We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good located hotel with great view & tasty breakfast at a fair price”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Sandeshoved

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Sandeshoved
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Nieuwpoort
België
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good located hotel with great view & tasty breakfast at a fair price”
Reviewed September 6, 2012

I was a bit reluctant staying in this hotel after reading several negative reviews on there, but my experience was overall very positive. We got a room with a small private terrace on the eight floor overlooking the sea. Where else in Belgium can you get such a view?! The spacious room was not luxurious, but nevertheless it was clean and well equipped. The breakfast in the morning was a real threat. There's a big buffer with something for everyone's taste. The kids loved it! The hotel is located at the very centre of the town, in between the shopping street and the beach. This is not a 4* hotel, so don't expect anything fancy, but the spacious room, location, view and fair price definitely make up for it. For a family with two small kids this hotel offers the perfect getaway week at the beach. We will most definitely come here again.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a room overlooking the sea and the beach. It's a small extra cost but very wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank tom d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    135
    74
    37
    61
See reviews for
154
137
15
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tienen
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2011

After staying in this hotel, I fully understand why it was the only hotel in Nieuwpoort with last minute rooms available on booking. com. On our arrival there in the evening we heard that our reservation was nowhere to be found. It took about an hour of looking at one uninterested employee after another who were immediately implying that the mistake was surely mine and that I ,probably had made reservations in another hotel by mistake. Instead of getting the reserved studio for 6 persons with sea sight, we got two tiny rooms on the same floor about 8 m² and 10m² with bunk beds buteach on the other side of the hotel. And this for the same price and with no apology whatsoever. Mistakes can happen but it was foremost the way they talked to us very condascendingly wich truly infuriated me. Breakfast was noisy, industrial but OK for a family with small children . The restaurant could have been the setting for a slapstick movie with very long waiting times, our waiter mixing up the orders and not even knowing what a sole meunière looks like when we complained about getting the wrong food. to be avoided!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank amoebeTienen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nieuwpoort hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hove
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2011

Not sure if it was a hotel or a living museum? Nieuwpoort Bad is a very modern town, but nestling within is this oddity. Its what I’d imagine the classic multi-storey seaside hotel was like in the 60s. I actually suspect some of the clientele have been going back to the place every year since then!
An entrance proudly displaying a large H sign with a single star underneath leads into an extremely drab & gloomy lobby. On either side of the lobby are an equally drab & gloomy ‘restaurant’ (although dining hall/refectory is probably a better description) and lounge. Shuffling around all areas were lots of very elderly people, over 80s rather than over 60s.
A disinterested receptionist organised a room on the 6th floor. There were working lifts, but patience needed. The 6th floor consisted of more drabness & gloom. A depressing corridor led to the room. One pleasure of staying in a top quality hotel is the ‘wow-factor’ when opening the bedroom door. With what had gone before, the Sandeshoved didn’t disappoint - a predictably stark & compact room, with tiny bed and no amenities. The bed proved to be as uncomfortable as we expected.
To be fair, the breakfast spread wasn’t too bad, but eating at plastic canteen tables and collecting one’s own cutlery isn’t really our thing.
You may want to consider the place for a one-night novelty value stay. However, at 90Es a night we’d suggest an alternative

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MandJHove_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leuven
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

not sure what to expect after reading several bad reviews, we were actually quite pleased, family with 3 kids to get a flat for less than 120 euros for 1 night, breakfast included. Possibility to heat bottle in apartment (little kitchen), one separate bedroom. Only our bed wasn't that good The kids fell both out of their beds and continued to sleep on the matrass that we put on the ground, so no complaints from them :) . Breakfast with good choice, only the coffe / tea mugs were not clean, none of them almost, but for this price the apartment is certainly good enough, clean rooms, no noise. We didn't try the restaurant as it doesn't seem our kind of choice.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lqurqlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2010

We paid 112 euros for an old room with cheap and broken furniture in a dirty and smelly builidng across the street. The staff was not helpfull. No one seemed interested in giving us an pleasant stay. Breakfast was horrible (dirty tables, no service, bad looking food) so we didn't stay even though we paid for it. No one noticed us arriving or leaving the breakfast room. We had a coffee elsewere. This place isn't worth a first nor a second look. Stay away!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank VdWLeuven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2009

This hotel is a shame, it is dirty, people don't care ... the food is terrible, they are even not able not make an ice cream properly !!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank vvvbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northants
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2008

This hotel was in a great location - right on a beautiful sandy beach and quite central for shops, restaurants etc. The exterior looked good on the photos on the website, however I can understand why few photos of the interior were included.
Some of the lifts have no interior doors which is dangerous; the corridors are quite gloomy and shabby and it all looked in need of refurbishment. In our room (one of the larger ones) the chair was badly stained and a bunk bed which folded down from the wall was cracked so I was glad we didn't need to use it. The double rooms were very small with little room to manoevre around the beds, all the bathrooms were tiny and ours had a cracked sink.
On the Saturday of our stay there was a power cut which went on for nearly 2 hours. During this time there were no staff in evidence to assist guests, many of whom were elderly. Apparently Sunday had been a really busy day so in the evening we were unable to purchase any snacks or meals as they had run out. the bar closed at 9pm as did the rest of the town!

Stayed October 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank mleggett4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nieuwpoort
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cosmopolite
Hotel Cosmopolite
#1 of 7 in Nieuwpoort
272 reviews
0.4 mi away
Floreal Nieuwpoort
Floreal Nieuwpoort
#4 of 7 in Nieuwpoort
47 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Uilenspiegel
Hotel Uilenspiegel
#5 of 7 in Nieuwpoort
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Gastenverblijf De Arend
Gastenverblijf De Arend
#2 of 7 in Nieuwpoort
57 reviews
2.3 mi away
Alberthotel
Alberthotel
#2 of 5 in Oostduinkerke
71 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hof Ter Duinen
Hof Ter Duinen
#1 of 5 in Oostduinkerke
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sandeshoved? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sandeshoved

Property: Hotel Sandeshoved
Address: Zeedijk 1, Nieuwpoort 8620, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Nieuwpoort
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Nieuwpoort
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Sandeshoved 2*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Sandeshoved reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing