We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cosy pub in the country !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Stags Head Inn

The Stags Head Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Filleigh
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Large groups, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Bar scene, Romantic, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: The Stags Head Inn is a delightful award winning thatched pub in the heart of Devon, we are situated in the hamlet of Filleigh, and just 3 miles from South Molton.We serve a large variety of tasty home cooked food at reasonable prices, and have a friendly team who aim to make our guests feel special. We also offer outside dining or drinking facilities, either in our pretty front garden, surrounded by flowers, or under the pergola overlooking a small lake where we have fish to feed, and our friendly ducks playing on the water. We aim to cater for all, large or small, and will create something that is not on the menu if we can.
Falmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cosy pub in the country !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

At are stay in south milton,we went to the stags head,it was lovely fantastic food loads of choice and good value for money.really friendly atmosphere owners very welcoming.we will defo be coming back.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Harrison00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    182
    48
    22
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“cosy pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014

Great food and choice.
freshly cooked
good value, and service
a cosy little place and very welcoming.
open fireplaces

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank vanessa k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

Had a delicious lunch here and the staff were lovely too! Really enjoyed myself and would recommend The Stags Head Inn to anyone.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Holiday visit...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014

Ate here twice during a family holiday at Easter, including elderly grandmother to ten year old daughter. Straightforward meals which were well received by all. The fish bake was very good. Friendly welcome, very quiet traditional village pub with beamed ceilings and small dining rooms. No doubt it is busier at the weekends and during the summer. Reasonable prices ... Our meals were pretty much all under £10. Worth a visit if you are eating or want a quiet drink off peak season.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JHants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Good for lunch in a friendly atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2014

We called into the Stags Head for lunch (on a trip advisor recommendation) on our way to Northcote Manor for a two night stay. We had wonderful welcome from the staff and from some local people who obviously use the Inn on a regular basis. We both had the home made salmon fish cakes which were packed with salmon and beautifully cooked with a nicely arranged salad.
I enjoyed a pint of their real ale and my wife had a nicely chilled white wine spritzer.
Overall a very good experience to start our mini break.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Billly2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Stags Head Inn also viewed

South Molton, Devon
South Molton, Devon
 
North Molton, Devon
 

Been to The Stags Head Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing