We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
La porte de France
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Cosy(Bouillon)
$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$116
$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Panorama Hotel(Bouillon)
$138
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$74
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$212
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel des Ardennes(Corbion sur Semois)
$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Auberge la Hutte Lurette(Paliseul)(Great Value!)
$98
Booking.com
View Deal
$103
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (134)
Filter reviews
134 results
Traveler rating
17
31
29
23
34
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
17
31
29
23
34
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 134 reviews
Reviewed October 5, 2008

Good location, near the center of town. Close to bus stops. Rooms are pretty small. Breakfest was O.K. Nicer places to stay on the hill above town.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HikerJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2008

The Best Western La Porte de France is located in Bouillon, at the south end of the Ardennes, along the Semois river. It is a convenient walk to restaurants in town, and to kayak tours and rentals across the street (highly recommended). There is parking in front of the hotel, and entry through the side near the restaurant where the family owning the hotel keeps track of comings and goings. There was a bit of trouble with the check-in, double vs. single beds, and there was a quick shuffle to an alternate room. The new room promised a river view, which it did have, but it was minimully furnished and very tiny. Overall, the value promised was nowhere near the value received.

The room has a single bed and a small table, along with a (small) TV mounted up in the corner. The windows in a dormer did overlook the river, but also the parking lot, with accompanying noise. There was noise from a couple in the adjacent room all night. There was a small shower, clean, but tight.

Breakfast was included and was very good; a generous buffet that included a variety of breads, meats, cheeses, and cereals. A pot of coffee was provided.

I think that the error in making the reservation probably caused the shift to a substandard room, which is too bad. The price is good and the hotel certainly has a good location which, given the right room, could have made for a wonderful stay. There are good restaurants available in town, and it's worth the walk in to sample the local cuisine.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank DaveH-ExPat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2008

We drove from Valkenburg to Bouillon for a stop before heading to Paris. Booked 2 rooms for a one night stay with river views. We were very impreesed with this pretty and friendly town and wished we had another night there so we could picnic , canoe and go go-carting.
.Location of hotel excellent...breakfast typically European. We spent half day at the castle and Godfrey's story museum which the kids loved.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank astrochichi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2006

Bouillon has its own authentic medieval fortress guarding a quiet town along a lazy little river. If you stay at the Porte de France you can be a part of the illusion for a couple of nights that knights still defend noble castles against the modern world. We had a quaint little room overlooking the river with great beds and a table and chairs that I think they got at the same time they bought the cafe furniture. Breakfast is good enought to start a day of sightseeing on, and you won't find more congenial service. It is comfortable European hotel with unbeatable location.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Osc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2006

This is a cute hotel with character and in a great location with beautiful views of the old stone bridges and along the river or the castle. We asked for a river view and, come morning, we could see that we didn't get it. The room we had was oddly configured with a funny fold up bed in it, which we did not ask for. The staff pleasantly changed our room to a river view and she told us that it was smaller and, less expensive but that was OK by us. The beds were heavenly comfortable with big pillows. The room could have been enhanced by putting a proper little table and chairs in the bay window. There were two chairs in the alcove, obviously taken out of one of the conference rooms as they did not fit in at all. Also, the table that was against the wall at the end of the bed was taken from the bar and it didn't fit at all, either. Just those little touches would have prompted me to up the rating .
This place was in a great location and the staff was friendly . The included breakfast was pretty pitiful, however.

  • Stayed: September 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fisches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews