We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, relaxed authentic Greek fare”

Fisherman - Giorgos & Marina Taverna
Ranked #2 of 19 Restaurants in Ano Mera
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $23
Cuisines: Greek, Mediterranean, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Friendly, relaxed authentic Greek fare”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

This is a family restaurant where they make you feel at home. The owners were very helpful with suggestions. The atmosphere is relaxed and the value is quite good.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NarcisoTucci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    284
    167
    46
    15
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good food at great prices”
Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

We stopped for lunch after driving around the island and were surprised at how inexpensive the food was compared to Chora.

I had the moussaka which was very good and my husband and son had the gyros which my husband stated "the best he has had".

The house wine was nothing special but the bill was so low who can complain! 20 euro for 3 including drinks.

The little square the restaurant is in is lovely with a few restaurants to choose from and apparently busy at night.

Definitely worth stopping for.

Helpful?
Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fresh produce sold it for me...”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We chose this place on a dice roll really. We were approached by a guy out the front offering us a menu. Usually a major turn off for us. We usually avoid the 'tourist' places like the plague. We sat down not really knowing what to expect. The guy out the front introduced himself to us as Yanni. He had heard us talking about fish and kalamari and asked if he could show us what they had just got in fresh. The kalamari was super fresh. He had sold me.
Everything there was great. Saganaki was well cooked and beautiful. The greek salad fantastic. But why I am writing this review is that the kalamari when it came out was spectacular. Fresh and incredibly cooked. It was actually better then all of the more famous well known fish restaurants we had eaten at in Mykonos itself. Not bad for a place I had assumed was just another tourist restaurant. If going, it'd be worth to check what they have in fresh. The chef/cook knows how to grill so I am sure that anything he does would be fantastic. Upon finishing Yanni bought out a complimentary desert of greek yoghurt topped with carrot spiced with cinnamon. Amazing. Ask for it.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jwcoober
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good authentic food”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We had a great meal at Fisherman Taverna. Everything was extremely well priced and the food was fresh and delicious.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Gillian Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athens
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Good location, nice food”
Reviewed August 16, 2012

The taverna is located on the Ano Mera square (platia). The food is good and in large servings. Prices are right for the quality and size of portions. Friendly and welcoming.

Has outside sitting which is excellent if you have kids who can go and play safely at the platia.

Has fish, meat and souvlaki along with all the traditional Greek dishes.

The 3 or 4 restaurants located on the platia are all very similar and all pretty good.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AgentAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fisherman - Giorgos & Marina Taverna also viewed

 
Ano Mera, Mykonos
 

Been to Fisherman - Giorgos & Marina Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing