We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class Hotel”
Review of Grand Hotel Lienz

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Lienz
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Lienz
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 28, 2013

The Grand Hotel is located in the town of Lienz on the banks of the River ISEL.
Hotel building is very beautiful on the outside. The interior is very stylish and has a luxurious design. The lobby is decorated in classic European style; it has a wood fireplace with cozy seating areas around. The dominant colors in furnishing the lobby and the rooms are brown green and red with touches of golden beige. these colors gives warm and luxury feeling .
The hotel is family owned and immediately when entering the hotel, you feel at home. Staff is very kind and welcoming. All the staff including the owner, does above and beyond to give a pleasant and welcoming feeling to guests. My feeling is that the staff is attentive to guests needs and will do everything to fill them .
The rooms are large and very spacious. The safe box in the room is wide enough to contain cameras and portable computers. In addition to the TV in the room has a flat wide-screen. Bed linen and towels in the rooms are of the highest quality.
The bathroom is very spacious and includes two sinks, shower, tub. Toilet and bidet are separated with a door from the bathroom. As befits a five stars deluxe hotel, the staff arranges the room also in the evenings.
Breakfast was very varied, delicious and fresh. Breakfast included a selection of breads, cheeses, sausages, cut vegetables, cereals, jams, sliced tropical fruits, juices, wine and champagne, and of course a warm drink.
The hotel has a spacious high quality and luxurious spa that spread over two floors. The spa includes a number of treatment rooms, a relaxation room with refreshments, various types of saunas, steam rooms and a gym. There is also a very nice pool with internal and external parts. There is an area in the external part of the pool with whirlpools. Relaxing beds are spread at the inner and outer area of the pool.
Aside the outdoor pool which faces the river, there is a nice and well maintained garden.
In summary the Grand Hotel Lienz is a high quality hotel and recommended. Without a doubt, I'd love to stay there in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AmirFDM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (366)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 366 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2013

I was pleased with the hotel, location, facilities, staff etc. I wasnt comfortable with the usual feather pillows, and I pointed this out the following morning. Within 10 mins. housekeepinv brought a choice of pillows. The hotel had a very relaxing atmosphere. The only disappointing feature was the fact that people were allowed to smoke in the lobby bar. No non-smoking area was available.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NomadicForever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

A new hotel build next to the River Isel, the room is very spacious, have a group of dedicated, polite and friendly staff at the counter and the restaurant all eager to provide best service . They chat with customers which is most unlikely in other hotels.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacson_Kueh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Beautiful hotel with friendly personnel, providing great service and are very caring with a personal touch upon arrival.The rooms are well equipped and very comfortable. The neighboorhood is lovely and the trip to the ski mountain a dream.

Room Tip: Rooms with a balcony with a view on the waterside are fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Nalinie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Very rare that I was treated with such a friendly professional service. Hotel itself seems a bit "artificial" as the building is new, but wants to make the impression of an old Grand Hotel. But truly a five star and I would always come back. Spacious Rooms, great breakfast, all new and superclean. Thinking about bringing some guests here.

PS. Wrote that review while I still sit in the lobby. Wanted to make sure I don't forget!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alsina1922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Excellent excellent excellent
This is what a 5 star hotel should be, I stay here a lot on business, and it is superb in every way, truly one of, if not the best hotel, I have had the pleasure of staying at.

Room Tip: All are perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

This place has High expectations to start with but it did not disappoint os In any way, at all. We have been In many placeses in the world but this take the price. We startet the stay at 11 am but the had a room ready so we got our room many hours befor we could claim it. Keep up the good service.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anders B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lienz
1.9 mi away
Parkhotel Tristachersee
0.2 mi away
Vergeiner's Hotel Traube
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sonne Lienz
Hotel Sonne Lienz
#7 of 9 in Lienz
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Holunderhof
Hotel Holunderhof
#3 of 9 in Lienz
121 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Goldener Fisch
Hotel Goldener Fisch
#4 of 9 in Lienz
91 reviews
7.4 mi away
Almwellness-Resort Tuffbad
Almwellness-Resort Tuffbad
#1 of 1 in St.Lorenzen
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Lienz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Lienz

Address: Fanny Wibmer-Pedit-Strasse 2 | 9900 Lienz, Lienz 9900, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Lienz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Lienz
Price Range: $202 - $319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Lienz 5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Grand Hotel with high aspirations: The Grand Hotel Lienz is your hotel of choice if you are looking for elegance, flair and class. This newly built hotel, a gleaming gem in East Tyrol, has already fulfilled its expectation to mix modern and tradition in its beautiful architecture.In southern Austria, neighbouring Italy, framed by Austria's tallest mountains, the Grossglockner and the Lienz Dolomites, you will find the 5 Star Grand Hotel Lienz. Surrounded by stunning mountain scenery, enjoy the exclusive ambiance of the Grand Hotel Lienz with gourmet cuisine, medical wellness of the highest level, as well as a spacious spa oasis for the soul, and not forgetting top service. Our guests can expect an atmosphere in which nearly every one of your wishes is granted before you even have to ask. With the chic and stylish decor, elegant and spacious rooms & suites providing the highest level of comfort with their lavish furnishings and facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand Hotel Lienz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing