We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Break”
Review of Redcastle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Redcastle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Moville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Really lovely break away through living social. Got a great sea view room as well! Breakfast was included and we ate in bar one night and restaurant one night, delicious food every time. The staff really make this place as they are so helpful and friendly. I had a spa treatment and would definitely recommend the bath. My only fault is that the pool was quite cold!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mullan17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Your_Customer_Care, Guest Relations Manager at Redcastle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for sending us your lovely comments, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and I will certinely pass on your comments regarding the pool temperature.

Redcastle Customer Care Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,961)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,137 - 1,143 of 1,961 reviews

Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed a two night stay in the Redcastle Hotel and would recommend it. Our room was spacious and clean, the shower was fixed so people near 6 foot have to adjust. The pool and gym are well equipped and working. We had breakfast each morning which operates as a buffet with everything expected from a cooked and continental breakfast. We had a meal in the restaurant which was very very good! 40euro per head for three courses, although other offers include the meal and you can of course not be as greedy as us. They seem to be quite strict on consuming your own alcohol in the room. €20 for a bottle of spirts if they catch ya. But if you behave whats the worry ;) Surrounding peninsula is very nive to explore. We had a lovely stay.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank mrmucka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Your_Customer_Care, Guest Relations Manager at Redcastle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to send us your feedback. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you back again very soon.

Redcastle Customer Care Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Second time at the Redcastle hotel and once again enjoyed the warm and friendly atmosphere.

Wonderful location.

A little box of chocolates and card were waiting in my bedroom as a thankyou for returning for a second time. I thought this was a lovely touch and I appreciated the thought.

Breakfast of continental or fry. .fruits. .yoghurt. .homemade pancakes with a selection of breads was a difficult choice to make.

Staff both in the hotel and spa went about their duties in a friendly and pleasant manner. .

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank desmonandviolet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Your_Customer_Care, Guest Relations Manager at Redcastle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Dear Guest

Many thanks for taking the time to send us your feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and certainly look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Redcastle Customer Care Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

I have just returned from 2 night break at the Redcastle .
I purchased the living social deal last summer . We booked it to have something to look forward to after a long deary January .

The deal was very good value .
The room was pleasant and modern and the breakfast was nice . My friend had a spa treatment and really enjoyed it.

However I don't think I would pay full price to stay at this hotel.
The pool area is a little tired and the pool was so cold we couldn't swim in it or enjoy the jacuzzi .

We ate in the captains bar both nights and the food was just average .

The main thing that would put me off booking again was the noise . No fault of the hotel though we were just beside and below noisy people you could hear conversations , music and tv blaring .
I also agree the beds aren't v comfortable .
All that said it is a very pleasant hotel and the staff are v friendly and the location is beautiful .

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
Thank EMMY077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Your_Customer_Care, Guest Relations Manager at Redcastle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for your review and for choosing our hotel. I was disappointed that your stay was less than satisfactory.
We certainly take all of your points on board and your comments have been passed to the Hotel Manager to review further. If you would like to discuss any of these issues please do contact us directly on feedback@redcastlehotel.com I hope you will return to the hotel in the near future and thank you once again for your comments

Redcastle Customer Care Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014

A brilliant deal - only 99 Euro for a night with a 3-course meal, a great buffet for breakfast, use of the leisure facilities in the morning, a 30-minute spa treatment for my wife and golf for me if I'd wanted it! A lovely room and the the hotel in a lovely setting. Friendly and helpful staff.

Room Tip: View of the lough!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gareth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Your_Customer_Care, Guest Relations Manager at Redcastle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Dear Guest

Many thanks for taking the time to send us your feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and certainly look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Redcastle Customer Care Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014 via mobile

We done a one night romantic break. Bed and breakfast and evening meal. Golf for husband (weather was too bad to do) and facial for myself. We had a great nights stay. Lovely location and views from restaurant. Both done spa treatments. Would definitely recommend that offer. Great value. Will be back. Thank you.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Your_Customer_Care, Guest Relations Manager at Redcastle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Dear Guest

Many thanks for taking the time to send us your feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and certainly look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Redcastle Customer Care Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

We had a break of two nights B&B and one evening meal with a Spa destress bath as part of my Christmas present. Our room was very comfortable and clean but, my partner had paid an extra 60 euro for a ''sea view'' as they call it even if you are looking at Lough Foyle. Well for a start it was a waste of money as our view was of the Resturant and function room. We could see Lough Foyle but view was very disapointing. We also had an air conditioner unit under our window which went on and off all night leading to broken sleep. Our De stress Spa bath was very good and everyone in the Spa was very pleasent and helpfull. The swimming pool is in very bad need of a face lift, only the sauna and one bubble pool were working the steam room was out of order and all the other bubble pools and chairs etc. were out of order. We used the pool for the three days we were there and were very disapointed that these facilities were out of order. We ate in the Resturant on our first night the food was very good and so was the service, but when we looked at the menu on the second night it was the exact same and the receptionist said it hardly ever changes. It was very expensive for what was on the menu. We then decided to eat in the Captains bar which was also very expensive for what you got but,at least the food was good. All the staff were very helpful and friendly. I don't know if we would be keen to return to this hotel but if the pool has a good facelift and we had a nice view out of our window we might consider it. We had a few very nice walks especially round Moville.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PollyP333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Your_Customer_Care, Guest Relations Manager at Redcastle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for your review. I am sorry that you had issues during your stay and appreciate that a break away should be a relaxing time. I will certainly ensure that your points are passed to our management team. I do hope we have the oppertunity of welcoming you back to the hotel.

Redcastle Customer Care Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moville
13.6 mi away
Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel
13.4 mi away
Inishowen Gateway Hotel
Inishowen Gateway Hotel
#1 of 4 in Buncrana
975 reviews
14.8 mi away
An Grianan Hotel
An Grianan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Burt
680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Best Western Plus White Horse Hotel
13.5 mi away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#8 of 13 in Derry
2,131 reviews
13.6 mi away
The Strand Hotel
The Strand Hotel
#3 of 4 in Ballyliffin
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Redcastle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Redcastle Hotel

Address: Inishowen Peninsula, Moville, Ireland (Formerly The Redcastle Hotel)
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Moville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Moville
Price Range: $95 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Redcastle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm Irish welcome awaits you at the four star Redcastle Oceanfront, Golf & Spa Hotel. With a magical waterfront location, overlooking Lough Foyle on the picturesque Inishowen Peninsula in Donegal, it’s the perfect getaway for a short break or family holiday at home.Set among mature woodland with 93 guest rooms including suites and family rooms and sea view rooms, our own 9-hole parkland golf course and exclusive Thalasso Spa, the Resort oozes charm, style and warm hospitality. Our Waters Edge Restaurant is appropriately named with breathtaking views across Lough Foyle and a menu that features the finest local seafood and fare. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your Redcastle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Redcastle Hotel Donegal
Carlton Redcastle Hotel And Thalasso
Hotel Redcastle
Carlton Hotel Redcastle
Donegal Hotel Redcastle
Carlton Moville
Redcastle Hotel Moville, County Donegal, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing