We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We expected more”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Haidenhof

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Haidenhof
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Lienz
Hvar, Croatia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“We expected more”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We are going for a final dinner(7 persons)after beeing in Lienz skiing since some years in the restaurant of Hotel Haidenhof and were satisfied in the years before allthough the tendency of satisfaction was decreasing. This year our experience was even worse
We got a small table in a corridor(this was not mentioned at the telephonic reservation) where all the staff passed and asked relatively rude to sqeeze us more to the table,
Some of the selected dishes were not available, but not marked on the menue.
We waited very long to get our food and compared to the price they asked for it it was too expensive.
We ordered austrian Burgundy wine, but it was a white burgundy, also not mentioned on the wine-card. No excuse came.
No bread and butter at the beginning were served and we got it only after some complaints.
The service was cold almost unfriendly and nobody asked us hoe we are satiefied.at the end.
we will avoid to be there again next year.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hvaranka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    19
    10
    3
    1
See reviews for
9
28
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level Contributor
268 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

A very good hotel five minute drive from center of Lienz, which is fine because Hotel restaurant is excellent. If you can't find hotel signs follow signs to Gaimberg. Mountain views from room & restaurant are stunning. Complete sauna & solarium with beautiful deck on 3rd floor. Pretty grounds.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BunkyVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Treviso, Italy
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2011

The hotel is lovely, the original building is from the 14th century, but the rooms have been recently renovated and conjugate old-time charme and modern facilities. All is clean, warm and cozy, our room (double red tower room) was spacious and had a wonderful view on the city and the valley (the hotel is 5 min. away from the city center by car). The staff is welcoming and helpful, the breakfast was delicious, served in the restaurant that has the same wonderful view on the mountains as the rooms. Another lovely thing is the sauna and solarium area, warm and peaceful, and fully recently renovated. Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BubusBubus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level Contributor
123 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2011

Quaint with its own brewery, apart from that there was nothing of a boutique nature to recommend this hotel. It is situated well out of the town and one's own transport is advisable
. We booked on a half-board basis, the meal on the first night was very good and served promptly. The second night, a total disaster, it took 2 1/4 hours to deliver the table d'hôte menu, the meal was inedible and it was hard to believe it was produced by the same kitchen as the previous night. The whole hotel appear to have no hands-on management checking on the needs of its clients or the professionalism of the staff. On complaining to the owner/ manager we were given a bottle of wine, however, whilst the gesture was appreciated. We would have preferred receiving the service for which we had paid and for that which we expected. The rooms were clean, but basic as was the breakfast that showed no imagination or flare. I would not recommend this hotel to friends

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank william t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiesbaden
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2010

The restaurant was great. The room was excellent. We had an apartment for 2 adults and 2kids. Plenty of space. Wonderful view. There was even a small playground. Although we had a good time here with kids, most guests were couples.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slocor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2010

An excellent hotel with a beautiful view of Lienz and the Dolomites. My half-board dinners at the restaurant were outstanding, making the extra Euros for half-board an excellent value. As a home brewer, I also enjoyed the excellent beer that is served and brewed on-premises.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dmurph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
145 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2009

The Hotel Haidenhof is situated just outside the old town (5 minute walk) on a hillside, resulting in breathtaking views of both the surrounding Dolimite mountains and also Lienz itself.

The hotel is very tastefuly furnished with rooms (including bathroom) being of above average size, many of which have balconies taking in the views described above. Beds were also a good quality and the shower pressure great. Facilities included a bar, large dining room area (along with a function room), wireless internet and a sauna / solarium / sun deck on the top floor.

Breakfast was simply outstanding with foods ranging from cereals, yoghurts, fruit, breads, pastries, cold meats / cheeses, salmon / herring rollmops, boiled eggs along with bacon and scrambled eggs. We also used the restaurant for dinner and again the food was just wonderful, whilst both the "house" red and white wines were above average and strongly recommended.

In summary had a wonderful stay at this hotel, capped off by friendly staff service and would have absolutely no hesitation in recommending or returning to this hotel when next in the area.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bowoodforest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lienz hotels
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Lienz
Grand Hotel Lienz
#1 of 9 in Lienz
335 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Holunderhof
Hotel Holunderhof
#3 of 9 in Lienz
99 reviews
0.7 mi away
Goldener Fisch
Goldener Fisch
#5 of 9 in Lienz
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Sonne Lienz
Hotel Sonne Lienz
#6 of 9 in Lienz
145 reviews
2.6 mi away
Parkhotel Tristachersee
0.8 mi away
Vergeiner's Hotel Traube
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Haidenhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Haidenhof

Property: Hotel Haidenhof
Address: Grafendorfer Strasse 12, Lienz 9900, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Lienz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Lienz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Haidenhof 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Haidenhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing