We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Irish hospitality at its best”
Review of Inishowen Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Inishowen Lodge
Ranked #1 of 11 Moville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Irish hospitality at its best”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

My family of five recently spent two nights at this wonderful B&B located outside of Moville Donegal. Our experience from beginning to end was excellent. We had arrived shortly before 9 PM and had not eaten dinner. Our wonderful host Irwin called to Rosatos pub and then escorted us in his own car to the establishment where we had a wonderful meal. I should point out that the pub stopped serving food at 9 PM and we were cheerfully accommodated. The Inn itself was nicely decorated and spotless. My son , Ish, commented that it was cleaner than the White House. Breakfast both mornings prepared by Olga and served by Irwin was fabulous particularly the French toast!(Yum Yums).
Irwin's knowledge of the local history and attractions was top
notch and most helpful.
The rooms, the views, the food and the friendly Irish hospitality all make this an outstanding B and B to visit when in the Moville area. Thanks to Olga and Irwin for their kindness

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Blindsquirrel7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ofandi, Owner at Inishowen Lodge, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you very much, we are so glad you enjoyed your visit. It was an absolute pleasure having you and your family to stay with us. As you now know, there is so much to see and do in the Inishowen and surrounding areas and we are ideally located to take full advantage of this. Olga & Irwin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
30
86
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

We recently stayed in the Inishowen Lodge while attending a wedding in the nearby hotel, and the stay couldn't have been better. The house is gorgeous, with amazing scenes across Lough Foyle. From the minute we arrived we were made feel at home, with a welcoming cup of tea and biscuits on the table for us. The rooms were spotless, huge and had everything you could need.

The breakfasts are outstanding, with the porridge a particular must! Fresh smoked salmon, full irish fry up, homemade brown bread...the lot, fills you up for the day. The hosts, Irwin & Olga were brilliant, friendly and really makes the stay all the better. (I even borrowed cufflinks off Irwin as I forgot mine, and it was no trouble at all)

We can't wait to go back, to sample some more homepage porridge and the hospitality of the hosts. One of the best B&Bs in Ireland without a doubt.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank irljs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ofandi, Owner at Inishowen Lodge, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
We are really delighted you enjoyed the Inishowen Lodge experience and look forward to welcoming you back again. There is still so much to see and do in the area. Many thanks for your comments which are very much appreciated. Olga & Irwin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Wonderful location (if going by car), amazing owners - very kind, friendly and helpful, lovely warm rooms with everything you might need, perfectly clean and tastefully decorated and views to die for! The best B&B ever!
Thank you very much Irwin and Olga!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lucie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ofandi, Owner at Inishowen Lodge, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
We are delighted you enjoyed your visit to Inishowen. It was a pleasure having you to stay. Many thanks for your positive and encouraging comments. Olga & Irwin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

When my wife and I do a holiday tour round Ireland we always make a point of staying a few days at Inishowen Lodge as it is the BEST B& B in the whole of Ireland. The welcome is so great, the food is so good, the location is perfect with great views over Lough Foyle and the rooms are lovely, nice and big and comfortable.
I think our trip that has just finished in June 2013 is our 5th visit. Last year we took a couple of friends from the USA to stay there and they were bowled over too!
Congratulations Olga and Irwin, you are the best without doubt!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great - just make sure you have a booking as there are only 3 of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jimcrabtree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ofandi, Owner at Inishowen Lodge, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Many thanks, it was great to see you both again. We always look forward to your visit, and enjoyed meeting your American friends last year. Pass on our best wishes to them. Olga & Irwin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Irwin and Olga are the hosts with the most. From the second we arrived to the time we left they were amazing. The house itself sits on a hill with fantastic views and the view from our room was great. We had the room just at the top of the stairs and it was a large room and had everything we needed. We went with our two Shih Tzus and they were warmly welcomed as well. Irwins knowledge of what to see and where to go knows no bounds and Olgas cooking is a nightmare if you are on a diet. Her French toast with bacon and maple syrup is divine as is her scrambled eggs. The wheaten bread was devoured by my husband each morning. To top it all Olga can knit and crochet and I bought a gorgeous hat and scarf which have been admired by many. I would highly recommend this B&B to anyone. We will definitely consider a return trip.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trillian990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ofandi, Owner at Inishowen Lodge, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Thanks so much for your comments. We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, it was an absolute pleasure having you both along with Nemo & Trekkie! Looking forward to welcoming you back again soon; still lots to see and do. Olga & Irwin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

We had a great stay at Inishowen Lodge - Olga and Irwin are great hosts - there was a welcoming cup of tea and home-made biscuits - and the room was lovely - very comfortable and with everything you Bwould need. It's got great views and the breakfast was wonderful. All in all a great B and B.
The only slight downside is that you have to drive into Moville to get a meal - there are no places within walking distance- but the quality of the experience made it well worth it for us.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NewcastleSusieq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ofandi, Owner at Inishowen Lodge, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Many thanks for your comments. It was a pleasure to have you and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We are sure you will agree that the short drive to Moville is well worth it to experience the traditional atmosphere and excellent food that this unique restaurant provides.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Irwin & Olga of Inishowen opened their Lodge to three of us as we cycled around Ireland (with Cycle Against Suicide). Although we weren't paying guests, we were treated as such and looked after unbelievable well. Our room was beautiful and so comfortable - with absolutely stunning views over the water. We were treated to tea & homemade biscuits in front of an open fire. There was an abundance of information on the local area and attractions as well as a very well stocked book shelf and cozy corners in which to read. In the morning we were treated to a delicious made to order breakfast (I went with salmon & cream cheese on a bagel in addition to creamy porridge)... the house & setting were absolutely stunning and were equally matched by superb hosting! I would not only recommend staying here if in the area, but would recommend visiting the area just to stay at Inishowen Lodge! Many thanks to Irwin & Olga for their generosity and the kindness extended to three weary cyclists!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaitlin2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ofandi, Owner at Inishowen Lodge, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
We are delighted that you enjoyed the Inishowen Lodge experience. We aim to maintain this high standard with all our guests. Your comments are very much appreciated. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moville
1.9 mi away
Redcastle Hotel
Redcastle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Moville
1,870 reviews
14.8 mi away
Inishowen Gateway
Inishowen Gateway
#1 of 4 in Buncrana
889 reviews
22.6 mi away
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bushmills
1,781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Caiseal Mara Hotel
Caiseal Mara Hotel
#2 of 2 in Moville
51 reviews
13.7 mi away
Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel
13.6 mi away
Ballyliffin TownHouse
Ballyliffin TownHouse
#2 of 4 in Ballyliffin
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inishowen Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inishowen Lodge

Property: Inishowen Lodge
Address: Ballyrattan | Redcastle, Moville, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Moville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Moville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Inishowen Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inishowen Lodge is situated on the scenic Inishowen peninsula of North Donegal just 25 minute drive from 2013 City of Culture, Derry/Londonderry. We have spectacular views over Lough Foyle towards the North Antrim Coast and during the summer months, there is an hourly ferry service from Greencastle to Magilligan which facilitates travel to the Giant's Causeway, Bushmills Distillery & the Carrick a Rede Rope Bridge. Malin Head, Ireland's most northernly point is approx 35 minutes away. All rooms are spacious with private facilities, free WiFi and tea/coffee making facilities. You can enjoy a choice of cooked breakfast each morning in our sunroom. The large comfortable guest sitting room provides an ideal location for relaxing in the evening. On cooler evenings there is an inviting log fire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Inishowen Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inishowen Lodge Moville, County Donegal, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing