We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't waste your monies!!!! The Staffers are 'Service-blind'”
Review of La Reserve

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Reserve
Ranked #6 of 27 Hotels in Knokke-Heist
Reviewed May 26, 2012

Apart from the delicious food and artistic rooms, the service was HORRIFIC, to say the least. The entire dining and cafe staff ought be fired or re-trained to high-quality standards. The feeling one receive whilst dining or having just a coffee is "we don't need your business"!

I do wish that the current economic conditions within Europe flows quickly to the coast of Knokke and wipe away any remnant of customers they have. Service is key for the survival of any business but La Reserve's staff needs a wake-up call eminently because the extremely high costs one expends should equate to the level of service one receives. This is definitely not the case!

La Reserve is 100% 'Service-blind'! Spend your monies elsewhere!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Aicram69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (298)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 298 reviews

Reviewed May 18, 2012

I was in the hotel on a business trip and I must admit that the team of La Reserve took this extra mile to make everything go smooth! They were very helpful, professional and caring, which can't be left unappreciated!

The interior of the hotel is trendy and chic, which makes working or sipping a drink in the lobby quite pleasant. The open air bistro carries a feeling of tranquility and one may spend the entire afternoon enjoying the beautiful view of the lake and the villas in Knokke. The bar has an excellent variety of whiskeys and cigars.

The rooms are fresh and spacious and when I got back from dinner I found an unexpected wish for good night, a ball of fresh spring fruits.

I would highly recommend the hotel for both business and leisure.

Room Tip: South Side Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank slavynova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2012

On sunday evening, April 8, we went dining with 5, at the Bistro in hotel La Réserve. Food was not more than ok, but personel wasn't at the point/even sometimes unfriendly... and they did forgot a lot what we where asking for. Dessert was horrible! Price/quality = not at all ok!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank JpBelgium2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2012

Sometimes a hotel is just a place where you stay for the night..
Sometimes you want a hotel to be part of your holiday experience.

Our choice to stay at La Réserve was based on this second statement.

Being from Belgium, living only 100 km from Knokke, we wanted to spend the Easter holiday weekend at the Belgian coast for some nice outdoor activities, shopping, good food, casino, etc... And as there was only little time to spend in Knokke, we wanted to go for the best only, hence why we chose for La Réserve.

We paid more than 200 EUR for one night, excluding breakfast.
Unfortunately, the price wasn't worth the experience.

It all started when coming into our room. The terrible smell of smoking was a huge turn-off, which made us contact reception immediately to have another room. Not possible, even not after insisting on it. The best they could do is bring a vaporizer to our room to mask the smell.

Being non-smokers, this was a major turn-off, especially given the price we paid for the hotel. While apart from that, the room was nice and spacious, a lot of details were unacceptable for a hotel which such a high standard: paint-spots on the wall that shouldn't be there, part of the wall missing in the bath room, water cock wrongly placed in the sink so that you hardly could fit your hands under it, no light in the bath room (or at least no logical way to find out how to turn it on), no mini-bar apart from some water (for free fortunately), etc...

When we would have paid 50% of the price, we wouldn't have bothered about all these details, even the fact that they couldn't give us another room we would most likely have accepted (after all, if the hotel is fully booked, it's fully booked). But at least they could have offered us a free upgrade or a price reduction.

Sorry for La Réserve but next time we'll go for something else...

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank farstreet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2012

My expectations were maybe a bit too high, but this is normal I guess when you will stay in a brand new but well known to hotel. Service was good, but not more then that. Big room with nice bathroom area, nice interior design. My room was looking out onto the casino. Rooms with view on the lake should be better I guess. The dinner in the restaurant was a little bit disappointing. However breakfast in the morning was again good.

Stayed: March 2012
3  Thank Rodriek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2011

The hotel is extremely new, but it's .. cold and confusing.
I had to call the reception in order to figure out how to turn on the lights in the room. To be honest I still have to figure out how all those fancy switches fit together. The elevators are confusing as well, I'm still not quite sure about which one to take to go where.
About the rooms themselves, they are nice, but it's not the type of place you want to stay too long, they looked to me really impersonal
It was strange as well the very limited amount of channels on the TV.
After a night there, I decided to just drive home and have breakfast there with my family, rather than staying there ..

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Athlet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2018, traveled on business
Thank Dimitri F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marie-LaureDV, Guest Relations Manager at La Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knokke-Heist hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Adagio
Hotel Adagio
#1 of 2 in Zoute
113 reviews
0.5 mi away
Manoir du Dragon
Manoir du Dragon
#10 of 27 in Knokke-Heist
82 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nelson's Hotel
Nelson's Hotel
#1 of 2 in Knokke
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Lugano
Lugano
#8 of 27 in Knokke-Heist
136 reviews
1.7 mi away
Lebeau Hotel Zoute
Lebeau Hotel Zoute
#19 of 27 in Knokke-Heist
32 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Atlanta
Hotel Atlanta
#12 of 27 in Knokke-Heist
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Reserve

Address: Elizabetlaan 160, Knokke-Heist 8300, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Knokke-Heist
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Knokke-Heist
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Knokke-Heist
Price Range: $209 - $360 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Reserve 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome in the new hotel La Réserve in Knokke-Heist! Following one of the greatest hotel reconstructions in Knokke's history, La Réserve once again takes its place in the most glamorous city at the Flemish coastal side. The new five-star hotel La Réserve is the largest in Knokke-Heist with 110 rooms including 2 suites, 2 restaurants, a bar, 5 meeting rooms, 1 ballroom, a spa with indoor pool, wellness and beauty facilities. Situated at the borders of the Victory Lake and only a few steps away from the North Sea, high-class shopping and dining, La Réserve is looking forward to welcoming you back in the utmost exclusive part of Belgium! La Réserve - An icon since 1949. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your La Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Reserve Hotel Knokke-Heist

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing