We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Stag's Head Inn
Nearby Hotels
The George(South Molton)
$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Highbullen Hotel(Chittlehamholt)
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$83
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$200
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Park Hotel(Barnstaple)
$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Imperial Hotel(Barnstaple)
$172
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$165
$150
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Barnstaple Hotel(Barnstaple)(Great Value!)
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Barnstaple Hotel(Barnstaple)
$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (54)
Filter reviews
54 results
Traveler rating
27
19
3
4
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
27
19
3
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstags headexcellent foodthe pubfillet steakhome cookedlovely experiencepuddingwell worth a visitcooked to perfectionfirst classnothing is too much troubledessert menuselection of vegetablesmusic blaringsuegravymushrooms
Filter
Updating list...
37 - 42 of 54 reviews
Reviewed February 12, 2013

I had slow cooked lamb steak in red wine and fresh vegetables. Followed this with apple and raspberry crumble and custard - absolutely wonderful. My husband had Sue's Burger grill and said that it was fantastic!! He was good and only had coffee afterwards but it was served in a cafetiere so there was plenty. Thoroughly recommend this.

Room Tip: only ate there but if the food and service is anything to go by, staying there would be excellent. The setting is lovely.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank lang30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SusieBarnstaple, Owner at The Stag's Head Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

Thank you so much for this very positive response, we are so happy you enjoyed your experience with us and hope we see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Enjoyed another great meal at the Stag’s Head at Filleigh.
Warm Welcome always by the owners John & Sue & Sally and their team.
Excellent food, all meat and fish and fresh veg sourced locally.
Good choice on the menu, all freshly cooked to order, and served in pleasant surroundings.
Much more than Pub Grub and as much choice as we would expect on the Drinks.
An “olde worlde” pub but kept up-to-date by the décor – it never looks ‘tired’ and there are always fresh flowers around. Been a few times now and always notice extra changes and improvements. We have owned a food pub ourselves in the past and know how hard they work to maintain a high standard. We’ll be back again soon!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Myself and my family vistited The Stags Head Inn on the 8th December where we were welcomed to a warm cosy restaurant and three lovely polite girls who were attentive throughout the evening and nothing was ever too much trouble for them. We all chose four different meals due to their wide selection of food they had to offer, which also were great value for money. I chose the roast turkey off their christmas special menu and I was delighted, generous portion and it tasted delicious. I chose a 'white chocolate cheesecake with baileys' for dessert and again no other word to describe it than delicious. My family and I will definitely return again, we had an outstanding evening and couldn't be more impressed.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

We booked the stags head as it was a convenient place for several families to meet for a Christmas dinner, our overall feeling on the whole evening was very disappointing for all families, firstly it was a very cold evening and everyone remarked that it wasn't much warmer in the pub!!!
Secondly the food, although an excellent sounding extensive menu when the food arrived everyone was left feeling deflated, the chicken strips with chips and salad was a plate of deep fried chicken swimming in oil with 5 chips hidden between them, a brown lettuce leaf a dollop of coleslaw and the customary cucumber and tomatoe , the roast dinner which was chosen by three of the family were given one small plate of veg between all three of them, they thought they were getting a plate each it was that small, admittedly they did provide a few more veg at request later in the meal, the lasagna and chips was burnt,( a plus this was refunded) two children's chicken curries had 3 small pieces of chicken between them, the steak and chips was once again a tiny portion, for £14 you expect a big plate full of food but alas no, the steak was regulatory size and weight but the added extras that make it just weren't there. On a plus the desserts that were ordered were very tasty.
The next big issue was the staff, I see it has been mentioned in an earlier review but on the night we went it was the 4 girls serving, all of which came across as very unprofessional, they huddled together as a group for most of the evening they weren't very attentive and it seemed that all requests by us were a bother, for the prices we were paying they certinatly shouldn't be. And to top it at the end of the evening they became abusive towards our group, admittedly our party were openly expressing our opinions of the meal to each other but even if they aren't THE CUSTOMER IS ALWAYS RIGHT.
As said overall we were all very disappointed with the whole affair and none of us will be going back any time soon premium prices, average quality

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lee W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SusieBarnstaple, Owner at The Stag's Head Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2012

We were very sad that you were not impressed with your visit to our pub, we try hard to keep everyone happy, but obviously don't always succeed. We note all your criticisms, but fortunately we had 32 other very happy diners that night, and have a good regular clientele.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

we had lunch at this lovely little pub today and the food was very, very good. What I found particularly distasteful was when one of the members of the local hunt, who were eating there too, decided that the topic of rape was suitable for a public place on a Saturday lunchtime and found it amusing to tell anyone on earshot that when a woman says no she really means yes. I was disgusted as was my family. The beautiful food was spoilt by this man's behaviour and while I realise that the proprietors are not responsible for his views I feel they should be aware that someone who is obviously well-known to them could prevent other diners from returning. I certainly wouldn't want a regular customer of mine causing such offence to other customers.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EllsDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SusieBarnstaple, Owner at The Stag's Head Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2012

We are so sorry to hear that your lunch was spoilt by these tasteless comments, and will endeavour to prevent it happening in the future, we have done our best to discourage this sort of behaviour, and can only apologise to our diners. We do hope that you will not be put offf by this experience and will try us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews