We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good pub food and good value”

The Stag's Head Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Filleigh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Stag's Head Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Filleigh B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We turned up just before opening time to see quite a few people milling around outside waiting (a good sign we though)! On first impressions it was a beautiful looking place and in a picturesque setting. Upon opening we realised many tables were showing a reserved but luckily we were able to get the last unreserved table. The service was friendly and the three waitresses rushed off their feet the whole time we were there as the place was full! Food was excellent and reasonable portions and all freshly cooked. We sampled a child's meal, a fish dish, a burger grill and a curry. The deserts were excellent and beautifully presented. With it being so busy, it was a little slow at times, but this didn't detract from our enjoyment. All in all, a very pleasant evening and good value for money,

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank muggleUk_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (53)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 53 reviews

Reviewed April 6, 2013

We were staying at a local campsite and chose this nearby pub for supper. We arrived a little later than we'd intended and found the car park at bursting point. A couple of us went in to case the joint without really expecting to find any spare tables. There were some tables in the bar though, so that was great. It is a friendly pub with a good atmosphere, obviously popular with locals. The food was well-cooked and good value - I went for salmon fishcakes with chilli dip, salad and chips - this was very tasty. A few others chose the Ale and Steak pie, which came with a selection of vegetables. Only one of us could manage dessert, and the Brownie and ice cream was reported to be delicious. The beer was good too.

My only very minor quibble was that we were moved from a table on the basis that it was 'for drinkers' although it did have a salt and pepper pot. No-one actually sat down here and the the alternative circular tables and banquette seating was less comfortable and rather hugger-mugger with out customers.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Cornish Wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SusieBarnstaple, Owner at The Stag's Head Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2013

Thank you for your positive comments, we are pleased that you enjoyed your food, we aim to make all our customer's experience a delightful one, and apologise that you we not happy with your table, the one by the bar is lower and not comfy for eating, but you could have had it if you wanted. We hope you come again if you are in Devon. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

We chose this Inn as it is located close to friends that we were visiting. As we approached the Stags Head it looked very impressive. We were greeted with a warm & friendly welcome, We were shown to our room which was very homely and comfortable with all modern amenities. On the first night we dined with our friends in the restaurant, the second night we dined alone. On both occasions the service was excellent and the menu choices were extensive. All meat and produce is locally sourced and cooked to order. Sue and her team obviously go to a lot of trouble in the preparation and even state that in the unlikely event that there is nothing on the menu for you, ask and they will do their utmost to give you what you request! It was the same at breakfast time. You select what time you want to eat and Sue will prepare whatever you want, in any combination from the breakfast menu and believe me you will not want lunch later!!! Sue and John will be found in the bar later in the evening where a very sociable atmosphere can be found. ALL of the staff (both in the restaurant and bar) whilst very efficient were also very relaxed and sociable, no request was to much trouble! John & Sue made us feel almost like part of the family ... Like the title says "Just like home" We only wish that we could give these people 5*+

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank potters1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

The stags head in is a absolute gem! In the heart of the woods and very quiet! The service is always served with a smile! The food is gorgeous and defiantly home made! I just wanna say thank you for the great atmosphere and smiles I would definatly come again x

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Angel1009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

We visited this pub for Saturday lunch. The thatched pub looked pretty from the outside, but I thought the decor would be more traditional inside. We were offered a table promptly.The menu was fairly extensive with appetising dishes on the board. The 'crispy duck' with plum sauce was delivered in less than10 minutes-it comprised slices of uncrisp precooked duck breast swamped in a very sweet pink sauce, sitting on bland stuffing; a small amount of vegetables (for two) and deep fried slices of new potatoes. My husband had beef and ale pie which he said was fine, but the pastry looked to have been added onto the meat part just prior to serving. The service was superficially polite. I note other reviews are better than this, but there is at least one which conveys a similar experience.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Galah956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SusieBarnstaple, Owner at The Stag's Head Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

We were sorry that you did not enjoy your meal with us, or like the decor, and that you found the service superficially friendly. We try to be friendly and helpful to all our customers and had you mentioned that you were not happy, or required more veg, we would have sorted it. I cannot comment on the duck, everyone's taste is different, but I can assure you the pastry was not added at a later stage. What a shame.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

I had slow cooked lamb steak in red wine and fresh vegetables. Followed this with apple and raspberry crumble and custard - absolutely wonderful. My husband had Sue's Burger grill and said that it was fantastic!! He was good and only had coffee afterwards but it was served in a cafetiere so there was plenty. Thoroughly recommend this.

Room Tip: only ate there but if the food and service is anything to go by, staying there would be excellent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank lang30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SusieBarnstaple, Owner at The Stag's Head Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

Thank you so much for this very positive response, we are so happy you enjoyed your experience with us and hope we see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Enjoyed another great meal at the Stag’s Head at Filleigh.
Warm Welcome always by the owners John & Sue & Sally and their team.
Excellent food, all meat and fish and fresh veg sourced locally.
Good choice on the menu, all freshly cooked to order, and served in pleasant surroundings.
Much more than Pub Grub and as much choice as we would expect on the Drinks.
An “olde worlde” pub but kept up-to-date by the décor – it never looks ‘tired’ and there are always fresh flowers around. Been a few times now and always notice extra changes and improvements. We have owned a food pub ourselves in the past and know how hard they work to maintain a high standard. We’ll be back again soon!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Stag's Head Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stag's Head Inn

Address: Stags Head, Filleigh, South Molton EX32 0RN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > South Molton > Filleigh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Filleigh
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stags Head Inn is a country pub and restaurant which also provides bed and breakfast at very reasonable rates. We have 4 comfy rooms, one of which can be en suite. We aim to provide warm hospitality, a good night's sleep and a delicious breakfast, using local products. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing