We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good for a family break”
Review of Redcastle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Redcastle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Moville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 27, 2009

we had a lovely room with a separate sleeping area for our daughter. the pool area - hydrotherapy , with massage areas and water jets- was great although could do with some maintenance as there is a fair bit of wear and tear. the breakfasts were pretty good but our evening meal was very disappointing and the dessert I was served was downright embarassing- a chocolate tart that hadn't set and was swimming all over the plate and that was after getting the order wrong initially. there is an amusement arcade next dor -leisureland- which is good for entertaining younger children. all in all a reasonable hotel for a relaxing break but there is little to do in the surrounding area and the hotel is not as luxurious as it likes to make out.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KTMNorthernIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,921)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,780 - 1,786 of 1,921 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2009

If your a bit of a party animal and don't mind sitting up 1am with the other revellers having a good drink and a bit of a sing song then you should be happy enough. If however you want to go away for a weekend of relaxation as the idea of a hotel with a spa would suggest then DO NOT COME HERE AS YOU MIGHT AS WELL BE AT THE BAR/DISCO AT NITE!!!! My wife is 4 months pregnant and we have a young son of 7 months. We simply wanted a quiet relaxing weekend. On the Saturday nite we were kept up till well after one. Our room was more or less over the bar.

Perhaps the most annoying part of it all was when we came down on the Sun morning to check out. We asked to speak to teh duty manager to air our grievances making the point that we paid good money for a room but were subject to disturbance until the wee hours. If it was a private house we could have reported the party to the noise police or whoever! But as the duty manager went on to explain, at the weekend guests should expect noise, suggesting that this type of disturbance is 'par for the course', and that at the Carlton Redcastle there are really no rooms that are NOT going to subject to some sort of noise pollution. He also went on to inform us that if we wanted to go to bed early (we tried to go to bed at 11pm, not really that early!!) we should have let the hotel know. Maybe we are a special case?? Does anyone else like to go to bed early (11pm)?? To us it is simple, you go away for a short weekend break to charge the batteries and relax. To pay good money for a room and be disturbed, and then to be told this par for the coarse at the Redcastle at the weekend is NOT acceptable.

Let this be a lesson to anyone sad who likes to relax and go to bed 'early' - AVOID THE REDCASTLE

By the way, they offered no sort of compensation for the disturbance!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patches1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2009

Gosh like so many others we arrived to check-in at 5pm and were told our room wasn't ready with no apology which is really annoying and certainly no offer of tea or coffee which would be the least you'd expect. Overall while the staff certainly weren't rude they have obviously been taught little about customer care. For example if your table isn't ready when its booked then you still should acknowledge the party and tell them how long it'll be rather than ignore them. Also at 9pm there were children running around the restaurant slamming doors. It was pity the staff couldn't have asked these children;s parents to follow the example of all the other families whose children were beautifully behaved in the restaurant. The food was very expensive in the restaurant for what is essentially pub grub, but hey this is Ireland..... On the plus side while the room won't wow you (no robes or slippers, chipped wood) it was big and my husband really enjoyed the golf course. I would recommend this for families if they got a good deal but not for couples or adult parties. If the managment pulled up their socks this could be a decent hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mayek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2009

I agree with other reviewers that this hotel does not seem like a 4 star facility. It is ok but shabby in many areas. The rooms are just alright but have seen better days. The problem is that the hotel plays loud music until 2am clearly and loudly heard in the guest rooms! Imagine my shock when I went for a lovely family relaxing vacation. Also the walls are very thin and you can hear way way more than you should/or would want to from adjacent rooms and/or the halls. The restaurant food is very good and the pool is lovely so there are a few redeeming qualities but when you have had a sleepless night, it is not much consulation.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank villagelass500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2009

We stayed here 3 nights . We got a fantastic deal , pricewise, and were a little worried we might get a poor room, as a result . No need for worries we got an excellant room, and that summed up our stay . A really fantastic hotel all round .We have stayed in several hotels in Donegal, over the years, and felt they were, in general, poor by comparison, to the likes of Galway or Kerry , but this hotel definitly bucked the trend .We had one or two minor quibbles , one of the bed side light would not work, and even though we mentioned it at reception, nothing was done .I think they could capitalise a little more on their location beside the sea . I feel with a little effort they could really make this hotel top notch

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cavanjets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2009

We stayed one night at the Carlton and the hotel is just ok. the room was dingy and had a view of the steps from the car park down to the side of the hotel. If we had ben staying more than one hight I would have definately been very unhappy.
We booked into the restaurant for dinner, then the craic started. Having to hunt down a waiter/ess to get our order taken was only the start of it. Then after 35 minutes the starters arrived and having requested our drinks on several occassions I had to go to the bar to get it sorted. 1 jug of water 1 bottle of wine. The restaurant was 1/2 full and everyone was busy but there was absolutely NO coordination, The food was really superb and in some way made up for the gross incompetence of the staff, who were lovely but badly needed trained. The food was delivered to wrong tables on a regular basis as were the drinks. To pass the time while waiting we tried to guess who the food and drinks would go to when they reappeared again for the second time.. we were offered 2 wrong dinners and 1 wrong drinks order and indeed rescued our main course from the table beside us before it disappeared back to the kitchen again. Having seen this total confusion I insisted on paying the bill at the table as there was no chance of it being correct.. I am glad I did as we had the table on the other side of us drinks bill included. I reckoned it was easier to look and see what we had consumed rather than an arguement on checkout the next morning when the evidence had disappeared. However THE FOOD IN THIS HOTEL WAS TOP CLASS, they just need to train their lovely staff. It reminded me of Faulty towers and we got some sort wry amusement at seeing it all go wrong as we waited and waited. Will we return?. Its probably the best the Innishowen peninsula can offer.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigJohnDeere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2009

Just back from a break in the Cartlon Redcastle. From the minute we drove in the long sweeping avenue I knew it was going to be an experience. Fantastic setting allowing you opportunity for romantic strolls by the water in the evening. Hotel facilites were fantastic, georgeous pool, just a tad small, best to go at quiet times. Hotel was excellent value for our break. Is located too far from the local village to walk for a drink but with a car, Moville is within a few miles and has some lovely shops, very quaint.
The staff in the Carlton were probably the nicest, friendliest staff I have come accross in a long time. I would spend on average 1/2 days per week in different hotels with work and have yet to meet staff as nice as in the Carlton Redcastle
Had both breakfast and dinner in the restaurant, food is excellent. While I imagine the practice of waiting staff pouring/topping up your tea/coffee is a cost cutting exercise it drove me nuts having to call/wait for a staff member to come with tea/coffee. For me the nicest part of the day is a cuppa in the morning, the experience is a little ruined by having to locate/ call for and wait for a cuppa.
Grounds of the hotel could do with upkeep, for such a fantastic setting, it is a pity that shrub beds and borders are gone wild. Also the computer in the lobby would be better housed in a museum! Allow a couple of days extra holidays to give it time to load a page...
Apart from these 3 minuses, loved everything else and will definetly go back...

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TishIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moville
13.6 mi away
Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel
13.4 mi away
Inishowen Gateway Hotel
Inishowen Gateway Hotel
#1 of 4 in Buncrana
934 reviews
3.8 mi away
Caiseal Mara Hotel
Caiseal Mara Hotel
#2 of 2 in Moville
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.9 mi away
Castle Grove Country House Hotel
9.0 mi away
McGrory's Hotel
McGrory's Hotel
#1 of 1 in Culdaff
211 reviews
13.5 mi away
Ballyliffin TownHouse
Ballyliffin TownHouse
#2 of 4 in Ballyliffin
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Redcastle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Redcastle Hotel

Address: Inishowen Peninsula, Moville, Ireland (Formerly The Redcastle Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Moville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Moville
Price Range: $103 - $209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Redcastle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm Irish welcome awaits you at the four star Redcastle Oceanfront, Golf & Spa Hotel. With a magical waterfront location, overlooking Lough Foyle on the picturesque Inishowen Peninsula in Donegal, it’s the perfect getaway for a short break or family holiday at home.Set among mature woodland with 93 guest rooms including suites and family rooms and sea view rooms, our own 9-hole parkland golf course and exclusive Thalasso Spa, the Resort oozes charm, style and warm hospitality. Our Waters Edge Restaurant is appropriately named with breathtaking views across Lough Foyle and a menu that features the finest local seafood and fare. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Redcastle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Redcastle Hotel Donegal
Carlton Redcastle Hotel And Thalasso
Carlton Moville
Carlton Hotel Redcastle
Donegal Hotel Redcastle
Hotel Redcastle
Redcastle Hotel Moville, County Donegal, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing