We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic value for top quality dining”
Review of l'art de vivre

l'art de vivre
Reserve with
l'art de vivre is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #12 of 65 Restaurants in Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $53 - $82
Cuisines: Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Staffs, England
Level 6 Contributor
331 reviews
173 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
“Fantastic value for top quality dining”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

A group of us on a chilly Monday night in November enjoyed a top quality creative three course meal for €35 per person - unbelievable! OK, we spent a bit on wines, but at that meal rate, that's ok. And the place was full.

It's a lovely small house with great attention to detail. I agree with other reviewers that the service is not fast, but if you need that, anywhere from MacDonalds upwards does that (do you get them in Belgium?). This is a place for relaxed dining with friends where the conversation flow matches the wine flow, and where each course inspires a discussion in itself. The impression you get is that the Chef is cooking this for YOU and taking great care about it. The service itself was excellent.

€35 - amazing value

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank skyjockey99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    49
    11
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Maldegem, Oost-Vlaanderen, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“A certitude when we visit Spa (Liège)”
Reviewed November 23, 2012

For the sixth time we visited l'Art de vivre in Spa. Again we were not disappointed !!! This time we chose the 50 euro menu ... wine was 25 euro extra per person but we ordered 2 bottles of wine ourselves. We are convinced that we can choose better wines for the same budget and we will rarely order a menu wine included.
We first had an 'amuse' - three delicious 'tapas' with a very very good 'velouté' of mushrooms. Our menu included two starters that were both delicious (one with 'foie de canard' and one with white fish). Our main dish was 'râble de lièvre' as it is the season now. This dish is one of my favorites and prepared really great !!!
Dessert was 'double chocolate' and was a kind of chocolate mousse (white & brown chocolate).
Ideal to close a good meal ...
We discovered this restaurant 7 years ago and will go back again in the future !! Really a restaurant to recommend when you are in the region ....

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rik0412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Well decorated but slow to arrive”
Reviewed May 6, 2012

You must have time on your hands to enjoy this restaurant. The food is in general very good, the service is effective but the delivery is slow. The chef takes his time decorating each individual dish (and I get redoing many!!) so, the wait between courses is long and gets irritating. But, maybe, I am wrong about it..after all when you are in Spa it is probably raining and cold so you might as well be waiting for the main dish!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dylan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Average food, very slow service!”
Reviewed May 6, 2012 via mobile

Food was average, under the expectations. It was beautiful, a piece of art, but it didn't taste nearly as good as it looked. Service was very very slow, over two hours for a three-course dinner, and the restaurant was not even full. I guess the chef spent too much time decorating the plates.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fernando M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Best dining in a long time”
Reviewed December 1, 2011

Maybe it was a special day or maybe the cook had a good day but this was the best meal in a restaurant that I have had in a long time. Don't miss it.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank JNKetting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed l'art de vivre also viewed

 
Spa, Liege Province
Spa, Liege Province
 
Spa, Liege Province
Spa, Liege Province
 

Been to l'art de vivre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing