#6 of 14 in Spa
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Restaurant L'Auberge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Restaurant L'Auberge

Property: Hotel Restaurant L'Auberge
Address: Place du Monument 3 & 4, Spa 4900, Belgium (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Restaurant L'Auberge)
Location: Belgium > Wallonia > The Ardennes > Liege Province > Spa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Spa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Restaurant L'Auberge 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Restaurant L'Auberge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Spa
Spa Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing