We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“noisy hotel!”
Review of Redcastle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Redcastle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Moville
Certificate of Excellence
Athlone, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“noisy hotel!”
Reviewed March 28, 2011

We stayed here recently for a wedding. At the meal there was a few hiccups. One person at table didn't get a plate and had to go look for one. One person didn't have yorkshire pudding with their beef and i asked if could i have it and was very abruptly and rudely told NO! Very slow service and serving staff didn't really have personalities. Our room was very very noisy and just decided to get up and leave as it wasn't relaxing at all.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sugar2990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,855 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    902
    522
    228
    119
    84
See reviews for
404
1,011
19
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (477)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2011

My husband and myself took a well earned spa break to staying Friday and Saturday night at the beginning of March. We had read the poor reviews on trip advisor but their website looked good and we were assured by the booking staff that all the rooms had been painted and so on. To give an honest account the hotel was disappointing on a number of levels. On arrival we found the common areas uninviting at best and dirty and very shabby in places. The staff were unenthusiastic and the place lacked any sole - no open fires, comfy sofas etc. We left or bags and we down to begin our spa package which started with a 'spa lunch' only to be sent back up to the dirty common area for bar food. Burger and chips, although good, wasn't a 'spa lunch' The Spa was inadequate, no jacuzzi, no steam room, no sauna and no toiletries, cleanser, conditioner, cotton wool and so on. The changing rooms were shabby and we actually laughed at the state of the bath robes they gave us, thread bare with pockets hanging off. The treatments themselves were technically quite good but the overall experience was disappointing.
We had upgraded to an executive room the standard of which I felt was unacceptable. The bedroom was a further disappointment ; the room was small, more like a dirty travel lodge than a four star hotel. the carpets were stained, the furniture chipped and in places had chunks missing, The television was old fashioned and the decor direr. The inside of the bathroom door was actually burnt and the bath grout was old and in places missing, the pillows were hard and the duvet cheep.
As relaxing in either the bar or the room was not an option we went into Moville for a drink in a fab pub (dont remember the name) and decided to check out the next morning. When we informed the hotel the bar manager (only manager available) did offer to move us to another room but to be honest it wasn't just the room. Dinner and breakfast however were good and the service excellent.
On checking out we had to deal with a very rude and arrogant women who I believe to be head of customer care. She asked us to explain our reasons for wanting to leave but offered no apology. Her aggressive unprofessional attitude was appalling and made the whole experience a million times worse. I left tearful and angry. We spent our 2nd night in Rathmullen Hotel which was fantastic.
On returning home we did receive a phone call from the hotel, we were assured that our complaints would be passed on to the Manger who away and we have been expecting to hear back but this has not happened.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank JaneBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2011

This hotel is in a lovely position on Lough Foyle and set in very pleasant grounds.
Staff were were good and helpful - especially Brendan who was a pleasure every evening in food service.
The dinners were outstanding and redeemed a very average hotel.
The room was very disappointing with as already noted in another review chipped furniture. It also had the smallest bath towels I have ever encountered - I thought I had lifted a hand towel by mistake on having a shower the evening I arrived. I also was irritated( perhaps disproportionately) by the absence of a hook to hang my dressing gown on in the bathroom. Not a 4 star hotel in this respect to my mind.
As also noted in another review there were no nets on the window and we felt exposed too when the curtains were open on our side of the hotel by the clients of Leisureworld. Once closed the room was very dark given the lighting provided.
The noise from the nearby nightclub on the Friday night woke us and noise from guests woke us on the next night so felt ill slept.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paddy55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donegal Town, Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2011

I stayed in this hotel last year with my sister and mother. despite telling them several times this was a special occassion as it was my mother and sisters birthday, nothing was said or done on our arrival to recognise this.
As we went to our room to check in my first bad impression was the stains in the carpet in the lift. Approching the bedroom, i noticed a big hole in the wall beside our door.. it looked like someone had punched it !!
The room was fine, a bit dated and dusty and even though we had a nice view and the room was very large, the window ledges were dirty so kind of took away the one good point to the room.
The food in the restaurant was lovely, however as we sat down to the wooden table (thought there should be table clothes at least) the glass at my setting clearly had some sort of orange bits probably from breakfast stuch to the inside. I could see this before i even sat down so couldnt understand why the waitors came and left and never notised it !!
The spa was lovely, and it was nice to come down in the morning for a swim.
All in all the stay was ok, nothing i would write home about and nothing i would recommend to friends im afraid.!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessi30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 12, 2011

Staff were very helpful on arrival, were even more helpful when we had to curtail our stay due to father-in-law taken ill.
Only negative, rooms were very cold on arrival but with good assistance from staff an extra heater supplied

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drumbegjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2011

We stayed here with our 2 kids on Sunday and Monday 13th & 14th Feb 2011. Carole dealt with my online reservation and could not have been more helpful. When we checked in and went to our room we found that we had been given a junior suite with a separate living room where the kids could sleep on a pull out sofa bed which was excellent the only let down was that the view overlooked the car park and the smoking area which meant anyone out smoking could see into our room, therefore we felt we had to keep the curtains closed. We took the kids to the nearby leisure land on the Sunday and it was excellent just beware if you booking mid week because it only opens at the weekends. We had dinner included in our package on valentine's night and I have to say it was gorgeous a real treat, we were greeted with a glass of champagne and then a 6 course dinner. The staff in this hotel are excellent and the pool area was lovely, the only thing that lets this hotel down is the fact that it could do with a slight face lift as some areas of the hotel are slightly run down. All in all we had a great stay.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ciara05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N. Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2011

Stayed here on a two night b&b (excellent buffet breakfast which goes on till 10.30) with one dinner, all for 99 euro. Found all staff very friendly and efficient. Room was large (3 comfortable beds) and well furnished (good heavy curtains to allow lie in!) though a bit dated. Excellent pool and quite good fitness suite. Wife had massage which she thought good value. Charge for wifi a bit annoying.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikeantrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moville
13.6 mi away
Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel
13.4 mi away
Inishowen Gateway
Inishowen Gateway
#1 of 4 in Buncrana
876 reviews
3.8 mi away
Caiseal Mara Hotel
Caiseal Mara Hotel
#2 of 2 in Moville
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
The Harbour Inn
The Harbour Inn
#2 of 4 in Buncrana
286 reviews
23.9 mi away
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bushmills
1,748 reviews
13.5 mi away
Ballyliffin TownHouse
Ballyliffin TownHouse
#2 of 4 in Ballyliffin
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Redcastle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Redcastle Hotel

Property: Redcastle Hotel
Address: Inishowen Peninsula, Moville, Ireland (Formerly The Redcastle Hotel)
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Moville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Moville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Redcastle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm Irish welcome awaits you at the four star Redcastle Oceanfront, Golf & Spa Hotel. With a magical waterfront location, overlooking Lough Foyle on the picturesque Inishowen Peninsula in Donegal, it’s the perfect getaway for a short break or family holiday at home.Set among mature woodland with 93 guest rooms including suites and family rooms and sea view rooms, our own 9-hole parkland golf course and exclusive Thalasso Spa, the Resort oozes charm, style and warm hospitality. Our Waters Edge Restaurant is appropriately named with breathtaking views across Lough Foyle and a menu that features the finest local seafood and fare. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Redcastle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Redcastle Hotel Donegal
Carlton Redcastle Hotel And Thalasso
Hotel Redcastle
Carlton Hotel Redcastle
Donegal Hotel Redcastle
Carlton Moville
Redcastle Hotel Moville, County Donegal, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing