We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very inflexible”
Review of L'Etape Fagnarde

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
L'Etape Fagnarde
Ranked #6 of 17 Spa B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 10, 2011

The hotel booking cancellation is really inflexible and out of any morale. I was coming to the hotel, but due to a severe car accident was not able to make the holiday as planned. I cancelled the room two days before, with this force majeure reason. However the hotel was charging the full price of the non used room not showing any flexibility in their attitude. Later when seeing the prices of the rooms the prices was even lowered for the rooms, and still the management charges the higher price. What a greed!

What is worst is that they accuse me as their customer being a LIAR about this force majeure reason.

Even if the hotel itself seems to be nice and well located this outrageous behavior with no understanding of the problems of the client is definitely out of question for anyone who wants to be in service business. I really recommend not to use the hotel with these cancellation policies and inflexibility.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank commonadviser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc O, Owner at L'Etape Fagnarde, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2011

It’s right that our cancellation conditions are strict. However we accept late cancellations in case of force majeure, but we need to receive some valid documents which attest the force majeure (accident report or certificate of disease....). Unfortunately, we never got any document from the client attesting the severe car accident. Even cancellations without force majeure are also reimbursed to the client if we are able to rebook the rooms. That’s the reason of the price changes we made to re-sell the nights with a last minute price (unfortunately without success).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (32)
There are newer reviews for L'Etape Fagnarde
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 32 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2011

This B&B is really delightful. My family had an incredible time there and I would highly recommend it to all. L'Etape Fagnarde had very friendly hosts, great breakfast and wonderful rooms at a good value. We had our child and our dogs with us so we stayed outside the main home in the separate guest house. It is complete with a kitchen and living room. Spa has great thermal baths (duh, I know but I had to say they really are nice) and weekend antique market where I got some great pieces at reasonable prices. There were nice local restaurants and great hiking. This is really a perfect weekend destination to relax and enjoy Belgium. I agree with the other review that said it was like staying with your rich friends in their villa - I just wish I had more friends like them!

Room Tip: Check out the antique market on the weekends. Get there early with cash!
  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drozowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2010

I really can't explain how wonderful our stay was at this B&B. It was our first time at a B&B (we usually stay in hotels), and I can describe it like this: Imagine that you have a wealthy friend, who has a huge, beautiful house. The house is decorated well, has high-quality furnishings and is extremely clean. That is exactly what this B&B is like.

Many hotels have cheap linens, shampoo, food, etc. Not here! Everything is exactly how you would want your own house to be. We have a very young baby (just crawling) and this place was absolutely perfect. There is a huge backyard that is open to guests and an awesome child's play structure and sandbox.

The breakfast that is included with your stay is lovely. It was the best food I've had in a very long time. The husband and wife who run the B&B are just as lovely. Spa is lovely. Everything is just perfect. I can't wait to go back and stay here!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Livia416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2010

This is an address to put away for safekeeping your carnet ! First of all the hosts are absolutely brilliant and couldn't be more accomodating. The went out of their way to make our stay as comfortable as possible. The bedrooms in the main guesthouse are really lovely - spacious and tastefully decorated. The breakfast was varied and plentiful. They also have a really cute gite which can sleep 5/6. It's on the same grounds and is very comfortable and has a fully equipped kitchen and lounge area. I would highly recommend this chambre d'hote.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kateosullivan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2009

This was our 1st B&B on our 11 night tour of Belgium Germany and France. What a wonderful place to start our trip. We could not fault the place.

We stayed in the PRINCE DE CONDE room which was a large room with a good size bathroom.

The town was under 10 mins walk from the B&B

Would defiantly stay again if we where in the area

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveling_Welshman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2009

We are a young family that found the L'Etape Fagnarde very friendly. Great breakfast and worm hospitality. The rooms are very large, clean and very well equipped. We strongly recommend this B&B if you are planning to stay near Spa area.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amir_Kl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2008

This Bed and Breakfast was lovely and quaint. Rooms were immaculate, large, and very well furnished. All rooms had a private bathroom and shower. Internet service as well as a computer were available for use. Location was excellent since you did not have to drive or look for parking; you could walk to the center of Spa in just under 7 minutes.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank LoisLaneGermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Spa hotels
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Palace Hotel, Spa
1.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Balmoral Hotel, Spa
0.4 mi away
La Villa des Fleurs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Silva Hotel Spa - Balmoral
1.2 mi away
Hotel l'Ecrin d'O
Hotel l'Ecrin d'O
#5 of 14 in Spa
28 reviews
1.8 mi away
Manoir de Lebioles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Etape Fagnarde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Etape Fagnarde

Address: Avenue Docteur Pierre Gaspar 14, Spa 4900, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Wallonia > The Ardennes > Liege Province > Spa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Spa
Price Range: $142 - $417 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — L'Etape Fagnarde 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your L'Etape Fagnarde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing