We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect in every way!”
Review of Cowshed Holidays

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Thorington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cowshed Holidays
Ranked #1 of 1 Thorington B&B and Inns
Peterborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way!”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Probably the best b and b we have ever stayed in! A beautiful, spacious bedroom and in addition our own sitting room and decking area all in a lovely peaceful location. Viv and David were perfect hosts and the breakfasts just delicious. We cannot recommend it enough and would love to return sometime.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mod41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
25
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed here for a couple of nights after having it recommended to us and we weren't disappointed. Viv and David are lovely hosts, very friendly and welcoming, and we had a really relaxing stay. It is in a beautiful quiet spot but only a short drive away fom the coast. The room itself was spacious and very comfortable with a separate living room area, whilst the breakfast was superb - seasonal homemade stewed fruit, homemade bread, cereals and a delicious full English breakfast made with local produce and fresh farm eggs. We have no hesitation in highly recommending this B&B, just watch out for the bumpy farm track leading up to it!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lyn480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billericay, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Undoubtedly the best B&B we have visited in over 40 years of UK travelling.

Most welcoming and helpful hosts with first class recommendation of local pub for evening meal. We will certainly go back there.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halesworth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

The best B&B we have ever visited. Home cooking of the highest standard using home-grown produce (honey, marmalade and bread) and locally produced food (sausages, bacon and eggs). A quite, rural setting with well appointed rooms converted from old farm buildings and separated from the main house. Friendly and hospitable hosts!

Room Tip: Either suite is fine - we've tried both on several occasions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Symon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Arizona
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

I really loved this B&B because it's separate from the main house. It's hard to find nice family accommodation, so I really liked this one because the kids could sleep on the sofa bed in the separate living room. The room was so spacious, bright, and beautifully decorated. We stayed in a few other hotels during this trip, but none were as nice as this one. No feelings of being crammed in the room, no noisy neighbors. The farm was so quiet and peaceful. We had a huge bedroom and separate living room with TV (for the kids). The owners think of every detail to make you feel comfortable in your room. The bed was really comfortable, the best 2 nights sleep on our whole trip. I appreciated the top quality, luxurious bedding. The breakfast was excellent. I really enjoyed the fresh eggs, home made breads and preserves. My kids loved playing with the friendly pets on the farm, dog and cat, and I was happy as they don't allow any animals inside the rooms which would stir up my allergies.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billericay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

As with other reviews , there are really only highly positive comments to make. The accommodation is excellent - spacious , clean and well maintained , the breakfast is superb (think we both put on around 4 pounds over a 3 night stay ......!!) and Viv and David are brilliant hosts. The farm building conversion has been carried out to a very high standard and it is great to have your own separate entrance unlike many b&b's where you feel you are intruding into the owners space.We will most definitely return later in the year .

Room Tip: both rooms are excellent - Nellie has a slightly bigger lounge and the bathroom is disabled friendly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Terry690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Great place to stay really relaxing. The breakfast was fantastic and one of the best I had in a long time... I am not a fan of B&B's, but this one was fantastic.

My daughter was able to feed the chickens, clicks, and geese. She was also able to collect the eggs for breakfast.

My son was able to go fishing in two of the three ponds at the farm and caught over 30 fish.

Finally, it is a short distance to Southwold and other popular places along the coast.

The rooms are relaxing and decorated very nicely.

I highly recommend..

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dmwatkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thorington
5.7 mi away
Randolph Hotel
Randolph Hotel
#1 of 4 in Southwold
324 reviews
6.0 mi away
The Crown
The Crown
#3 of 4 in Southwold
385 reviews
11.1 mi away
The Brudenell Hotel
The Brudenell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Aldeburgh
992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#2 of 4 in Southwold
598 reviews
5.9 mi away
Blyth Hotel
Blyth Hotel
#4 of 4 in Southwold
765 reviews
5.9 mi away
Sutherland House Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cowshed Holidays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cowshed Holidays

Property: Cowshed Holidays
Address: Walnut Tree Farm, Thorington, Southwold IP17 3QP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Southwold > Thorington
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Thorington
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious, well-appointed and characterful en-suite rooms in converted barns on owner's working farm. Independent access to each suite from large decked patio in sheltered landscaped courtyard, each suite has a large sitting room, comfortable superking or twin beds and a large wetroom with walk-in showers. Hearty breakfast using homemade and local produce, secure parking, free wifi, tea and coffee facilties. Secluded rural location, art courses also available. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing