We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Managment Failed to reply to Complaints”
Review of Redcastle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Redcastle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Moville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Spa ? Cold, uninviting, Lacked relaxation, no chairs,broken jets.pool tiles missing.No hot water in bathrooms twice in a two day trip. Lacked the expectation. Despite complaint Manager failed to reply.

Room Tip: Ensure hot water provided
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DisappointedXXX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Your_Customer_Care, Guest Relations Manager at Redcastle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

Dear Guest
I am very sorry to read that you had a less than positive experience in the hotel. We take our customers feedback very seriously and I would ask if you could contact us directly on feedback@redcastlehotel.com we will respond immediately. Thank you once again and we look forward to hearing from you
Redcastle Customer Care Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,949)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,089 - 1,095 of 1,949 reviews

Reviewed February 27, 2014

We stayed in the Redcastle for 2 days this week and thoroughly enjoyed every minute of it. The location is next to none with from the professional and friendly check in with Liam to the lovely Bar / food service from Aisling. The spa staff were lovely and helpful and the pool is great time to chill, just a pity you couldn't bring a glass if wine!! (Kidding of course)

The bedroom was lovely, we upgraded to a seaview which was a nice touch, just a pity the windows weren't a little bigger to fully enjoy the view.

The wifi was a let down as my iPad would not work at all.

Overall the break was lovely and will book again.

Thanks again

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gennyg33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Your_Customer_Care, Guest Relations Manager at Redcastle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for sending us your comments. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope you will stay with us in the near future again. We are currently upgrading our WiFi system so hopefully when you visit us next this will be fully operational.

Redcastle Customer Care Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

Spent a few days in RedCastle hotel with the wife. On approaching the hotel it looked well sat on the very edge of the sea. Hotel was quiet which is exactly how I like it. On checking in we decided to try for an upgrade to a sea view. In reality I regretted the 60euro price after I paid it because it wasn't worth it. Rooms were clean and tidy. Went for lunch in the bar and got what we expected simple tasty bar food that filled the hole. Then came the evening meal which was a big disappointment, so much so that we decided to dine the next evening eating in the bar as it was much better. Room service breakfast the next morning was interesting. It arrived but had no salt, pepper and breakfast sauces but called reception and they quickly sorted it out. Then I went to have my coffee and there was no milk brought. In the end I drank it black because I couldn't be bothered ringing reception again. Hotel has a excellent relaxation spa and the girls in the spa area were very polite and helpful. Would come back in the future but hope that the food in the restaurant ups itself a few levels and may I suggest the restaurant staff make a list of what should be on a room service breakfast tray so they can check and double check.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gibson C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Your_Customer_Care, Guest Relations Manager at Redcastle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for your review and also for choosing to stay with us. I am sorry to read that there was some unacceptable issues during your stay. We would welcome the opportunity to discuss this with you further and would appreciate if you could contact us on feedback@redcastlehotel.com
Thank you once again for your time
Redcastle Customer Care Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Lovely overnight stay.

Friendly staff greeted us on arrival. Delicious evening meal in The Edge restaurant. Golf and Spa all first rate. Wasn't our first visit to Redcastle and we will be back again.

Excellent hotel, lovely rooms, cosy and comfortable, which was appreciated more after a walk in the February weather.

Would recommend this hotel over and over again.

Room Tip: Views over Lough Foyle and mountains are breathtaking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eleanor G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Your_Customer_Care, Guest Relations Manager at Redcastle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

Dear Guest

Many thanks for sending us your comments. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope you will return again very soon.

Redcastle Customer Care Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

We have been going to this hotel for over 25 years. Have seen a lot of changes, for the better, but the service, staff, food and detail for the important little things, has always remained a prority for the owners. They seem to employ the very best of staff who care that you enjoy your visit when using either the spa or swimming area, golf, reception, resturant and of course your room. Hotel always clean. Bar food great value for money. We managed to have entertainment during our visit unusual for midweek stay it was great. Thankyou we will off course be back. Great deals giving good value for money running at present.

Room Tip: all rooms seem to be excellent ask for one that you would prefer eg sea view the hotel will always...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank net55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Your_Customer_Care, Guest Relations Manager at Redcastle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

Dear Guest

Many thanks for sending us your lovely comments. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and that you like the updates and improvements we have been making to the hotel.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel very soon again

Redcastle Customer Care Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

I recently took my wife and 2 friends from Scotland for a weekend break to celebrate my wifes`birthday.
We all had a great time starting from the booking in right through to checking out.
The food,the room,the spa,the location and most of all the staff!!!!!was all fantastic could not fault a thing and we all agreed that we would go back .
WELL DONE TO EVERYONE AT THE REDCASTLE HOTEL!!!!!
John- Ballyclare

Room Tip: any suite is recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JOHNU6794YD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Your_Customer_Care, Guest Relations Manager at Redcastle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your lovely comments, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Redcastle Customer Care Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Stayed at the Redcastle hotel from Sunday to Tuesday, I had purchased a living social voucher last August. And it expired at the end of the this month, the deal was £89 midweek break for 2 with breakfast and a spa treatment plus a round of golf. We had a lovely few days, the reception staff Lisa and Liam are really pleasant, and always smiling even when they faced with a lot of arrivals all at once, as was the case when we arrived on Sunday. The spa treatment was lovely and the pool, sauna, steam room and relaxation area is clean and well maintained. We had a evening meal in the Edge Resturant, the food was delicious, the wine was expensive €26 a bottle, but we thoroughly enjoyed it. The young ladies serving in the edge Resturant are pleasant and very professional but in appearance and manner, we could not have asked for more from our break away and will definitely be booking to stay again in the near future. Oh the breakfast was excellent as well, all in all a great trip and worth our short little drive from Derry , redcastle hotel is only 15mins away from us but feels so relaxing and the scenery and views are stunning!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bptravellover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Your_Customer_Care, Guest Relations Manager at Redcastle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to send us your feedback. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and our leisure and spa facilities.

We hope you will stay with us again in the near future.

Redcastle Customer Care Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moville
13.6 mi away
Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel
13.4 mi away
Inishowen Gateway Hotel
Inishowen Gateway Hotel
#1 of 4 in Buncrana
964 reviews
14.8 mi away
An Grianan Hotel
An Grianan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Burt
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.9 mi away
Castle Grove Country House Hotel
22.8 mi away
Mulroy Woods Hotel
Mulroy Woods Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford
417 reviews
13.5 mi away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#8 of 13 in Derry
2,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Redcastle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Redcastle Hotel

Address: Inishowen Peninsula, Moville, Ireland (Formerly The Redcastle Hotel)
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Moville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Moville
Price Range: $98 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Redcastle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm Irish welcome awaits you at the four star Redcastle Oceanfront, Golf & Spa Hotel. With a magical waterfront location, overlooking Lough Foyle on the picturesque Inishowen Peninsula in Donegal, it’s the perfect getaway for a short break or family holiday at home.Set among mature woodland with 93 guest rooms including suites and family rooms and sea view rooms, our own 9-hole parkland golf course and exclusive Thalasso Spa, the Resort oozes charm, style and warm hospitality. Our Waters Edge Restaurant is appropriately named with breathtaking views across Lough Foyle and a menu that features the finest local seafood and fare. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your Redcastle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Redcastle Hotel Donegal
Carlton Redcastle Hotel And Thalasso
Hotel Redcastle
Carlton Hotel Redcastle
Donegal Hotel Redcastle
Carlton Moville
Redcastle Hotel Moville, County Donegal, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing