We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good hotel for weekend break”
Review of Redcastle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Redcastle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Moville
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“good hotel for weekend break”
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Stayed here in sept 2011...had enjoyable birthday weekend...very good food and service...spacious clean room but it was a bit cold in room at night. Good base to visit rest of the inishowen area. The spa and pool were added bonus...would recommend.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hansolo_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Your_Customer_Care, Guest Relations Manager at Redcastle Hotel, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Guest

Many Thanks for taking the time to send us your feedback. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you back in the hotel very soon again.

Redcastle Customer Care Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,857 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    904
    522
    228
    119
    84
See reviews for
404
1,013
19
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (477)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Larne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014

We have just returned from a weekend break at Redcastle Hotel. The staff were very friendly and helpful, the rooms are spotless and bottled water is supplied for your use. We had a snack on arrival and then ate in the restaurant on Saturday night, the food was really lovely and the service excellent, breakfasts were also good. We were very impressed with the hotel and really enjoyed our stay. I would recommend it and we hope to return.

Room Tip: If you want a spa treatment make sure you book weeks in advance of your stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Your_Customer_Care, Guest Relations Manager at Redcastle Hotel, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Guest

Many thanks for taking the time to send us your feedback, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Redcastle Customer Care Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

Myself and 2 friends stayed last weekend. We had heard great reviews on the hotel and with spa and swimming pool there we thought it would be ideal to make it more relaxing.

The location is beautiful overlooking the lough foyle (weather wasn't great but the spa overshadowed that) we checked in with Liam who was lovely and helpful, he even took our luggage to the room when the room wasn't ready. We had a drink in the bar while we waited. The girl Aisling was lovely in the bar. I have to say the staff were very friendly and willing to assist.

The food was was lovely aswell as the breakfast each morning.

The only thing that was a downfall was the wifi, we were unable to connect?!

I certainly will pass my compliments to my friends and I will be making a future biking soon.

Thanks again!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Your_Customer_Care, Guest Relations Manager at Redcastle Hotel, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Guest

Many Thanks for your lovely comments. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope you will stay with us again. We are hoping to get our wifi looked into so the next time you stay with us this should be up and running correctly.

Redcastle Customer Care Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2014

I've stayed here a few times and the warm welcome, friendly staff, and good quality food has been consistent. Get a room with a sea view, you are right on top of the lapping waves and the views are spectacular over beautiful Lough Foyle.

Room Tip: Get a room on the sea side
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimReynolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Your_Customer_Care, Guest Relations Manager at Redcastle Hotel, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Guest

Many Thanks for your lovely comments. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you back in the hotel very soon again.

Redcastle Customer Care Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast-UK
Level Contributor
192 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2014

Booked this trip via living social deal.

Arrived on a Sun around 1pm our room wasnt ready which was no big deal - we decided to have Sunday lunch/dinner in the hotel. It was 5courses for 22Euros great choice of dishes and the food was fantasic - with great views over Lough Foyle.

While having coffee which was included in the lunch deal - front desk rang to say the room was ready ( nice touch )

The room was a bit small but spotlessly clean - free bottle water.


Breakfast was included in the deal - feast every morning again great choice.

Second night we again had dinner in the hotel but this time in the bar - fish & chips ( their own fish 2 big pieces ) and a big burger - with a couple of drinks each and a dessert - 50euros.

Service from the staff was first class - not in your face but there when needed.



One complaint i will make and i hope the hotel act on it - a number of tiles missing in the swimming pool which is dangerous.


We would certainly will be visiting again lovely hotel great staff and the area is stunning.


Thank you

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank belfast-jj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Your_Customer_Care, Guest Relations Manager at Redcastle Hotel, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Guest

Many Thanks for taking the time to send us your comments, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay eith us and hope to welcome you back again very soon.

Our maintenance department have been notified og the missing tiles and this will be fixed as soon as possible

Redcastle Customer Care Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
n ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2014

We have just returned from a weekend break in the Redcastle hotel and it was absolutely A Class. The feeling of luxury and being pampered envelopes you as soon as you enter the hotel. The staff especially the receptionists are so welcoming, helpful and so well trained, nothing is a bother to them to help you. We were welcomed back with a lovely card and chocolates in our room and it was such a nice touch along with the biscuits for tea and bottled water supplied free of charge also in the room!!! Please note other hotels!!!! I would just like to thank everyone in the hotel for their excellent service and friendliness and we will most definitely be returning.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dancingladyNIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Your_Customer_Care, Guest Relations Manager at Redcastle Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for sending us your lovely comments. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and certinely look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Redcastle Customer Care Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014

room was noisy from creaky floors above and people in corridor due to thin walls, food and drink was expensive, steak was fatty and pigeon over cooked, staff were very nice though, wouldn't stay there again, there's a lot more places to stay for the same sort of money, the portmarnock hotel we stayed at recently is well worth a visit, breakfast was nice though and I cant comment on the pool and spa as we didn't use it

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Olly011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Your_Customer_Care, Guest Relations Manager at Redcastle Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2015
Dear Guest,


We are disappointed to read that some aspects of your stay were less than positive and that you chose not to highlight them at any stage to the hotel directly. Had these issues been raised we would have certainly dealt with them immediately. As you can appreciate it is most difficult for us to deal with a complaint regarding a unsatisfactory meal when the dishes are eaten fully and guests relay immediately afterwards that they enjoyed the meal, as was the case with your booking

Our drink prices are in line with 4 star hotels and we receive excellent feedback on the quality and price of our menus. We have found that we are in a lot of cases less expensive than similar hotel properties.

Redcastle Customer Care Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moville
13.6 mi away
Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel
13.4 mi away
Inishowen Gateway
Inishowen Gateway
#1 of 4 in Buncrana
877 reviews
3.8 mi away
Caiseal Mara Hotel
Caiseal Mara Hotel
#2 of 2 in Moville
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
The Harbour Inn
The Harbour Inn
#2 of 4 in Buncrana
287 reviews
23.9 mi away
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bushmills
1,752 reviews
13.5 mi away
Ballyliffin TownHouse
Ballyliffin TownHouse
#2 of 4 in Ballyliffin
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Redcastle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Redcastle Hotel

Property: Redcastle Hotel
Address: Inishowen Peninsula, Moville, Ireland (Formerly The Redcastle Hotel)
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Moville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Moville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Redcastle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm Irish welcome awaits you at the four star Redcastle Oceanfront, Golf & Spa Hotel. With a magical waterfront location, overlooking Lough Foyle on the picturesque Inishowen Peninsula in Donegal, it’s the perfect getaway for a short break or family holiday at home.Set among mature woodland with 93 guest rooms including suites and family rooms and sea view rooms, our own 9-hole parkland golf course and exclusive Thalasso Spa, the Resort oozes charm, style and warm hospitality. Our Waters Edge Restaurant is appropriately named with breathtaking views across Lough Foyle and a menu that features the finest local seafood and fare. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Redcastle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Redcastle Hotel Donegal
Carlton Redcastle Hotel And Thalasso
Hotel Redcastle
Carlton Hotel Redcastle
Donegal Hotel Redcastle
Carlton Moville
Redcastle Hotel Moville, County Donegal, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing