We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Break”
Review of Redcastle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Redcastle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Moville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 17, 2006

My partner and I booked a 2 night midweek break as there was a special offer on. We wanted a nice relaxing break chilling in the pool, getting pampered in the spa and having a few drinks in the bar. Unfortunately, the day before we were due to go we got a message on the answerphone that there was a problem with the pool and it would not be in use during our stay. Needless to say we were really disappointed but it was too short notice to try and book elsewhere so we decided to give it a go. We had booked a spa treatment for the evening we arrived and this was great. I had the Vichy massage which was fabulous. My partner had the Chakra Colour Bath which he thought was good but the bath was too noisey to be relaxing. As the pool was out of bounds we hoped to book more treatments for the following day but again we were disappointed as they were fully booked. Our room was nice but instead of the sea view we requested we got a view of the car park. The bed was huge, the bathroom was lovely and even had an oil burner, and there was an iron, ironing board and hairdryer provided. A dinner was included in our deal and it was really enjoyable. The food was good except for the bread and butter pudding and the staff were friendly and polite. The next day we went sightseeing which was nice but not what I had hoped to be doing on this break. I had a good time and I appreciate that things break down but the Thalasso pool is a big selling point for this hotel and I think it would have been appropriate to offer some sort of acknowledgement - a bottle of wine with dinner would've been a nice gesture if nothing else!

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank HolidayHobbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,961)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,942 - 1,948 of 1,961 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Mayobridge
19
Reviewed June 21, 2006

We stayed at the hotel for 2 nights. We were very disappointed with the whole experience. The rooms are clean but the decor terrible as the furniture is BLACK, the nicest part of the room was the bathroom. As we had booked two rooms, we had asked for them to be together but we got them apart and we did not get a room with a view. We had booked for the evening meal and again asked for the table at the window but did not get it even though we had waited for a while to be seated and there was a table at the window that was not taken for well over 1 hour. The meal itself was not nice at all, the main course came out cold and the choice for dessert is terrible, if you like ice cream then you will be fine, also we were to get a bottle of house wine with the dinner as part of the booking, we had to ask the staff and the waitress did not know what we were talking about and after a while later another waitress arrived with a bottle of wine. The time between the courses is far to long, we did not send the meal back as we were very hungry at this stage and we did not want to wait. There is also no proper place to sit and have a quite drink. There is also no proper walking or sitting area around the lough. When checking out we were charged for the bottle of wine we received at dinner and even though we were to get 2. We did not notice it on the bill till after we had left and we had to drive back and get a refund. The only good thing about the hotel is the pool and gym.
We also talked to a few other people at the hotel and they felt the same. The Redcastle hotel is very over rated. If you go to this hotel book it when there is a special offer on as it not worth the full price.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Derry
19
Reviewed June 12, 2006

The Redcastle is a brilliant hotel in a great location with excellent staff, service and food. I stayed there for a weekend recently and was very impressed. It is a beautiful new hotel situated right by the sea - the restaurant looks right out over Lough Foyle. We had our great room and a first class meal on the Saturday evening. I will definitely be back - and I'll recommend it to other visitors to the Northwest.

9  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2006

The Redcastle is now much improved with its' makeover. The Bedrooms are well furnished
and the Bathrooms are beautiful. Comfortable leather sofas to relax in lobby area , after dining , food excellent. The weather was rather poor , so made good use of spa and had a couple of treatments , definitely would recommend this. Will go again , but will ask for a room with balcony.

  • Stayed: May 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dromore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Newtowmards Co.Down
15
Reviewed May 6, 2006

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Newry
18
Reviewed April 20, 2006

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2006

11  Thank Taisteal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moville
13.6 mi away
Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel
13.4 mi away
Inishowen Gateway Hotel
Inishowen Gateway Hotel
#1 of 4 in Buncrana
976 reviews
14.8 mi away
An Grianan Hotel
An Grianan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Burt
680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#8 of 13 in Derry
2,132 reviews
9.6 mi away
Best Western Plus White Horse Hotel
13.7 mi away
The Harbour Inn
The Harbour Inn
#2 of 4 in Buncrana
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Redcastle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Redcastle Hotel

Address: Inishowen Peninsula, Moville, Ireland (Formerly The Redcastle Hotel)
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Moville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Moville
Price Range: $96 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Redcastle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm Irish welcome awaits you at the four star Redcastle Oceanfront, Golf & Spa Hotel. With a magical waterfront location, overlooking Lough Foyle on the picturesque Inishowen Peninsula in Donegal, it’s the perfect getaway for a short break or family holiday at home.Set among mature woodland with 93 guest rooms including suites and family rooms and sea view rooms, our own 9-hole parkland golf course and exclusive Thalasso Spa, the Resort oozes charm, style and warm hospitality. Our Waters Edge Restaurant is appropriately named with breathtaking views across Lough Foyle and a menu that features the finest local seafood and fare. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your Redcastle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Redcastle Hotel Donegal
Carlton Redcastle Hotel And Thalasso
Carlton Moville
Hotel Redcastle
Carlton Hotel Redcastle
Donegal Hotel Redcastle
Redcastle Hotel Moville, County Donegal, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing