We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Last minute decision, best decision!”
Review of Carilley Estate

Carilley Estate
Reserve with
Carilley Estate is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 6 Restaurants in Herne Hill
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Last minute decision, best decision!”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

I decided to take my partner out for dinner and chose Carilley from the Swan Valley Visitor Centre website. I phoned and made a reservation for a Friday night. We arrived a bit before our reservation and were greeted by a lovely lady who let us pick where we would like to sit. We choose a table looking outside into their beautiful garden/wedding area. The same lady was our waitress and was very attentive and also professional, nothing ever seemed a problem or too much. I ordered the caesar salad with chicken and my partner, fish of the day which was barramundi. We got our meals very quickly and they were delicious, neither of us could fault it! Also very reasonably priced. We will definately be returning again and speading the good word about Carilley Estate!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rochelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    24
    8
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Western Australia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Friends booked Carilley Estate as a lunch venue for us to meet. I had to look up where it was as I had never heard of the place and was a bit sus about a place off the main road.

What a surprise it turned out to be. Not only was the presentation of the property very attractive, but the restaurant was well designed to minimise noice and congestion, the food was plentiful and sumptious (between us we had four different mealt and they were all magnificent) and the wines a delight to partake of.

Table sevice was excellent and the staff were very attentive at ll times.

A short stroll down to Susanna Brook after them meal was a perfect was to end a glorious and totally unexpected experience.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruce D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
163 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“A lovely experience”
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Three of us visited each one of the Swan Valley winery restaurants before settling on this one for its gorgeous setting and lovely open, sunny dining room. Our Mediteranean Platter and eye fillet steak was beautifully presented, perfectly cooked and a wonderful selection of local produce. With three glasses of Carilley's great wine the bill came to just under $100. We could barely fit through the door on leaving feeling very satisfied and with that rosy glow that only comes from eating and drinking well in fine surroundings.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rodandi2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Wonderful outlook”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Fabulous setting and wonderful food. Staff very friendly and great service. If we had one complaint it would be that the food was served too quickly - would have enjoyed sitting with a glass of wine a bit longer and enjoying the gorgeous gardens! But everything else was fantastic and we will be back many times!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jillian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia
Level Contributor
369 reviews
198 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
“Great setting and relaxing ambience”
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Our friends joined us for Sunday lunch at Carilley. We chose Carilley because we read a review on a local food website, and it did live up to its expectations. The weather looked threatening but suddenly the sun came out and the staff soon opened the folding doors which initially we thought was a bit too soon as we could feel a cold draught. However on request they closed the doors while we ate our mains. The food was quite good, especially the mediterranean entree platter which had a varied selection of food items. Our table had chicken breast, fish of the day, pumpkin risotto and eggplant moussaka which we all enjoyed, however, the moussaka had lots of sauce and not much eggplant content. We think it could be an entree rather than a main. Their sparkling merlot was a good accompaniment to our meals, and we all commented on its delightfulness. We were also able to have free tastes of some of their other wines. Special mention to the staff, who were all extremely polite, attentive and it was a pleasure to chat with them. The cost is acceptable. We walked in the gardens afterwards amongst the olive trees and citrus. You can hear some traffic noise from Great Northern Highway, but it looks very nice to sit under the sail covered area outside. We will return.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aussies11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carilley Estate also viewed

 
Caversham, Swan Valley
Henley Brook, Swan Valley
 

Been to Carilley Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing