We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing to write home about”

SEA LIFE Blankenberge
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Ostend, Belgium
Level Contributor
195 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Nothing to write home about”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

The facility is small, esp. compared to those elsewhere (Boulogne, Brest, Lisbon) . As a consequence, there are fewer aquariums, and when in one or two of these the fish or other animals are not visible, there are not many others to make up for it. Even on an out-of-season day, the place is easily crowded, and in the plexiglas deep-sea tunnel (presumably one of the highlights) the visitor's enjoyment is definitely limited by cramped space and the boisterous behaviour of improperly supervised school kids. The enjoyment and appreciation of the outdoor displays (NOT tourist-oriented "shows", which I must grant is creditable), that is, the seals and seal clinic, turtles, penguins and otters is very dependent on the weather. The "jellyfish disco" means little more than changing light and deafening music, but true enough, it shows the varieties of jellyfish in an interesting, unexpected perspective.
The cafeteria is pretty sordid (metal tables and chairs, not all clean) and the food banal ("vegetarian" pasta means no meat, but also no vegetables, nothing but a greasy cheesy sauce on top), all served slowly and sulkingly.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank JPGuillaume
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albert S, Manager at SEA LIFE Blankenberge, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Hello,
Sorry to hear that your visit was disturbed a little by school kids, but as we all know they are young and very energetic. We are pleased to know that you liked our presentations.
Our outdoor is maybe not so pleasant with rainy weather but in summer we have the greatest terrace of Blankenberge with view on our sea lions. In 2014 we even will add some live music in summer so you can really relax after a visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    202
    148
    48
    22
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zaventem, Belgium
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“I had a wonderful day”
Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

Sea life is a small but Beautiful site to visit. We went during the week so it was very calm and we enjoyed it a lot!

Helpful?
Thank Tara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wassenaar, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“An interesting half day out”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Enjoyable half day out. The small turtles were so busy catching the autumn sunshine that they ignored the food when it came, with just a couple of exceptions. The otters are very entertaining, the penguins, rays, seahorses, piranhas, jellyfish disco (!), sharks and seal and sea lion show all add up to an interesting trip. The 18-hole Pirates Adventure Golf kept us (25-60+) amused afterwards as well!
The only disappointment: you can reach the attraction through the dunes past the pier - but then there is no further signposting to the right when needed - so you take an unintentional extra long walk back along a busy road...

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank GoldenOldey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice if you are near.”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

At august 2013 we went 2 adults + 2 kids (5,9).
The place is very very (very) small (Smaller than the sea life that in the netherlands).
Worth visiting only if you are near..Not worth going special.
Nice presenations (turtles and sea lions) but the problem...No English !

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank dvirc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albert S, General Manager at SEA LIFE Blankenberge, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Hello,

We think you missed a part of our interior exhibition. We are at least as big as the Sealife in Holland and we have a great part outside. We will re -think our signage because your not the first one to miss a big part of our centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not so much to see”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We're not really into shows with animals and if you don't count that in it is a rather short visit with not that much else to see but some underwater sea life that you already know from other zoo's.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank DM72_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed SEA LIFE Blankenberge also viewed

Blankenberge, West Flanders Province
Blankenberge, West Flanders Province
 
Blankenberge, West Flanders Province
Blankenberge, West Flanders Province
 

Been to SEA LIFE Blankenberge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing