We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sunday roast...avoid at all cost!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Lion Inn

Red Lion Inn
Ranked #3 of 3 Restaurants in Todwick
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Sunday roast...avoid at all cost!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

I decided to visit this place for Sunday dinner as it is local to where we live.
After a wait of 40 minutes we enquired as to how much longer our meal would be.
We were informed 3 mins. 15 minutes later the food was served.
Mashed potatoes were like powdered potatoes
Roast potatoes were hard in the middle
Vegetables were hard
And as if all of the above we're not enough the Yorkshire pudding was a sight to behold. I will be posting a picture of this soon.
I complained to a waitress who took out complaint to the chef and came back with the reply. We will have to wait.
I feel the state of the Yorkshire pudding was in response to our enquiring as to how much longer our food was going to take.
This sort of behaviour and cooking affects the reputation of the Red Lion.
We will be avoiding this place at all cost.

Helpful?
Thank Terry9396
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    27
    33
    35
    65
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Waste of time”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

Visited Sunday lunch time and restaurant fairly quiet. Half the menu was unavailable, bar staff unaware of what was available until keyed into the till and by checking with the so called "chef".
After 1/2 hr, decided to have just a jacket potato but the "chef" wasn't prepared to do this at the time.

Spoilt a birthday celebration with friends, and decided to go elsewhere albeit what became of a late lunch.

Don't waste time going expecting a nice chosen meal...be prepared for whatever they want to serve that day.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Frank K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“very poor”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

Such a shame to see a good positioned attractive place go downhill. £9.29 for a Sunday roast that was so poor. The staff were all very polite but inefficient and slow. The bar staff were confused operating the till. The furnishings are now very worn. I really hope they get this sorted.
I wouldn't,t recommend this place right now.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NGL2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Red Lion Inn was very poor service.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

We had a poor experience at this pub a few months ago when waited 30 minutes for a cup of coffee but put it down to a temporary shortage of staff. So we decided to give it a second chance, but it was a mistake indeed. To be fair the staff were trying very hard and seemed to be running round a lot; and the food, when it finally arrived, was very tasty. But there just weren't enough staff on duty to cope with demand (after waiting 30+ minutes we asked where the food was and discovered there was a 45 minute delay because there was only one chef). Our order eventually arrived after a 50 minute wait! It was quite nice actually although not an over-generous portion for the price, and we enjoyed it. The menu was offering two Sunday roasts, but, at 6.30pm, there was only pork left; why that should be so early in the evening I don't know. And there was no cheese board available on the dessert menu, which was a disappointment! If there was such a long wait for food the waiter should have told us when we placed our order, giving us the option of going elsewhere. Similarly, if there are shortages on the menu this should also be made clearer. This is just a lack of management attention. If this establishment took payment after the meal then diners would have the advantage of refusing to pay for the poor service, but paying in advance means that you have to demand money back to show dissatisfaction of service received. Incidentally, whilst placing our order a diner was asking where his food was; he'd been waiting since 5.15pm! It was now 6.30pm - we should have turned round and left there and then! It was disappointing because we had planned on doing something else later on, but as it took 2 hours for a main course and a dessert we had to cut things short. So we won't risk the Red Lion again, that's for sure!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BrianGMarieG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“So so so bad how can it be so bad”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

Called in for a meal as we where in the local area. I cannot believe that people can get this so wrong!!! No Sunday lunches available, no burgers of any description and a shortage of people to serve at the bar dirty glasses stacking up all over. Ordered some meals as we had been here some time ago and it was an ok meal. Waited 50 mins for four simple meals! went to the bar at 40 mins to see what was happening and the response was I will check with the kitchen and come back to you, they did not come back to us but delivered what can only be described as below par below average food. Soggy chips, dry chicken burger and microwaved lasagne. My starter was forgotten and came as I had just finished my main meal. My advise don't waste hard earned cash on this place.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank john t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Lion Inn also viewed

 
Rotherham, South Yorkshire
Rotherham, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Red Lion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing