We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weinerschnitzel.”
Review of Goldener Fisch

Goldener Fisch
Ranked #4 of 45 Restaurants in Lienz
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Ottawa
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Weinerschnitzel.”
Reviewed June 22, 2014

Superb... a lovely restaurant, with good service. Great desserts as well.... This was our second visit, and we weren't disappointed.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank cllees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    52
    15
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eagle, Idaho
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Get the goulash soup”
Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

Recommended by our hotel it was an easy walk. Goulash was great. Really great. Green salad ok. Veal Wiener schnitzel was tender and flavorful. Potatoes were good but a little heavy on the garlic for my taste. Two guys near us got the House Wurst and it looked really good. Service was fine, English menus and staff we had spoke enough english for us to get along fine. We would go again.

Helpful?
Thank crtravels_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odenton, Maryland
Level Contributor
221 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Good food, cold service.”
Reviewed May 11, 2014

I decided to eat dinner here, after reading a few of the reviews. When I first walked in, it took awhile to get service and while everyone was polite the staff took no extra effort in providing service.

When I received my food, it was very tasty and I enjoyed eating the food. It didn't seem to be too expensive to eat there, either. Would I go again? Eventually, but not until I had tried some of the other restaurants in the area. It's an ok spot to stop for dinner, but I would expect there to be better options around the city.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 197stevee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lienz, Austria
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excellent traditional food served quickly without any fuss.”
Reviewed November 23, 2013

The Goldener fisch is a very popular restaurant and hotel close to the town centre of Lienz just a 2 minute walk from the main square. The restaurant is large enough and has numerous rooms for dining/drinking as well as a nice beer garden at the rear - perfect for the summer.

At the front entrance, is more of a bar/pub type atmosphere and towards the back, the atmosphere is noticeably more restaurant. There was also an extra playroom with toys for children. The beer garden was lovely, especially at night – eating outside underneath huge trees and pleasant lighting in a relaxing al fresco environment!

Food is excellent too! Here you’ll find mainly traditional East Tyrol specialties such as Venison Goulash and Austrian classics such as Wienerschnitzel.

Menus are available in English and I can honestly say it was hard to choose a dish as everything sounded so delicious! Staff were pleasant (but not over friendly) and were professional and spoke enough English to easily get by.

The service and food was very quick and all the dishes had that ‘wow’ factor when turning up at the table. Everything we ordered afterwards, including further drinks, turned up at our table literally 1 minute later – and that even when it was very busy with nearly every table in the restaurant full!

Prices are perfectly fine for what you are getting and I found it excellent value for money. Most main courses costed between €10 - €18.

The good:

Excellent food/menu
Quick service
Pleasant beer garden in summer
Town centre location
No reservations required
Food served all day

The bad:

Can’t think of any!

If you are in Lienz on holiday and are looking to eat out with great traditional food in a relaxed environment without any fuss, then the Goldener Fisch comes highly recommended. Enjoy!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AdventureAustria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuching, Malaysia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

food are nice but not all staff speak English and a few even do not really like to attend to an Asian particular of difficulty of communicating. It is very hard to get a sit especially during peak hour.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jacson_Kueh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Goldener Fisch also viewed

 

Been to Goldener Fisch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing