We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“perfect - just perfect :)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Penbontbren Luxury Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Glynarthen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Llanddeusant, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“perfect - just perfect :)”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

You just cannot be disappointed, every attention to detail, and the rooms are sumptuous, the bed was just amazing (think it was king size but like sleeping on a cloud). Breakfast the next day was huge and beautifully cooked, and the hosts were charming. Beaches around were lovely, and the dog who came with us was very contented, and that's all that matters (not always)..

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jondobson2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    309
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
56
209
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 13, 2013

My owners have stayed here several times now and it has always been an absolute pleasure. There is a lovely garden I can run around in, the rooms are exceptional although I am not allowed on that very comfy looking bed and those gorgeous sofas but hey ho it's a dogs life. Not a bad one in this case.
The breakfasts are terrific because I always get a small piece smuggled back to me by my owners and it is delicious - and the hosts are so friendly and welcoming.
If you are looking for somewhere to stay that is warm, welcoming, quite and super, super comfortable but within easy reach of the beaches, check out my picture on the beach, and many other places look no further because you just found it.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We booked this hotel on the basis of the reviews seen on Tripadvisor and it lived up to, and indeed, exceeded those expectations.

The rooms are more like small apartments, with even the smallest detail thought about.

The breakfasts are outstanding, with everything freshly cooked.

The best part of this hotel is that the owners are friendly, helpful and attentive - they clearly take pride in their business and it shows in every aspect of the hotel.

We enjoyed it so much we have booked to return next year!

Room Tip: Downstairs room better for making the best use of the patio area each room has.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Moviegeek_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford Haven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

We arrived at Penbontbren after a very difficult journey from the southeast, much in need of peace, quiet and rest. We got this in abundance, along with the warmest of welcomes, excellent accommodation and quality, simply oozing from every corner.
The suite was exceptional and contained everything we could want. Comfortable, warm, roomy, clean, well serviced, with a lovely big bed and a good shower. Breakfast was delicious with plenty of choice including locally sourced produce (I particularly loved the smoked salmon and the eggs!) and beautifully served.
We like going away at this time of the year and from now on, Penbontbren is our preferred place to be. It really is that good! We enjoyed discovering Ceredigion and found it to be rather a surprising place with lots to recommend it too.
Richard and Huw have clearly used their extensive knowledge of the hospitality sector and created something really special at Penbontbren. What's more, their intention to provide weary travellers, like us, with a truly pleasurable stay, is genuine and we felt it shone through.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol, united kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

Penbontbren is exceptional. Every aspect of the establishment is wonderful; from the warm welcome from Richard to the high quality finish of the rooms. This truly was a fantastic stay and I can quite confidently say it's the best bed and breakfast we have ever visited.

Thank you, Richard, for your warm welcome, hearty breakfast and beautiful surroundings which made this trip a fantastic one.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Emily D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

This place is a real gem. Our suit was very spacious, spotlessly clean and beautifully appointed. It came with luxurious bed linen, towels and robes. The mini bar was well stocked and the coffee was superb. Richard and Huw were so accommodating and friendly - it made for a very relaxing laid back stay in beautiful surroundings. We're looking forward to coming back soon.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ed R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

I booked a suite here for our anniversary hoping that it would be ok, the price was so reasonable for a good quality dog friendly B&B. When we got there we were astounded the living room and bedroom were bigger than we have at home! The whole place was spotlessly clean, comfy, luxurious (without being over the top), I have never experienced a stay like it, nothing was too much trouble. All of us were made to feel welcome (not all dog friendly places are truly the case, a lot are barely dog tolerant). We could go and potter round the beautifully laid out gardens, or eat our lunch on our suite's private patio.

The only sad part was having to hand the key back at the end of out stay! Can't wait to go back. Such wonderful hosts made everything absolutely perfect.

Room Tip: We stayed in suite number 1 which even had a spare bedroom!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JulieH76819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glynarthen
5.3 mi away
Emlyn Hotel
Emlyn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newcastle Emlyn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
9.3 mi away
The Gwbert Hotel
The Gwbert Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cardigan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
15.7 mi away
The Falcondale Hotel
The Falcondale Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lampeter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.8 mi away
Y Talbot
Y Talbot
#1 of 1 in Tregaron
4.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
7.4 mi away
Caemorgan Mansion Exclusive Guest House
6.2 mi away
The Swallows Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penbontbren Luxury Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penbontbren Luxury Bed and Breakfast

Property: Penbontbren Luxury Bed and Breakfast
Address: Penbontbren | Nr. Cardigan, Glynarthen SA44 6PE, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Glynarthen
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Glynarthen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Penbontbren Luxury Bed and Breakfast 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Penbontbren has been described as the definitive luxury bed and breakfast. Penbontbren's suites are all newly refurbished with King or Super king beds, private terraced gardens and are suites with seperate sitting rooms. Direct dial telephone, i pod docking station, flat screen tv, filter coffee machine, iron and board are just some of the ameneties provided. Winner of the Good Hotel Guide's prestigious Cesar award, Penbontbren has been awarded 5 star and the Gold award from Visit Wales, and has also been entered into the respected Johansen's guide and Alastaire Sawday's special places to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Penbontbren Luxury Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing