We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”
Review of Redcastle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Redcastle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Moville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

First time visit to Redcastle for a two night midweek stay. Booked on the recommendation of friends. Stayed in room 414, didn't sleep well due to the air con / fan system right outside our window. TV remote needed batteries, had to request face cloths. We ate in the bar the both nights. My husband had the steak burger with Dublin cheddar cheese and bacon, and requested fried onions. This arrived without cheese and had a bowl of cold tobacco onions. We complained and girl said sorry and walked away. I finished mine then she came back ten minutes later and asked would he like a replacement (without charge of course) but he didn't fancy eating alone so refused. No one offered a dessert menu so we paid and left. It is a pity as the hotel is set in such beautiful surroundings

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Passatt1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Your_Customer_Care, Guest Relations Manager at Redcastle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for your comments. I am sorry to read that your stay was less than enjoyable and I can assure you that this is not our usual high standards. If you could contact us directly on feedback@redcastlehotel.com we would be happy to discuss these points further
Many thanks
Redcastle Customer Care Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,948)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,229 - 1,235 of 1,948 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2013

Fantastic hotel and very friendly staff. Food in the restaurant was the best I've had! Spa treatments are brilliant. The only bad thing I can say is that the hotel is in the middle of nowhere but that wasn't a problem as we were going for a relaxing weekend. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smcm30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Your_Customer_Care, Guest Relations Manager at Redcastle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your lovely comments and for choosing to stay with us.
I hope you will get a chance to return again soon

Redcastle Customer Care Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Superb position overlooking Lough Foyle,with an adjoining emerald green golf course makes a very relaxing atmosphere.Excellent restaurant,good ,if pricey, wine list.
Well equipped gym,excellent pool with whirlpool section for adults and children,sauna, steambath and a health spa.
Spacious,well- appointed' standard' room,alas no summer duvet,house keeping supplied a few sheets on request,yet another hotel which insists on thick winter duvets all year round!
Please believe in Irish summers!
Wifi and sauna heater needs fixed.
Would be well pleased though to return,but insist on a seaview room.

Room Tip: Standard rooms 300 even numbers--'river' view--well,' narrow stream ' view Standard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Klaus W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Your_Customer_Care, Guest Relations Manager at Redcastle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We certainly take your comments on board and thank you once again for choosing to stay with us

Redcastle Customer Care Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Have stayed here several times and am never disappointed. Food is excellent and the friendliness and service from the staff is unbeatable. Would thoroughly recommend Redcastle and hope to return soon.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J2567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Your_Customer_Care, Guest Relations Manager at Redcastle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your lovely comments and for choosing to stay with us.
I hope you will get a chance to return again soon

Redcastle Customer Care Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

great hotel and friendly welcoming staff. the only disappointment was the pool which is in need of repair and update. lots of broken tiles in the pool and a safety hazard. does need to be updated. the rest of the hotel is excellent and very good breakfast. suggest eating in the retaurant as really good value.

Room Tip: ask for a view over the lough
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mjm27_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Your_Customer_Care, Guest Relations Manager at Redcastle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I will certainly ensure that your points are passed directly to the Hotel Manager and I hope you will return to the hotel soon again
Redcastle Customer Care Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We went for a mid week break. This hotel was great quiet location exactly what we wanted. We state for 2 nights had dinner in the hotel which was delicious but once you add wine was a little expensive. Do second night we want to an amazing must visit sea food restaurant Kealeys just outside Moville. We went to the spa and pool in the hotel which I'd def recommend amazing time girls in spa are lovely and the relaxation room just adds to the whole experience. Great hotel friendly staff nice simple but clean rooms and beautiful location on the waters edge.
Will be going back

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Your_Customer_Care, Guest Relations Manager at Redcastle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your lovely comments and for choosing to stay with us.
I hope you will get a chance to return again soon

Redcastle Customer Care Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Iv been here about 7 times I try to book once a year! And I'm never disappointed! Great staff, great value, clean rooms and fantastic food! My partner booked me into another very well known 4 star hotel recently just for one night as a treat because we had been working so hard and it was the most disappointing horrible place iv ever stayed! I went to bed starving as the food was appalling! This is never the case when I stay in redcastle I always enjoy myself!! Thank you all the staff il be back soon!!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Niknak232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Your_Customer_Care, Guest Relations Manager at Redcastle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your lovely comments and for choosing to stay with us.
I hope you will get a chance to return again soon

Redcastle Customer Care Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moville
13.6 mi away
Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel
13.4 mi away
Inishowen Gateway Hotel
Inishowen Gateway Hotel
#1 of 4 in Buncrana
962 reviews
14.8 mi away
An Grianan Hotel
An Grianan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Burt
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.9 mi away
Castle Grove Country House Hotel
22.8 mi away
Mulroy Woods Hotel
Mulroy Woods Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford
417 reviews
13.5 mi away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#8 of 13 in Derry
2,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Redcastle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Redcastle Hotel

Address: Inishowen Peninsula, Moville, Ireland (Formerly The Redcastle Hotel)
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Moville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Moville
Price Range: $97 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Redcastle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm Irish welcome awaits you at the four star Redcastle Oceanfront, Golf & Spa Hotel. With a magical waterfront location, overlooking Lough Foyle on the picturesque Inishowen Peninsula in Donegal, it’s the perfect getaway for a short break or family holiday at home.Set among mature woodland with 93 guest rooms including suites and family rooms and sea view rooms, our own 9-hole parkland golf course and exclusive Thalasso Spa, the Resort oozes charm, style and warm hospitality. Our Waters Edge Restaurant is appropriately named with breathtaking views across Lough Foyle and a menu that features the finest local seafood and fare. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Redcastle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Redcastle Hotel Donegal
Carlton Redcastle Hotel And Thalasso
Hotel Redcastle
Carlton Hotel Redcastle
Donegal Hotel Redcastle
Carlton Moville
Redcastle Hotel Moville, County Donegal, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing