We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely setting”
Review of Redcastle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Redcastle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Moville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

Have used this hotel on numerous occasions and have been very happy with 90% of the experience, the food or rather the cost is astronomical and is very poor value for money,when we stay we usually head to moville to eat. We have eaten in-house but its not good value compared to local hostelries.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flyamya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Your_Customer_Care, Guest Relations Manager at Redcastle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for your review and your continued support. We always ensure that we take on board our customer’s feedback and that is why we regular check our prices against similar restaurants and four star establishments and we do compare in price and in some cases are cheaper. We receive tremendous feedback about our food and overall value for money. I hope you will return to the hotel soon again
Redcastle Customer Care Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,977)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,223 - 1,229 of 1,978 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2013

Stayed 2 nights midweek on a deal. Wife had a session in the spa included while I had a round of golf. We ended up having to pay for an upgrade to a 'sea view' due to lack of availability but our room was at the side of the hotel as opposed to the rear meaning the view wasnt what it might have been. Breakfast on both mornings was very good and the place in general was very nice (not to mention the fantastic sea view in the dining area that we missed out on in our upgraded room). On a downside the Wifi was very poor (although some may see this as a distinct plus) and the restaurant a bit pricey. But I would certainly recommend this hotel and would return again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GCCo.Derry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Your_Customer_Care, Guest Relations Manager at Redcastle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for your feedback. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and apologise about the issues you experienced with the Wi-Fi We are upgrading our system in March 2014 and I hope you will get an opportunity on your next visit to see these improvements for yourself
Many thanks
Redcastle Customer Care Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Myself and my finacee stayed here at the weekend, having stayed here a few times before we were looking forward to going back so much. This hotel is absoutely beautiful, with views overlooking Lough Foyle, and is so relaxing to stay in. We had a room on the second floor overlooking the sea and it was gorgeous. The leisure centre is also fantastic and the staff here are lovely and very helpful, the pool is also very relaxing. We also ate in the resturant that night and the food was amazing and staff also very professional and helpful. I cant recommend this hotel enough, it is so relaxing and is like a little piece of heaven! A special mention to Liam who looked after us at check in he is such a lovely person and so friendly, and also to Chantel and Lisa who looked after us at check out, again two lovely ladies and showed a genuine interest in ensuring that we had a lovely time during our stay. We love coming to the Redcastle Hotel and are so looking forward to going back again soon!!:-)

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ciara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Your_Customer_Care, Guest Relations Manager at Redcastle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your lovely comments and for choosing to stay with us.
I hope you will get a chance to return again soon

Redcastle Customer Care Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Went here for a few days to get away from work.This hotel was great, the staff were so friendly and helpful.my two day stay included two 30 minute spa treatments, a word of warning to anyone who books this deal get in quick and book your treatmemts as they are really very busy.I am not one for fine dining but one evening meal was includedand I must say it was to die for and the nemisiss chocolate dessert out of this world I was told a room with a sea view was extra but we got one.I read in all these reviews everyone talks about the heat in the rooms, they are right but you can turn the radiator down or off or even open a window.Moville not far up the road is a nice little place to walk about , and the scenery round the coast is lovely.I hope this review is a help to someone.

Room Tip: Room 104 that I stayed in was close to where people smoked when there was a function but everything...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crossval8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Your_Customer_Care, Guest Relations Manager at Redcastle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your lovely comments and for choosing to stay with us.
I hope you will get a chance to return again soon

Redcastle Customer Care Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

Went to the Redcastle for my 30th with my husband. Had to wait an hour before got into room! Which was lovely and they left chocolates for having to wait. Swimming pool freezing, was expecting a hot tub! Food amazing!! Had a perfect sea view but not good when a wedding on cause room was warm so had the window open and we were above the smoking area and the noise was so loud!! Apart from that I would live here!!! Lol

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leebmcguckin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Your_Customer_Care, Guest Relations Manager at Redcastle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We certainly take your comments on board and thank you once again for choosing to stay with us

Redcastle Customer Care Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

My self and my partner and our 16 month old baby girl stayed her for 3 nights early October. We have been here 3 times before and return because of the wonderful hotel that is Redcastle. The staff are so friendly and helpful. We stayed in room 601 this time and WOW.....The decor is stunning. It must have been recently refurbished. Their is a skylight in the roof and a big window with most stunning views of the beach and sea. I just sat on the bed listening to the waves crashing against the rocks whilst admiring the view. Bliss!! The room is quiet big so the baby had lots of room to crawl and move around. She loved it. Breakfast was wonderful as always. Just sitting looking out at the Atlantic Ocean while having breakfast, is worth every penny to stay here. We had dinner twice in the restaurant and I have to say again excellent. Only this time they have the baby chair set up, which was such a nice touch. The only, only critisim I have was the Wifi was not great, We did mention it to lovely Carmel at reception, who did say they were working on it. But hey if you are staying here, really who needs wifi, relaxation all the way. They have a fabulous pool and do spa treatments too. Highly recommended. Lastly if you are staying here, make sure you visit Rosatos pub in Moville. It is so quirky, open lit fires and they do amazing food. Fish and garlic potatoes to die for. Try the pizza's too. Delicious. We hare without doubt heading back again soon. Can't wait.

Room Tip: Rooms behind reception have stunning views of the Atlantic Ocean, but if you want to feel like you a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank littlelucky15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Your_Customer_Care, Guest Relations Manager at Redcastle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your lovely comments and for choosing to stay with us.
I hope you will get a chance to return again soon

Redcastle Customer Care Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Had a two night stay here on 6th October. Staff at reception were friendly and helpful. Beautiful hotel but our room was overlooking the car park, not a very nice view. The heat in our room was really overpowering, unbelievably warm even with windows open. And the sun wasn't shining in. Also beds and pillows quite uncomfortable. We had our 4 month old baby with us and he enjoyed the pool. I had a finger nail file and polish as part of out package and I'm assuming as I wasn't paying the staff in the spa weren't too bothered about doing a good job. The evening I got my nails done they began to chip and peel and by the next day they were awful. But nice food and lovely location

Room Tip: I imagine the sea view is lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Caroline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Your_Customer_Care, Guest Relations Manager at Redcastle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for your comments. I would certainly welcome the opportunity to discuss these issues with you and would be most grateful if you would contact us on feedback@redcastlehotel.com
Many thanks
Redcastle Customer Care Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moville
13.6 mi away
Ballyliffin Lodge Hotel & Spa
13.4 mi away
Inishowen Gateway Hotel
Inishowen Gateway Hotel
#1 of 4 in Buncrana
979 reviews
14.8 mi away
An Grianan Hotel
An Grianan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Burt
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Best Western Plus White Horse Hotel
13.5 mi away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#8 of 13 in Derry
2,150 reviews
13.7 mi away
The Harbour Inn
The Harbour Inn
#2 of 4 in Buncrana
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Redcastle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Redcastle Hotel

Address: Inishowen Peninsula, Moville, Ireland (Formerly The Redcastle Hotel)
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Moville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Moville
Price Range: $83 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Redcastle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm Irish welcome awaits you at the four star Redcastle Oceanfront, Golf & Spa Hotel. With a magical waterfront location, overlooking Lough Foyle on the picturesque Inishowen Peninsula in Donegal, it’s the perfect getaway for a short break or family holiday at home.Set among mature woodland with 93 guest rooms including suites and family rooms and sea view rooms, our own 9-hole parkland golf course and exclusive Thalasso Spa, the Resort oozes charm, style and warm hospitality. Our Waters Edge Restaurant is appropriately named with breathtaking views across Lough Foyle and a menu that features the finest local seafood and fare. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Redcastle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Redcastle Hotel Donegal
Carlton Redcastle Hotel And Thalasso
Carlton Hotel Redcastle
Hotel Redcastle
Donegal Hotel Redcastle
Carlton Moville
Redcastle Hotel Moville, County Donegal, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing