We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A blissful short break.”
Review of Redcastle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Redcastle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Moville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 30, 2012

My husband & I just returned today from a 2 night stay at the Redcastle Hotel.Our whole stay was brilliant.There was a minor problem with our room when we arrived but it was sorted straight away with no fuss,thanks Joanne on reception.
The room we got was lovely overlooking Lough Swilly right across to Magilligan Strand.The room was spotless, as was the bathroom.We had complimentary bottles of water in the room,plus tea & coffee making facilities.As well as a huge bed & single bed,there was a settee in the room with still loads of space, perfect.
We had dinner in the hotel on our first night (included in the price).We had a window table & were able to eat our meal while watching the waves crash on rocks just below us.The food was superb,a good choice on the menu and excellent service.Nothing was too much trouble to the staff and they were all so pleasant.
This is the first hotel we have stayed in be it 4 or 5 star which had a buffet breakfast with hot plates & hot food, a joy to behold & although there was nearly everything you could ask for on the buffet there were also a few things you could have directly from the kitchen, in my husband's case kippers.
All in all there is not a bad word I could say about the hotel.Great room,food & excellent staff.I would just like to give a special mention to Gerry one of the porters who was extremely helpful but also a font of information & the local area.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank irishpat49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Your_Customer_Care, Guest Relations Manager at Redcastle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Dear Guest

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review. I am delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay and I will ensure that your comments are passed on to our team here at the Hotel

Redcastle Customer Care Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,907)
There are newer reviews for Redcastle Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,374 - 1,380 of 1,907 reviews

Reviewed December 22, 2012

Stayed here with my fiancé for 2 nights end Nov-beginning Dec. no pool available as was being refurbished but we had been telephoned to advise us of this. Had booked ocean view room and it was lovely, view over lough and also golf course :) welcome bottle of prosecco as part if package, awaited us however no corkscrew so ended up bringing it home. Downside of room was it was a little cool but main problem was the bathroom extractor fan not going off, all night! And bedside telephone red light constantly flashing (had to cover this with various items to reduce the light at night). Spoke with reception who sent person to fix fan within an hr, light always flashes on phone apparently!! After much coming and going fan was off but once light turned on again that was it so contacted reception who advised a room change (at 10pm) room was across corridor and def much warmer, extractor fan didn't work at all incidentally, not did the telephone flash incessantly :) breakfast was excellent both mornings, we booked into the edge restaurant on second night food was amazing. We were meant to get two spa vouchers as part of our package which we never received but all in all great hotel def recommend it :)

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rachael_medic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Your_Customer_Care, Guest Relations Manager at Redcastle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments and feedback. I apologise that you did not receive a corkscrew for your wine. I will certainly ensure that your comments are passed on to the team here and also please do mention to reservations on your next visit that you did not receive your Spa vouchers and they will ensure that you receive these regardless of the package that you book
I hope you will return to the Hotel soon again

Redcastle Customer Care Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

Just back from 2 nights here - lovely rooms with 'Ocean view' - more like Lough view but still great. Only one small gripe with rooms as we've found before - could we have brighter lights please. The food in the bar and the dining room was really good and the bottle of Emiliano Merlot perfect in bar though the one served in dining room was a little cool but swiftly replaced! Just our bad luck that the pool hadn't heated up after refurbishment - and we learnt that we should have prebooked treatments. Anyone staying here who enjoys walking should try the waterfall walk at Clonmany and Pollan Strand near Ballyliffin - also Moville and Buncrana shore walks.

Room Tip: 'Ocean' view definitely
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janethdunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Your_Customer_Care, Guest Relations Manager at Redcastle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Dear Guest
Many thanks for your feedback. And for your traveller tips. I apologise that the pool temperature was not as it should be. I hope you will visit soon again
Redcastle Customer Care Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Hotel was excellent , room lovely , staff were so helpful. Big plus stayed on Sunday , Santa was there , was really good and took time have full conversation with my daughter . meal was part of package was delicious lovely setting . Only one bad thing could say was pool was little on cold side . But overall would highly recommend

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Your_Customer_Care, Guest Relations Manager at Redcastle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments. I am delighted that you and your daughter enjoyed your time and had a chance to see Santa! I will ensure your comments regarding the pool are passed on also

Redcastle Customer Care Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

My friends & I booked the hotel for a "girlie night out" for christmas. This included overnight stay breakfast the following morning & a choice of "taster spa session" . The staff were very friendly, polite & professional. They went over and above the call of duty to make our stay exceptional! Two staff that stood out were Danielle (Beautician) & Lisa at reception however all staff were amazing!! definitely worth the visit!!

Room Tip: If you can get a view of the water it would be stunning!
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Una32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Your_Customer_Care, Guest Relations Manager at Redcastle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review and for your special mention of two staff members. We try to go above and beyond for all our guests and we really appreciate when this is noticed. I hope you will return to the Hotel soon again

Redcastle Customer Care Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Myself and 5 girlfriends just spent 2 nights at Redcastle - we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The rooms were great and the food was excellent - we ate in the restaurant one night and in the bar on the second. We all had a spa treatment which was amazing and the staff were excellent on all counts! Would definitely recommend Redcastle and we will certainly be back!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Your_Customer_Care, Guest Relations Manager at Redcastle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to offer your feedback. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you will return again in the near future

Redcastle Customer Care Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

This is not the first time I have stayed at the red castle hotel and it most certainly wont be my last . I love everything about this hotel the staff are more than helpfully,and very friendly, the food is great and the rooms are very comfortable. I would recommend going out of season when it is quiet as it makes it even more relaxing. Can't wait to get back . Well done to the whole team at the red castle hotel !!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dympna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Your_Customer_Care, Guest Relations Manager at Redcastle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Dear Guest

It is lovely to read comments from our returning visitors and it is also good that you received the same standard of care and attention this time round. The Hotel will only be a success when a customer such as yourself returns time and time again and then spreads the word. Thank you for your continued support

Redcastle Customer Care Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moville
13.6 mi away
Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel
13.4 mi away
Inishowen Gateway
Inishowen Gateway
#1 of 4 in Buncrana
917 reviews
3.8 mi away
Caiseal Mara Hotel
Caiseal Mara Hotel
#2 of 2 in Moville
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
McGrory's Hotel
McGrory's Hotel
#1 of 1 in Culdaff
210 reviews
13.5 mi away
Ballyliffin TownHouse
Ballyliffin TownHouse
#2 of 4 in Ballyliffin
133 reviews
23.9 mi away
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bushmills
1,849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Redcastle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Redcastle Hotel

Address: Inishowen Peninsula, Moville, Ireland (Formerly The Redcastle Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Moville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Moville
Price Range: $107 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Redcastle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm Irish welcome awaits you at the four star Redcastle Oceanfront, Golf & Spa Hotel. With a magical waterfront location, overlooking Lough Foyle on the picturesque Inishowen Peninsula in Donegal, it’s the perfect getaway for a short break or family holiday at home.Set among mature woodland with 93 guest rooms including suites and family rooms and sea view rooms, our own 9-hole parkland golf course and exclusive Thalasso Spa, the Resort oozes charm, style and warm hospitality. Our Waters Edge Restaurant is appropriately named with breathtaking views across Lough Foyle and a menu that features the finest local seafood and fare. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Redcastle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Redcastle Hotel Donegal
Carlton Redcastle Hotel And Thalasso
Hotel Redcastle
Carlton Hotel Redcastle
Donegal Hotel Redcastle
Carlton Moville
Redcastle Hotel Moville, County Donegal, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing