We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Past its prime, but...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Las Galias Hotel Restaurante
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Zuera
Reviewed July 14, 2014

We stumbled on this hotel at the end of a long day's drive through Spain. We hadn't therefore read any reviews of it until now. While they are treasonably accurate - 'tired', 'run-down' etc but they miss the positive sides - it is a quaint very-run-down hotel with a helpful staff, clean rooms and cheap and tasty meals. Despite a prior comment about 'fluent English' it was a question of muddling through with broken Spanish and English, but done with friendliness. It made for a very interesting and enjoyable stop.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAS GALIAS H, Gerente at Las Galias Hotel Restaurante, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2014

Dear Mr Bob K,

First of all we would like to thank you for sharing your comments with TripAdvisor's users and choosing to stay with us in your trip through Spain.

We are pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay, we are a humble team that work very hard every day to give our guests the best service as possible.

We would like to inform you that we have fluent English speakers, however, they are not in the hotel all the time.

It would be a pleasure for us to welcome you back to our hotel in the future.

Best regards,

Antonio Aller
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (60)
There are newer reviews for Las Galias Hotel Restaurante
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 60 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2013

My wife and myself were unlucky enough to stay for one night earlier this month. We found this
hotel following the reading of past reviews. The only thing we can agree on is the name of the hotel hasn't changed.

We arrived only to find a locked door at about 5pm. The owner/manager eventually unlocked it.
We booked in,in a really unlit dreary reception area. I asked if the bar was open. NO...not till
8 pm when an evening meal is available.

The bedroom was passable.The view though of the garden and pool were shocking. An almost
empty pool of a horrible green colour liquid.The gardens and furniture ALL had seen better days.

We made our way back into the reception area at 8pm.Still almost in total darkness. Five minutes later a chap came in from outside having to unlock the door. See how welcoming it is ?

Previous reviewers has said friendly and English speakers !!

He spoke only Spanish. No English or French. However, my Spanish could deal with simple
requests and bar/restaurant conversation so o.k. The dining room was closed so I was told we must eat in the bar. Nothing wrong with the bar but I was under the impression this was a hotel.

The only meal available was the menu del dia. No other choice. handed a small piece of paper.
All written in Spanish only. However,was easy to understand. Choice of three starters.
The main course had three choices.However,item one which was chicken burgers had only three available. The beef dish had one available and the Navarra trout had four plates available. I chose the beef. O.k. apart that it just came as that.No potatoes,chips,vegetables or anything at all.My wife chose the chicken burgers as she felt that as the standard we had encountered so far the fish might be undercooked at best. Anyway, her dish came and it consisted of two curled up burgers and a handful of chips that had seen the pan a least four times. Luckily the house wine was fine. As we were eating the main course we were asked what dessert we wanted from a choice of two. We both said we would have the ice cream which arrived within two minutes while we were still only halfway through eating the main course.

HOW can you complain as its obvious they are not capable of offering an alternative and the aim is to get you through a three course meal with a bottle of wine in twenty five minutes.

We certainly were not going to chance breakfast based on our treatment so far. the following
morning I reluctantly paid the bill and left.

So, please readers, do yourself a favour and don't even consider this dump.Let it rust in peace.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geoffroberts994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We stopped at this Hotel in passing on our way through Spain. I have no doubt that this was once a grand Hotel when the main road passed through here but since the A23 motorway by passes it it appears to have become very run down and is very tired looking. We spent a night when apparently it was a staff day off so having rung the front door bell, which was locked, the owner/manager came across from his house to let us in and book us in. The rooms were clean and the beds comfortable. good shower etc but everything was past its sell by date and looking very tired. Outside was a large outdoor swimming pool which clearly had not been used for a while as it was full of green stagnant looking water. A large hard court tennis area had suffered the same neglect. We did not get the chance to try the dining room as it was shut and we were very disappointed with breakfast the next morning with nothing but toast on offer for which we were charged 7.50 Euros each. We ate in a restaurant in the town of Zuera called the Cuchera which was great and has been reviewed separately. We were happy to find this place as it was starting to get late but cannot recommend it and would not stay here again. Never a 3star maybe a 2 star

Room Tip: Keep driving!
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

On a journey from France to Spain quite by accident I found this fine old Hotel with large clean and comfy bedrooms, with A/C and TV. Very friendly staff who speak fluent English/French and Spanish. The restaurant was warm and quite busy and the menu was excellent. The food and wine were superb, as was the service. Convenient to Zaragoza and close to the motorway. Covered parking is free and opposite the main door. The decor is bright and cheerful although the gardens, swimming pool and tennis courts could do with some TLC. An unfortunate result of austerity measures. I highly recommend this Hotel if you are in this area.

Room Tip: rooms at the front are a little quieter but it is not a noisy area.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TonythetravellerDoha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012 via mobile

Second stay at this place on journey UK Spain. This place is just fine. Old fashioned but large pleasant bedroom. Welcoming host. Covered parking. Very convenient as for a stopover on a three day run from Southern Spain to
UK

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WandererPreston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2012

The first time I have been there I have picked it randomly since I was passing by for business...since then all the time I'm in that area I go there since I have been amazed by the food.

I had once a "menu del dia", amazing quality and huge portion, the other time I have choosen a la carte.

I do suggest you the "solomillo al foie"...it is definitive my favourite dish!

Also if you want any tip or info about the area ask the manager, he is really passionate about it!

I hadn't have the chance of sleeping there but I will definitively do it next time I'll be in the area.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barbasa78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with friends
Thank chonin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded 5 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zuera
Hotel Hiberus
#9 of 79 in Zaragoza
577 reviews
Hotel Restaurante El Cisne
#65 of 79 in Zaragoza
52 reviews
Hotel Las Ventas
#3 of 3 in Utebo
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Casco Antiguo
Palafox Hotel
Palafox Hotel
#16 of 79 in Zaragoza
664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Galias Hotel Restaurante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Galias Hotel Restaurante

Address: Ctra. N-330, km 527 | Zuera, 50800 Zuera, Spain
Location: Spain > Aragon > Province of Zaragoza > Zuera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Zuera
Price Range: $37 - $56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Las Galias Hotel Restaurante 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Las Galias Hotel Restaurante reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing