We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just lovely”
Review of Redcastle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Redcastle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Moville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 7, 2013

I visited here in Feb, I Stayed one night, The room was excellent, I had dinner in the restautant and was seated over looking the ocean.Breakfast was also lovely and again was seated at the window over looking the ocean. It is really a lovely hotel. it was excellent value but they do charge 25 euro extra for a single person, this is something they should look at., definately will be back.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brendan J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Your_Customer_Care, Guest Relations Manager at Redcastle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for your comments. It is lovely to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and I will certainly pass your comments on to the team here. If you are a regular visitor to the Hotel we do offer a special regular visitor rate for single rooms. If you would like further information on or if we can help you in any other way please do feel free to contact sales@redcastlehotel.com
Thank you once again
Redcastle Customer Care Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,906)
There are newer reviews for Redcastle Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,324 - 1,330 of 1,906 reviews

Reviewed April 6, 2013

had a one nite break incl.meal and breakfast,standard very good,evennin meal food was very good and well presented,breakfast was also very good,all fresh.
got upgraded to sea view room which was great,pool prob slightly dated but was grand,
good location for exploring derry city and inishowen.
would certainly go back for the donegal welcome and fair play to the freindly porter who took our bags to the room,very friendly in reception too,top marks mr doherty

Room Tip: push for upgrade to sea view,magnificent view of lough foyle from hotel
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank damo43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Your_Customer_Care, Guest Relations Manager at Redcastle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for your feedback. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you mentioned some of the staff in particular. There is so much to do in this area and people are always pleasantly surprised when they discover Inishowen for themselves. We would be delighted to welcome you back soon again and thank you once more for your review
Redcastle Customer Care Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Hotel good, food good, staff very pleasant, nice location for a break, but not great for touring Donegal. Bedroom furniture a bit dated and tatty.
Pity about drunken loud wedding guests until 5 a.m. on both nights we were there - no sleep.
Would definitely go back if I was attending a wedding.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jimmo48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Your_Customer_Care, Guest Relations Manager at Redcastle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for your comments and for choosing our Hotel for your recent stay. I am sorry to read that your stay was disturbed by other guests in the Hotel; we do our upmost to encourage guests to respect their fellow guests by placing signage around the Hotel when there is a function on and also by placing staff in key areas to guide guests to the bedroom areas. I hope you will consider returning to the Hotel and if you contact us on feedback@redcastlehotel.com we would be delighted to offer you a great rate on your next visit
Redcastle Customer Care Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

I would like say that my wife daughter and I had a really nice time at Redcastle last week. I couldn’t recommend the hotel enough. I could not fault the food, service, people and facilities. I will definitely be revisiting again this year.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 449JamesR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Your_Customer_Care, Guest Relations Manager at Redcastle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am delighted that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. I will be happy to pass your comments on to the staff here and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the near future

Redcastle Customer Care Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Go there. A lovely location overlooking Foyle Bay a few miles from Derry and just outside Moville Donegal. Reception lovely restrained and polite.breakfast great and all meals incl bar food very good.yes the furniture a bit scuffed could do with decoration. Rooms lovely non sea view room huge and comfortable. Gym sauna pools excellent. I'd love to go back soon. Donegal is of course a lovely county as well! Michael Kerry

Room Tip: 415 was the business but no sea view, some sea view rooms noisy.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Your_Customer_Care, Guest Relations Manager at Redcastle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for your feedback and for choosing to stay with us. It is lovely to read that you would like to return to the Hotel soon and we would be delighted to have you. Thank you once again
Redcastle Customer Care Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

we were here for a wedding, staff very pleasant and helpful.

rooms were fine and i liked the complimentary water in the room however we were not informed we were getting a smoking room and it really stank to us non smokers.

food was lovely for the wedding, the venue room was beautiful with the views over the sea.

very nice hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mayhem3114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Your_Customer_Care, Guest Relations Manager at Redcastle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for your review and I am glad that you enjoyed the wedding and that you found our staff to be pleasant and helpful. I am sorry that as non-smokers you were in a room where the previous occupants had smoked. This should not have been the case and I am sorry if it detracted from your stay in any way. I hope you will consider returning to the Hotel again and if you are considering visiting us again please do contact feedback@redcastlehotel.com prior to booking.
Thank you once again
Redcastle Customer Care Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

The hotel offers stunning views across Lough Foyle from stylish, warm and welcoming surroundings.
Check in and reception was professional and courteous, rooms very modern with huge comfortable beds, and the restaurant served an excellent range of good value dishes at both breakfast and dinner.
My wife enjoyed a package in the spa, where the well trained staff and luxurious surroundings left her feeling relaxed and pampered. Meanwhile I made use of the small but well equipped gym.
The only down side was the pool, which although a good size with plenty of features, felt a bit dated in comparison to the rest of the hotel. The view however was spectacular once again.
I would recommend the hotel to anyone looking for luxury and a warm Irish welcome. We will be back again in the near future

Room Tip: Take a drive to Malin Head and stop at Five Fingers Bay on the way. The views of the mountains and c...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paul m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Your_Customer_Care, Guest Relations Manager at Redcastle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for your feedback. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay in the Hotel and would consider returning again. I will certainly pass all of your comments on to our team here and we hope to see you soon again

Redcastle Customer Care Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moville
13.6 mi away
Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel
13.4 mi away
Inishowen Gateway
Inishowen Gateway
#1 of 4 in Buncrana
916 reviews
3.8 mi away
Caiseal Mara Hotel
Caiseal Mara Hotel
#2 of 2 in Moville
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
McGrory's Hotel
McGrory's Hotel
#1 of 1 in Culdaff
209 reviews
13.5 mi away
Ballyliffin TownHouse
Ballyliffin TownHouse
#2 of 4 in Ballyliffin
133 reviews
23.9 mi away
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bushmills
1,845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Redcastle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Redcastle Hotel

Address: Inishowen Peninsula, Moville, Ireland (Formerly The Redcastle Hotel)
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Moville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Moville
Price Range: $109 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Redcastle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm Irish welcome awaits you at the four star Redcastle Oceanfront, Golf & Spa Hotel. With a magical waterfront location, overlooking Lough Foyle on the picturesque Inishowen Peninsula in Donegal, it’s the perfect getaway for a short break or family holiday at home.Set among mature woodland with 93 guest rooms including suites and family rooms and sea view rooms, our own 9-hole parkland golf course and exclusive Thalasso Spa, the Resort oozes charm, style and warm hospitality. Our Waters Edge Restaurant is appropriately named with breathtaking views across Lough Foyle and a menu that features the finest local seafood and fare. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Redcastle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Redcastle Hotel Donegal
Carlton Redcastle Hotel And Thalasso
Hotel Redcastle
Carlton Hotel Redcastle
Donegal Hotel Redcastle
Carlton Moville
Redcastle Hotel Moville, County Donegal, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing