We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Idyllic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Penbontbren Luxury Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Glynarthen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bloemendaal, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Idyllic”
Reviewed August 5, 2012

This is a b and b de luxe. A lovely, peaceful location, excellent rooms - beautifully and tastefully decorated. Richard and Huw are the perfect hosts and their suggestions for places to eat and visit are certainly worth following. Plus a very good breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    320
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
56
220
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Richard and Huw have a few acres of land surrounding their guest house, I suggest that they start building more cottages fast, otherwise we will all end up on a long waiting list!
I cannot add any more than has already been said, other than to say that I have stayed in a great number of so-called five star hotels whose standard of accomodation comes nowhere near to the quality of this bed and breakfast emporium.
One final point......the bed that we slept in was the most comfortable ever.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graeme R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Excellent in every way. Spotless, spacious suite, peaceful patio for morning coffee/evening snacks, huge comfy bed and white company toiletries to beautifully fragrance our stay. Richard is a delightful host and cooks a sublime breakfast. The coastline is dramatic yet tranquil with quiet bays, very friendly shopkeepers and cafe proprietors. The highlight for us would have to be listening to red kites calling one another, being fed and hovering above our heads at Bwlch Nany yr Arian (10 - 15 minutes east of Aberystwyth on the A44 - www.forestry.gov.uk/wales). Roll on our next visit :-)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajwardHull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012 via mobile

I was reluctant to review this place in case it starts to have a two year waiting list to book a room! ! But not being a selfish soul I will share our views!

The words B & B conjure up a very different offering than what this establishment gives.

The accomodation , breakfast and genuine hospitality offered by Richard, Huw and their helpers far outweighs that of many of the five star hotels we have ever stayed in worldwide.

The quality of the furnishings(i became particularly fond of the breakfast china! ) and the attention to detail of every aspect of our stay left us feeling we had stumbled on something great.

One tip - dont rely on the sat nav to find this secluded oasis - use Richards directions!


  • Stayed July 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank travelbaguk4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh on Sea
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

We found that the 5 star rating given to many bed and breakfasts we have visited is dubious, in this case however, it is totally undisputed, 5 star in every way from the welcome and professional but warm and friendly manner shown by Richard and Huw, to the spotless and luxurious accommodation, and the 5 star breakfasts we enjoyed. Oh and the little touches, home-made biscuits every day and the fresh coffee pods for the machine in the room! Nothing seemed too much trouble and the very relaxed atmosphere disguised the total efficiency with which this lovely place is run. We loved it and will definitely be going back .... soon. Thanks for a completely wonderful stay Richard and Huw.

Room Tip: All the rooms are of equal standard, with lovely private patio areas with table and chairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NikkiBEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

this really is a wonderful place to stay, the suite we had was perfect just like a five star hotel and the welsh breakfast was superb served in a lovely clean and bright dining room, richard and huw the owners are the perfect hosts and nothing is to much trouble for them. we cant wait to spend more time at penbontbren in the future. bob & elaine jones bridgend.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robert j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Midlands, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
237 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

We had a fantastic time at Penbontbren and our experience was perfect from be inning to end. We were made to feel welcome from the moment we arrived and were greeted by Richard. Our suite was spacious, clean, tastefully decorated and furnished - and well stocked. Breakfast here is not to be missed. There is a wide range of places to eat and drink, many of which are highlighted in a list that that is available on arrival or in advance on request. If you need any further tips or guidance then help is always at hand all you have to do is to ask. Whilst Penbontbren is tucked away in some of the most beautiful countryside it is close to many and varied places of interest. Once here you could simply put your feet up and enjoy the tranquility of the Welsh countryside or alternatively you could go exploring. Richard and Huw have really created the most luxurious bed and breakfast experience. The worst thing about Penbontbren is having to leave. We will return and would highly recommend it to you.

Room Tip: You will enjoy the experience wherever your room may be.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bridstow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glynarthen
9.3 mi away
The Cliff Hotel & Spa
The Cliff Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Cardigan
798 reviews
5.3 mi away
Emlyn Hotel
Emlyn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newcastle Emlyn
555 reviews
9.3 mi away
The Gwbert Hotel
The Gwbert Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cardigan
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.7 mi away
The Falcondale Hotel
The Falcondale Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lampeter
718 reviews
7.4 mi away
Caemorgan Mansion Exclusive Guest House
3.4 mi away
Ffynonwen Country Guesthouse & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penbontbren Luxury Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penbontbren Luxury Bed and Breakfast

Property: Penbontbren Luxury Bed and Breakfast
Address: Penbontbren | Nr. Cardigan, Glynarthen SA44 6PE, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Glynarthen
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Glynarthen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Penbontbren Luxury Bed and Breakfast 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Penbontbren has been described as the definitive luxury bed and breakfast. Penbontbren's suites are all newly refurbished with King or Super king beds, private terraced gardens and are suites with seperate sitting rooms. Direct dial telephone, i pod docking station, flat screen tv, filter coffee machine, iron and board are just some of the ameneties provided. Winner of the Good Hotel Guide's prestigious Cesar award, Penbontbren has been awarded 5 star and the Gold award from Visit Wales, and has also been entered into the respected Johansen's guide and Alastaire Sawday's special places to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Penbontbren Luxury Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing