We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sorry but not very comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Andreas Hofer
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Kufstein
near Birmingham
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Sorry but not very comfortable”
Reviewed May 6, 2014

Stayed here as part of Shearing christmas trip . Staff were very friendly and always seemed very busy. However as others have said the food was not of a very high standard. It wasn't terrible but not inspiring or much of it. the Christmas EVE special dinner was not special there was no entertainment laid on by the hotel, oh apart from some guy playing an electric organ one evening for an hour. It was a small hotel so I suppose there isn't much room for sitting around but our tour had about 80 guests plus some other guests - who dined in a different restaurant( which btw served salmon for breakfast and cooked eggs etc which our assigned "restaurant "didn't ).the bar was very smoky so another European country not bothering to follow EU recommendations. It was an unpleasant environment to sit in so we didn't , we walked into the town and tried to find somewhere to drink which we did . kufstein is lovely we actually sat outside on Christmas Day by the river having a coffee had Cafe Hell- we went to Austria for the snow but it was actually warmer there then back in blighty!
the rooms were outdated and as previously said the toilet was like a caravan toilet! It was very hot inside the hotel. Oh and the bells! If you have your window open- and probably if you don't - beware- VERY loud and early!
I wouldn't like to critiacise the hotel too much as Shearings chose the hotel for the package and have obviously negotiated a meal deal as we all sat in a different room from the other guests. The coach drivers were great and the journey was comfortable and as a party of six we did enjoy ourselves. however we were disappointed with the food but think the price for Xmas time was reasonable.

Room Tip: It was nice to see the castle but over looking the courtyard if you were low down would be smoky!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joker87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    40
    36
    19
    22
See reviews for
24
40
12
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Went with Shearings, not their usual standard of tour. Hotel Andreas what can I say? Room small, no comfortable seat in room, looked out onto a courtyard, therefore didn't need to open window to smell the aroma of stale smoke. The minute; Bathroom(plastic and tiny for a caravan?) was for very little people!!! Treated like a second class citizen when it came to the dining room. Very poor starters buffet style, and soup, without bread. very thin with little taste. The main course served at table was Pork varied in quality, poor portions, cooked different ways, presentation rustic and the service sporadic. On Christmas Eve it was one hour waiting between poor quality courses, and only when reception were approached did we get served our sweet, as there was NO staff available to complain to. The smoking in the bar area permeated the entire dining constantly, and smoking was allowed in the only lounge available there foreno comfortable areas for non-smokers. I would not recommend this holiday or this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jeannieScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreasHofer6330, Rezeptionsmitarbeiterin at Hotel Andreas Hofer, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear guest,


thank you very much for your message. We are sorry to hear that you weren't totally satiesfied with your Holidays.
Concerning the rooms, we are happy to tell you, that we are redecorating most of the rooms, as well as all bathrooms.
Concerning the Restaurant and the bar we would like to apologize for the inconvenience.

If you have any further questions or comments, please do not hesitate to contact us directly (info@andreas-hofer.com).

It would be a pleasure for us to welcome you another time in our newly renovated rooms.


Yours sincerely

Fam. Sappl and Hotel Andreas Hofer Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kufstein hotels

Arlesey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

Food at Andreas hofer never fails to disappoint. Service is extremely slow, portions of potato and veg extremely small, no bread is offered with soup and penny pinching is obvious throughout. The housekeeping is random. If you are thinking of the 'traditional Austrian Christmas Eve dinner' forget it. It was as sparse and unappealing as all the rest of the food the only addition being the hour's wait between main course and pudding. (Apple pie).
This was a rip off holiday beware!

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Christina I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreasHofer6330, Rezeptionsmitarbeiterin at Hotel Andreas Hofer, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear guest,


thank you very much for your message. We are sorry to hear that you weren't totally satiesfied with your holidays.
Concerning the dinner we would like to apologize for the inconvenience.
Our Restaurant is highly recommended in the Region.


If you have any further questions or comments, please do not hesitate to contact us directly (info@andreas-hofer.com).

It would be a pleasure for us to welcome you another time in our newly renovated rooms and thank you for your honest opinion which we see as a chance to improve our Service.


Yours sincerely

Fam. Sappl and Hotel Andreas Hofer Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

this was one of the worst holidays ever, the food in the hotel was very poor, christmas dinner was advertised as tradional the turkey was just a turkey steak, no roast potatoes, no cranberry sauce, no christmas pudding, every other day we had pork, and the puddings were always chocolate. the soups we had were tastsless, also we never saw amince pie,the service was also poor, there was no choice at all on the menu. the breakfast was the worst continental one I have ever had. would not recomend this hotel, was not a four star as advertised I would rate it as 1 star and then I am being generous.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brenda t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreasHofer6330, Rezeptionsmitarbeiterin at Hotel Andreas Hofer, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear guest,


thank you very much for your message. We are sorry to hear that you weren't totally satiesfied with your Holidays.

Concerning the Restaurant we would like to apologize for the inconvenience. We sorry thath you couldn't enjoy your Holiday as planned. Of course we have spoken to our Chef to improve our Service.

If you have any further questions or comments, please do not hesitate to contact us directly (info@andreas-hofer.com).

It would be a pleasure for us to welcome you another time in our newly renovated rooms.
Thank you very much for your honest opinion, which use to improve our Service.


Yours sincerely

Fam. Sappl and Hotel Andreas Hofer Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasov, Romania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We stood at this hotel for a week in a standard double room. The staff is very friendly and helpful when possible. We were shocked a little bit when we saw that in a 4* hotel in the middle of the town, you can still find PVC type bathroom in the room, which was very small with a small 70cm/70cm shower. The room had no tea/coffee machine, no minibar. The bed was 2 twins putted side by side. We asked for at least a 2 person blanket but they did not have one in the hotel...we received two 1person blanket. The heating was not good also (this is why we needed the blankets), it was ~20C in the room most of the time with the heating set to maximum... in the morning you found the radiator(heating) cold. Outside there were +1 - +5C. You could easily hear every morning when the others left early.
The room had good internet access and Samsung LCD with HDMI in port. As usual, 95% of the channels were German ones so at least you can use other devices to watch a movie.
The breakfast was the same on all the mornings... nothing changed. The fried eggs and the fried bacon were cold...

Room Tip: Ask for matrimonial bed, and heating time (if you travel in winter), before booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Feri_bv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Our family really enjoyed a four day stay over the New Year 2013/4. There were helpful and friendly staff, clean rooms and good breakfasts. Dinner offered well-prepared regional specialities at reasonable prices, thought the pace was aimed at locals on an evening out rather than families feeding tired children. The main drawback was slow junctions driving through the town to the skiing areas.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nixwebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

We went on a Shearings coach tour for the festive season to the Andreas Hofer hotel, on arrival the staff were quite welcoming, the room was spacious and adequate for our needs, However when we went down to the restaurant for the evening meals and also the festive lunches served, we were bitterly disappointed, the portion size was small to say the least, there was not enough to feed a small child.
Pork and chocolate sponge was the main dietery offerings on the menu, we did have Turkey on Christmas day but no trimmings,( very poor ).
The bar area was dominated by people smoking, this filtered the whole of the dining room, as a non smoker myself i found this, along with other people on the tour disgusting and intimidating.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ellie090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kufstein hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Stadt Kufstein
Hotel Stadt Kufstein
#2 of 13 in Kufstein
115 reviews
0.2 mi away
Boutique Hotel Traumerei #8
0.1 mi away
Hotel Gasthof Goldener Loewe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Kufsteinerhof
Hotel Kufsteinerhof
#6 of 13 in Kufstein
55 reviews
0.1 mi away
arte Hotel Kufstein
arte Hotel Kufstein
#3 of 13 in Kufstein
25 reviews
0.8 mi away
Alpenrose Hotel-Restaurant-Seminar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Andreas Hofer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Andreas Hofer

Property: Hotel Andreas Hofer
Address: Georg Pirmoser-Strasse 8, Kufstein 6330, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Kufstein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kufstein
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Andreas Hofer 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Andreas Hofer is the leading 4-star hotel in the center of Kufstein, the city known as the "pearl of Tyrol". This hotel had its beginnings as a small inn in the early 1900´s and developed into the sought after hotel it is today, because its management truly understands the meaning of comfort, good cuisine and professional service. Whether you are on holiday, a business trip, attending a seminar, or just stopping over on the way to another destination; we hope you enjoy the amenities of our high quality hotel combined with a warm and private atmosphere. We look forward to seeing you in our restaurant "Kaminstub´n" where we hope you will try some of the excellent regional cuisine and wines, which we change often to reflect the seasons and to offer plenty of variety! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, seekda GmbH, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Andreas Hofer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andreas Hofer Hotel Kufstein
Andreas Hofer Kufstein

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing