We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A superb visit” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chateau de Bouillon (Bouillon Castle)

Chateau de Bouillon (Bouillon Castle)
Ranked #1 of 8 things to do in Bouillon
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Castle that was the home of Duke Godefroy de Bouillon, one of the leaders of the first crusade.
Montana
Level Contributor
151 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A superb visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2013

The visit of the castle should include the show of birds of prey. It is excellent.
Do not miss it.
Denyse Lemaire

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mimi48NewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

760 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    390
    311
    48
    8
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montana
Level Contributor
151 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A gem in southern Belgium”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2013

The visit of the Chateau de Bouillon is very interesting. Visitors should definitely attend the bird of prey show. The shows are commented in four languages and the birds are superb.
I really recommend this visit.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mimi48NewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“How to contemplate 10 centuries in one place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

Not a lot of medieval places can give you such a perspective on the past 1000 years. Obviously, the castle has been remodeled and maintained over the years, however, this is rare to feel the weight of the past that strong.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Amer67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
60 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“A Proper Castle!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

This mighty fortress was everything we had read, and more. It is in incredibly good condition, unlike most we had previously visited that are sadly dilapidated. We loved exploring the nooks and crannies, using the excellent 1.50€ guide book we bought at the gate. The Scriptura exhibition was fascinating, tracing the evolution of education, reading and writing. There was a charmingly presented falconry display too, all included in the ticket price.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Loiseau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
111 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Great authentic castle with birds of prey show too!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

Easy to drive up to the castle and park. What a site! We took the self-tour and even though I have mobility issues with climbing, I could do it. Not easy but doable. Enjoyed the English translation which we followed as we went to each area and learned more about this Crusader castle. The birds of prey show was informative and enjoyable even without any English being spoken...my rusty French helped....did feel sorry that the birds wanted to fly off to freedom.....loved the exhibit on artist supplies, pens, etc since I am an artist but the floor was really scary...my hubby even commented that it felt like it was giving way....so I really did not get to enjoy the room as much as I wanted...made us laugh....

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank vmerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chateau de Bouillon (Bouillon Castle) also viewed

Bouillon, Luxembourg Province
Bouillon, Luxembourg Province
 
Han-sur-Lesse, Namur Province
Bouillon, Luxembourg Province
 

Been to Chateau de Bouillon (Bouillon Castle)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing