We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming...”
Review of La Ferronniere

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Ferronniere
Ranked #1 of 14 Bouillon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
455 reviews
170 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 294 helpful votes
“Charming...”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

The hotel is a 19th century mansion overlooking the town and castle of Bouillon. We had a lovely room with a terrace and a view. The queen bed was quite comfy, the bathroom with a tub and all amenities. The dinner in the restaurant was excellent, real gourmet. After that, a short walk to town was a pleasure. Plenty-full breakfast with fresh breads, home made jams and assorted cheeses was a great start for a next trip.
A free Wi-Fi and a parking on site.

Room Tip: A room overlooking the town & castle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1trekky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    41
    7
    11
    2
See reviews for
13
81
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Zoersel, Belgium
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Booked a great 2 night's package and were delighted with the result: nice spacious rooms, a clean and beatifull spa and a cosy restaurant.
We both had a very relaxing massage by expert hands.
The food was delicious and at times surprising; you should try the "menu decouverte"!

Room Tip: Rooms at "le jardin the la ferronniere" are in the same building as the spa and are new &a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert_and_Linda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Level Contributor
116 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

We booked a package for one night: overnight stay, 4 course dinner with wine, breakfast and wellness. and didn't regret it.
Beautiful environment, a 5 min walk to the center of Bouillon but located on a quiet hill.
Dinner was excellent! Real gastronomy.
Breakfast perfect as well: buffet with a lot of choice, a lot of home made and local products.
Wellness was relaxing, very recent and modern.
Room was good as well, very quiet.
We will go back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmmaBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warwickshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Well....... we have never stayed in such a quality guest house like this before! (It is definitely not your usual B & B). Stayed for only 1 night early October '12. Wish we had booked for longer. The room was very comfortable with a balcony looking out over the (rain soaked) town & castle.
The evening meal is some thing else entirely, yes, you might have a bit of a wait but, believe me it is well worth it. Why not enjoy an aperitif or other pre-prandial drinks while you wait for your meal in the very comfortable lounge area, even that will be an experience in itself. The presentation & quality of the food is impeccable.
We picked out just the courses we wanted, (have you ever been offered 'Fawn' as a meat course before ? Delicious by the way!), so it was not too expensive but you will need a thick wallet if you go for one of the full set menu's. Breakfast is also very unusual & an enormous variety of food was available. Wim, who speaks quite good english, & his wife Angelique have built up a very unique experience here & deserve every success for the future.

Room Tip: Our room was a main house balcony room which we would ask for again next time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dunsmoreman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2011

This is a nice little place, with food worthy of a 5 star restaurant. We had the menu de chasse, 6 courses, all works of art and delicious. No it's not stodge, meat and potatoes so you might not feel full to exploding after your big meal, but for me gastronomie is all about savouring different flavours not stuffing your face. Anyone with a dodgy waistline will be delighted to taste such great food without dreading getting on the scales back home. The restaurant service was good and well paced. Breakfast is a feast of homemade country fare.There's a big shaggy soppy dog in the hallway who adds to the family atmosphere, so even if you generally can't stand dogs (like me) this one really is OK. The proprietess has a very sunny disposition, and we sensed a lot of very hard work goes into running the place. The spa is very zen, brand new and wood everywhere. The reflexologist and the masseuse are excellent. The older part of the hotel has plenty of character, perhaps needs bigger double beds, better mattresses and net curtains but the bathrooms are fine. The newer part is more luxurious, but less homely. Would go again. Worth every penny.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElainePurnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2011

We have just come back from a weekend we spent at the Ferronniere and have a really mixed feeling about it.I start with the plus points : very good located, great old villa, beautifully restored, brand new spa (two saunas and a jacuzzi).Unfortunately we also booked a table for dinner which was a big mistake.The menu card was very limited, we had a problem deciding what to take (we did't want to take the whole menu for 35 or 60 euro).When we finally made our choices, first we had had to wait 2 hours to see the plates arrive in front of us and then we had to virtually look for the food on our plates.!! The pigeon I ordered was so tiny that I took two bites and that was it! Never in my life had I so little for so much!(26 euro) The same could be told about the fish of my partner.For the first time in my life after having eaten in a restaurant I was still hungry..... Advice for the owners: please don't make fools of your guests.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Snowek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zandvoort
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2010

Had a stay at this hotel on a weekend trip to the Belgium Ardennes. Went for a luxurious stay with nice food but mostly just to relax. We choose the hotel on the caracter of the building and the promise of great food. (as we travel a lot for work we did not want one of those standard hotels).

Well, our expectations came true. Apparently the owners just added some new rooms to their hotel and we were one of the first to use these new build rooms. Although still some things were still to be done. (fine tuning). We got one of the nicest rooms we had ever stayed in for a get away weekend.

The new rooms were spacious enough to spend a full holiday in. decorated with lot's of wood details wich give the room a warm and cousy feeling.

The owner, also the chef, prepared some great menu's which we enjoyed. Also here expect the best of the best. Not standard hotel food, but carefully prepared seasonal dishes. Very tasty and special.

We will defenately com back, specially as there is also a wellness centre on the way. (this one is still under construction, but looked pretty promising already).

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank belgium_mich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bouillon
0.3 mi away
Hotel de la Poste - Relais Napoleon III
0.2 mi away
Panorama Hotel
Panorama Hotel
#2 of 7 in Bouillon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cosy
Hotel Cosy
#3 of 7 in Bouillon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Auberge du Moulin Hideux
Auberge du Moulin Hideux
#1 of 1 in Noirefontaine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
3.1 mi away
Auberge Le Relais
Auberge Le Relais
#1 of 2 in Corbion sur Semois
4.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
0.7 mi away
Auberge d'Alsace Hotel de France
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Ferronniere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Ferronniere

Property: La Ferronniere
Address: Voie Jocquee 44, Bouillon 6830, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Wallonia > The Ardennes > Luxembourg Province > Bouillon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Bouillon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Ferronniere 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your La Ferronniere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing