We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelievable hunting experience with Lake Parlin guides”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lake Parlin Lodge & Cabins
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unbelievable hunting experience with Lake Parlin guides”
Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

Not one to post an awful lot on websites like this for organizations that are simply doing a good job of doing their jobs... BUT... I'm heading back to my home in California after a week of hunting in Jackman, Maine and just can't wait to get back. My younger brother, a resident of Maine, was pulled for an October moose permit - and what began as a simple hunt turned into so much more than expected.

First and foremost, the local knowledge demonstrated by Joe and Erik (our Registered Maine Guides from Lake Parlin Lodge) was exemplary. Between them both, they seemed to know every dirt road and skid trail around Jackman; and more importantly, they spent the time required to understand the behavior of the moose in the area - by doing what they do best: spending time in the woods.

As to attitude, my brother and I felt more like hunting buddies to the guides at Lake Parlin Lodge than clients. We were treated with both respect and a significant amount of good humor for the full extent of our time in Jackman.

Between Joe and Erik, three nice bull moose were tagged during the week (my brother's being the largest, of course :-) and we were provided with good advice for bird and bear excursions as well.

Yet the overwhelming example of the attitude of the Lake Parlin Lodge guides occurred at 8:30pm on Friday evening over dinner. Joe (the owner and operator) mentioned how he had come upon a group of hunters, completely unassociated with any guide service, earlier that afternoon who had harvested another good bull moose and who were unable to remove the animal from deep in the woods. Concerned about both the spoilage of the moose, and the three hunters who had been laboring since 9am that morning to extract their trophy from the woods (and only to successfully move the moose 150 yards during the day) Joe mentioned his interest in helping them out. All we really needed to hear, Joe, Erik, my brother, and I jumped into Joe's truck and an hour and a half later, had the animal and two ATVs successfully loaded onto their trailers. A quick phone call to the tag holder, and they were on their way. A very simple expression of their interest in fostering goodwill, and a love of hunting, expecting nothing in return.

I WILL be going back when it's my turn in the moose lottery... Then again, it may be even sooner than that.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Kedgestern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
21
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Berwick, Maine
Level Contributor
106 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

found my new get away. this place has a nice spread, 6 cabins on the pond they sleep 4 to 6, the have 4 rooms in the (what was the restaurant area) this area may be a banquet hall soon, it over looks the water and has a huge fire pit with seating. docks maybe canoe rentals? across the road down a short private dirt road is another lodge that sleeps 10, 5 beds rooms all with private bathroom, 1 master bedroom and 1 bedroom with a set of bunk beds no big bed in this room. nice full size kitchen, large living area with fireplace, bbq grill on back deck and they have wifi witch lagged when everyone was on at same time, i did have phone service here as well 3g straight talk. only 1 tv in the main room which we never watched? i seen dish satellite outside. the staff is fabulous, and it is family owned and operated. about 12 miles to town of jackman.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bikeman B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trenton, Maine
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Every year our family does a 3-generation end of summer vacation, and this year we rented one of the Lake Parlin cabins for a few days at the end of our vacation. We all had a wonderful experience. The cabins are only a few years old. Our beautiful very spacious log cabin was equipped with everything we needed. They have canoes and kayaks you can use, and there are also aluminum boats one can rent. We enjoyed canoeing, kayaking, fishing, and relaxing. We ate at the restaurant at the lodge two nights, and it was very good. They smoke the meats there themselves. Liz and Joe were both wonderful, Liz so helpful answering our questions before we came, and she was also our waitress at the lodge one of the nights we ate there. One evening Joe took the time to show our 4-year-old grandson how to build a campfire, which delighted him. Our granddaughter was ecstatic to catch her first fish ever one evening. We will definitely go back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopkinton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
91 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We came upon the lodge on fishing trip to inland Maine, and what a wonderful surprise it was. Everything we experienced i.e. Guest room, food, service, lake facilities and all else that goes with a professionally operated resort property was beyond what we expected and/or required. Joe and Liz are wonderful owners/operators, and the food was away beyond what we thought would be available (barbeque was as good as it gets--and I'm from Alabama, and I know barbeque). We even caught some fish using the advice given to us by Joe (flies only) and had a completely wonderful time. So much so that we're leaving tomorrow to spend an entire week with family and friends at two of the lakeside cottages. GREAT PLACE!!

Room Tip: Check on restaurant operation, as it's closed a couple of days a week, and it's BYOB at leas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, Maine
1 review
Reviewed July 21, 2013

The folks at Lake Parlin Lodge and Cabins have recently opened their BBQ and Smokehouse Restaurant. DEEEEEEEE-LICIOUS and distinctive BBQ and smoked items - loved the spicy Blueberry sauce and since I couldn't decide, had the combo plate which was a sampling including chicken brisket and beef tips and heavenly venison sausage. The service was prompt and friendly and the food excellent. If you have room there's nothing like the Key Lime Pie for dessert.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelagh T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

I spent a long weekend with a group of friends in this beautiful place. We had to rent the mini lodge seeing there were 10 of us. When we arrived we were pleasantly surprised at our accommodations. The house was beautiful, clean, spacious and had everything we needed. The only downfall of it would be the long walk down the driveway and across the street to the fire pit and lake access. (Beware of the bugs they are fierce) The staff was very friendly! Overall our trip was delightful and all of us are planning on returning for a winter snowmobiling trip.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sbarros4317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pepperell, MA
Level Contributor
137 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

There was a mix-up upon our arrival which temporarily made us less than happy. However, it was resolved to our satisfaction and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Lake Parlin Lodge is a beautiful, well maintained property. As we were the only guests when we were there it was like a honeymoon with all the peace and serenity one can imagine. We had a fire in the firepit, courtesy of Jonah, and would have stayed up all night looking over the lake if that had been practical. We had come up to go whitewater rafting in West Forks and found this to be an easy distance from the starting point. We look forward to coming again and trying the restaurant (it opened three days after we left.)

Room Tip: With windows open, the logging trucks on the road can be a noise issue in the lodge rooms. Otherwis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank buttonwoodbrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Parlin Pond
18.2 mi away
Northern Outdoors Adventure Resort
18.1 mi away
Gray Ghost Camps
Gray Ghost Camps
#3 of 5 in Rockwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
25.0 mi away
Lodge at Moosehead Lake
Lodge at Moosehead Lake
#2 of 5 in Greenville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.4 mi away
The Sterling Inn
The Sterling Inn
#1 of 1 in Caratunk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
14.6 mi away
Inn by the River
Inn by the River
#1 of 1 in The Forks
4.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
6.9 mi away
Bulldog Camps
Bulldog Camps
#1 of 1 in Upper Enchanted Township
5.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Parlin Lodge & Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Parlin Lodge & Cabins

Property: Lake Parlin Lodge & Cabins
Address: 6003 Main Street, Route 201, Parlin Pond, ME 04945
Location: United States > Maine > Parlin Pond
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Parlin Pond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lake Parlin Lodge & Cabins 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lake Parlin Lodge and Cabins is an all-new, full service destination in the northwest mountains of Maine. Our Lodge has a beautiful lakeside dining room (open seasonally Jan-March) and we offer Lodge rooms and house rentals, and one and two bedroom cabin rentals. In the summer, enjoy our cabins and lodge directly on beautiful Lake Parlin. Boat, fish (fly fishing only) and relax while taking in the gorgeous mountain and lake views. In the winter, snowmobile from your door into the finest riding in the Northeast. We are located on Route 201 on Parlin Pond, directly on ITS 89, with easy access to ITS 87. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Lake Parlin Lodge & Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Parlin Lodge & Cabins Parlin Pond, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing