We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gastenverblijf De Arend
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Nieuwpoort
Dorking,UK
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent stay !”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

We stayed here the night of Thursday 1st May . We were 4 cyclists on a circular tour from Dunkerque and Nieuwpoort was our first stop. The lady could not have been more welcoming, and the two twin rooms in the top floor roofspace were spacious and comfortable. I literally could not fault the facilities in any way. A first class establishment, and very cycle friendly (like the whole country of Belgium really)

Highly recommended..

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jammydodger9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    15
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
34
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2014 via mobile

A warm welcome and Tanya couldn't have been more helpful. Comfortable and spacious accommodation in the old town just around the corner from the market square and a short walk from the Kustramm. A great brasserie just round the corner too - In de Lewte. A nice garden and comfortable sitting room in a nice part of town. For us, it was just perfect.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We booked this in light of these reviews. The stay did not disappoint. The welcome and service throughout our stay was as good as we experienced anywhere. Don't bother youself with 4 and 5 star hotels come here instead.
Nieupoort itself in a lovely Flemish town not overun with tourists. Take the Kust Tram and visit resorts up and down the coast.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

not on the seafront but well worth staying here. quiet shopping street. host who knows what she is doing. nice big rooms, comfortable and equipped with everything a guest needs to make him feel welcome (free bottles of water, free fruit, free decent coffee in the lounge area and free coffee, tea, hot chocolate in the room, ...). breakfast is of the same standard. helpful host, she couldn't do enough for you. stay here if you can.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ginovandevelde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 4, 2012 via mobile

We arrived late on a Friday night for a weekend break. The owner came to our car and directed us where to park in the town for free, then carried our heavy case all the way from the car to the room. Upon arrival we we're offered free bottled water and fresh fruit. The room was beautifully decorated and large enough for 4 people to stay in. There is a garden which is also very nice with a place for smokers to have a cigarette in peace and quiet. The location is excellent, we wanted to go to Plopsaland theme park which was only 20 minutes by the coastal tram which is only 5 mins walk from the hotel. During our stay due to an error with our banks computers back in the UK, we we're left stranded with no cash and couldn't at first pay for our room. The owner (Tanya) went out of her way to help us and made us less stressed than we should of been. Overall this really is the best place I've ever stayed and I recommend you book to stay here soon.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulshopboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brussels, belgium
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2012

If you want to be on the seafront, don't pick this B&B, as it is in the center of the town of Nieuwpoort (all reconstructed houses after the damages of the great war), and not within a minute walking distance of the beach !
It used to be a shop, and it still shows in the windows. It has a very nice closed garden to enjoy.
The room was large, with a bedroom, separate bathroom and an area with a sofa, table, fridge, electric kettle with complimentary teabags, instant coffee, ...
Free bottled water and apples were offered as well. Breakfast was absolutely fine, with newspapers available to go through.
The place lacks some character, neutral rooms with some not so nice paintings. The breakfast room chairs could do with an upgrade.
However, as has been said before, the host couldn't be better and will go all the way to make sure you get what you want and more.
To be recommended

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meskean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belgium
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2012

We had a large, cosy room with a sofa. Breakfast was excellent served in a beautiful breakfast room. But the host was simply the best. She was very helpful, friendly en chearful.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moneymax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nieuwpoort
1.9 mi away
Hotel Cosmopolite
Hotel Cosmopolite
#1 of 8 in Nieuwpoort
287 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Styles Nieuwpoort
Ibis Styles Nieuwpoort
#4 of 8 in Nieuwpoort
20 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Uilenspiegel
Hotel Uilenspiegel
#6 of 8 in Nieuwpoort
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hof Ter Duinen
Hof Ter Duinen
#1 of 5 in Oostduinkerke
138 reviews
7.5 mi away
Hotel Ibis De Panne
Hotel Ibis De Panne
#2 of 15 in De Panne
437 reviews
9.2 mi away
Ara Dune Hotel
Ara Dune Hotel
#3 of 15 in De Panne
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gastenverblijf De Arend? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gastenverblijf De Arend

Property: Gastenverblijf De Arend
Address: Marktstraat 28, Nieuwpoort 8620, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Nieuwpoort
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Nieuwpoort
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Gastenverblijf De Arend 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Gastenverblijf De Arend reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing