We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Waste of time”
Review of Red Lion Inn

Red Lion Inn
Ranked #3 of 3 Restaurants in Todwick
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Waste of time”
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Visited Sunday lunch time and restaurant fairly quiet. Half the menu was unavailable, bar staff unaware of what was available until keyed into the till and by checking with the so called "chef".
After 1/2 hr, decided to have just a jacket potato but the "chef" wasn't prepared to do this at the time.

Spoilt a birthday celebration with friends, and decided to go elsewhere albeit what became of a late lunch.

Don't waste time going expecting a nice chosen meal...be prepared for whatever they want to serve that day.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Frank K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    28
    34
    38
    69
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“very poor”
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Such a shame to see a good positioned attractive place go downhill. £9.29 for a Sunday roast that was so poor. The staff were all very polite but inefficient and slow. The bar staff were confused operating the till. The furnishings are now very worn. I really hope they get this sorted.
I wouldn't,t recommend this place right now.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NGL2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Red Lion Inn was very poor service.”
Reviewed January 12, 2014

We had a poor experience at this pub a few months ago when waited 30 minutes for a cup of coffee but put it down to a temporary shortage of staff. So we decided to give it a second chance, but it was a mistake indeed. To be fair the staff were trying very hard and seemed to be running round a lot; and the food, when it finally arrived, was very tasty. But there just weren't enough staff on duty to cope with demand (after waiting 30+ minutes we asked where the food was and discovered there was a 45 minute delay because there was only one chef). Our order eventually arrived after a 50 minute wait! It was quite nice actually although not an over-generous portion for the price, and we enjoyed it. The menu was offering two Sunday roasts, but, at 6.30pm, there was only pork left; why that should be so early in the evening I don't know. And there was no cheese board available on the dessert menu, which was a disappointment! If there was such a long wait for food the waiter should have told us when we placed our order, giving us the option of going elsewhere. Similarly, if there are shortages on the menu this should also be made clearer. This is just a lack of management attention. If this establishment took payment after the meal then diners would have the advantage of refusing to pay for the poor service, but paying in advance means that you have to demand money back to show dissatisfaction of service received. Incidentally, whilst placing our order a diner was asking where his food was; he'd been waiting since 5.15pm! It was now 6.30pm - we should have turned round and left there and then! It was disappointing because we had planned on doing something else later on, but as it took 2 hours for a main course and a dessert we had to cut things short. So we won't risk the Red Lion again, that's for sure!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BrianGMarieG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“So so so bad how can it be so bad”
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Called in for a meal as we where in the local area. I cannot believe that people can get this so wrong!!! No Sunday lunches available, no burgers of any description and a shortage of people to serve at the bar dirty glasses stacking up all over. Ordered some meals as we had been here some time ago and it was an ok meal. Waited 50 mins for four simple meals! went to the bar at 40 mins to see what was happening and the response was I will check with the kitchen and come back to you, they did not come back to us but delivered what can only be described as below par below average food. Soggy chips, dry chicken burger and microwaved lasagne. My starter was forgotten and came as I had just finished my main meal. My advise don't waste hard earned cash on this place.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank john t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
“What's happened to the Red Lion???”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

I write following a dreadful experience at the Red Lion, Todwick, Sheffield which we visited as a group (in order to celebrate the engagement of our daughter to her boyfriend) on Friday 1st November having telephoned to book a table the day before our visit. Six of us were in our party for 8.00pm;

On arrival it took time to get served at the bar with very few staff apparent and then when ordering drinks the first two choices of white wine had "ran out". After saying that we had a table booked for 8.00pm no one came to us for some fifteen minutes (8.15pm) when I asked again if we could take our table. The barman called a waitress who moved to the restaurant area to make up a table whilst we waited. On sitting down to two different tables, joined together and at different heights (?) the table was covered in crumbs and was sticky, clearly from drinks that had been on it previously. We waited another twenty minutes without seeing any staff before I went back to the bar to ask how we ordered food, to be told that we needed to order at the bar - there was no indication anywhere or note on the menu's to say that this was how food was ordered.

Ordered six starters - two of which were unavailable - and then when they arrived one of them (breaded mushrooms) was described as being stone cold by one of our guests who had to wait another ten minutes before a replacement arrived (by which time the rest of the table had of course finished their starters) followed by the waitress asking if she should clear the table (?) and then asking if she should bring the main courses or wait until our guest had finished her starter!!!

Thirty minutes later (9.30 now after arriving at 7.45) another waiter came to the table to discuss our main courses stating that "they won't be long now but we have run out of some of our vegetables so is it ok if we just add pea's and not 'kale and carrots' as it states on the menu choice for the lamb shank".

Food arrived - 9.45 - with the waiter standing at the end of our long table offering the plates and asking if we could "pass them along!". Three Lamb Shanks, Hunter's Chicken, Lasagne and a Burger. All three lamb shanks were cold and the chicken shrivelled, crusted and over cooked with chips that were similarly over cooked, broken and cold. Back to the bar to complain and out came 'James' (a white shirted shift manager I assume) who asked if there was a problem. When told that the three lamb shanks were all cold and sat in a bowl come swimming pool of poor looking gravy and peas he asked if he we wanted them taking away and reheating but that he was surprised that they weren't right as they are normally pre-cooked and then reheated! The worst ever looking chips and hunter's chicken (think it was chicken) were described by James as having been "sat around for a while because we are short-staffed and one of our fryer's has broken which has given us a problem in the kitchen".

James then asked if we wanted the food taken away or replaced. With it being 10.00pm and clearly with there being little hope of any kind of redemption we exited to McDonalds Restaurant in Worksop having been asked to settle the outstanding bill for our drinks.

Like our guests we have visited the Red Lion as a good local eating place many times in the past but all agree that none of us will be doing so again. This IS the first time that I have ever sat to complain in writing about anything but the experience and the service from start to finish was absolutely nothing short of appalling and embarrassing, even more so given the reason for our visit.

The Restaurant advertises locally with lots of offers including a full wedding package for a "truly memorable day".........can you imagine. Good job that we were only there for what was 'only' an engagement celebration, although it was certainly memorable!

How can you be getting it so wrong Greene King?????

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Lion Inn also viewed

 
Hathersage, Hope Valley
Rotherham, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Red Lion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing