We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could have been better....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Windflower Resort & Spa, Vythiri
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Vythiri
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

After having stayed at windflower coorg , mysore and pondicherry choosing vythiri windflower was not a difficult decision. Drive from palakkad was great. We found the resort location good...beyond harrisons tea estate. The broken road added to the adventure spirit. We were received promptly at the reception. The towel could have been scented and moist...like coorg. We wete escorted to the villa in a buggy by mr.mahesh....whom we found out later was the go to man for every thing in the resort. Rooms were great..well laid out. Both living room and bed room very spacious. Television in both areas. Balcony was large and to top it all had a jacuzzi which could accomodate a family of 4. A bamboo roller curtain on one side would have been very welcome....would have provided total privacy to family using jacuzzi. Most of the complaints stem from the usage of jacuzzi. ....getting it cleaned and filled daily is a big ordeal. ..multiple phone calls, most of the times no warm water b cos they use solar power...Doesn't work in morning and evenings or when its raining. ( I stayed at peak summer ). Would have been better if we could fill it by a flick of a switch. One of the most depressing aspect of sitting in balcony was the smell .....more in the morning 6 to 9 o clock.??? septic tank gases. Once exposed to it your whole mood for the day is gone.
Play zone is ok. Temporary set up for x box available at request. Evening party games entertaining.

Restaurant ambience is good...staff attentive....food repetitive with minor face lifts. First time at a resort I found food not up to the standards (comparable to similar resorts)

The family photo with the thank you mail at the end of stay was touching...thanks.

All concerns raised are correctable..so hopefully next time we can give the resort 5 stars.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank adithya07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VRashinkar, Director-Marketing at The Windflower Resort & Spa, Vythiri, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2014

Thank you for your feedback. We have noted the comments you have made about the in-room jacuzzi, smell from the septic tank and minor food complaint and we are looking into the same immediately to ensure that the entire holiday experience at The Windflower Vythiri is a memorable one. We do hope to see you at another Windflower soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (516)
There are newer reviews for The Windflower Resort & Spa, Vythiri
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

337 - 343 of 516 reviews

Reviewed June 20, 2014

This was our second Windflower experience in about a month's time after Pondi. We had a wonderful time. Rooms are spacious and liked the plan of separating out the TV viewing area. Pure bliss sometime as we could just spend time walking around the property and experience Vythiri. The flora and fauna inside would surely make you cancel any other sightseeing plans. We were not expecting tea garden in Vythiri, so that was a good plus. Food is ok, activity room was operational. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Subhr0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VRashinkar, Director-Marketing at The Windflower Resort & Spa, Vythiri, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2014

Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted to know that your stay at The Windflower Vythiri was a good one and that you would recommend our resort to others. We do hope to see you at another Windflower soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2014

Be sure to go back home with a smile on your face. The resort is beautifully located – perched on the edge of a hill in Vythri. It has fantastic views of the other peaks around and lots of greenery soothing to the eyes. The other thing that strikes you besides the location is the hospitality of the people here and therefore be assured of seeing lots of smiling faces. We stayed in a Villa which has its own Jacuzzi in the balcony looking over the hills. The Villa is well planned, spacious and very clean. Coming to the food -we were pampered a lot by the chef who is always around to know if we had any special dish in mind which we wanted him to prepare. Don’t miss to ask for the chicken tikka and Rava fish fry and the deserts are very well made- try all of them. We chose Windflower solely on reviews on Trip advisor and once again I was not let down. 

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VenuVR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VRashinkar, Director-Marketing at The Windflower Resort & Spa, Vythiri, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2014

Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted to know that your stay at The Windflower Vythiri was a good one. We do hope to see you at another Windflower soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2014

This is my second time to Wayanad / Vythiri but first time in this resort.

The resort is easily reachable from the main road but located nicely inside the estate. The rooms were pretty big and spacious. Food was okay. I would not say that it was extraordinary; missed the fish being in Kerala.

The hospitality was good. The only drawback is that there is not much recreation inside the resort. Even a trek was not possible!

Otherwise it was definitely good enough for a business visit with a group of 70 people.

Room Tip: The higher the room number the better is the quality. At least all the single digit rooms were prett...
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rathnakumar G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VRashinkar, Director-Marketing at The Windflower Resort & Spa, Vythiri, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2014

Thank you for your feedback. We are happy to hear that you found our resort to be a good one while noting your comments about the food and recreation facilities. We will look into your suggestions and implement them at the earliest. We do look forward to welcoming you to another Windflower soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

A family of four, we stayed in a villa with a jacuzzi.
You must visit it because of:
1) the hospitality, the politeness and the agility of the front office and staff
2) the beautiful and aesthetic landscaping in the property
3) the spacious rooms
4) the spacious bathrooms which have views better than even the sit out!
5) the buffet breakfast, lunch and dinner which are varied and exhaustive
6) the stunning surroundings.
7) the enchanting rides in their buggy.
8) the adventure activities that the resort organizes.
9) the pool which is clean and well-maintained.
However:
1) the approach is a sharp vertical with precarious bends, so you had better be a good driver.
2) since the resort is built on a hill slope the grounds are uneven and senior citizens definitely need to watch out.
3) the dining hall is at some distance from the rooms and it is a long uphill walk. You can call for a
buggy but it takes time to come. The resort would do well provide more buggies.
But all in all, certainly worth visiting. Thumbs Up!

Room Tip: The villas are worth the money. Open your purse strings d you will not regret it
Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank MotheroftwoBangalore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VRashinkar, Director-Marketing at The Windflower Resort & Spa, Vythiri, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2014

Thank you for your feedback. We are happy to hear that you found our resort to be a good one and that you had a great time there and wish to revisit. We do look forward to welcoming you to another Windflower soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

We were there in last month the resort was beautiful , the buffet spread was excellent, the view from the room it was mind blowing , we were a group of fifteen members we totally enjoyed the stay .... Choose villa no.12 or 09 to enjoy the view , the resort staffs also needs a special mention , the service was excellent. we will comebackagain

Room Tip: choose villa no.12 or 09 foor good view
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ajeeshbalakrishnan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VRashinkar, Director-Marketing at The Windflower Resort & Spa, Vythiri, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2014

Thank you for your feedback. We are happy to hear that you found our resort to be a very good one and that you had a great time there. We do look forward to welcoming you to another Windflower soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2014

Visited Windflower in April 2014. Had a good time and met some really wonderful people. Food is excellent and place is simply great. My family had a great time and would really cherish the memories. The room was beautiful & with nice view of nature. Spa was wonderful.The hospitality of the windflower folks was great and would like to specially appreciate & thank Ranjith, Mahesh, Aarti, Rakesh, Spa incharge and 2 guys from restaurant (sorry I don't recall the names) were very helpful in our trip. It is a must visit for a family trip and would recommend to everyone. Thanks.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FreonPrajwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VRashinkar, Director-Marketing at The Windflower Resort & Spa, Vythiri, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2014

Thank you for your feedback. We are happy to hear that you found our resort to be a great one and that you had a wonderful time there. We do look forward to welcoming you to another Windflower soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vythiri
6.7 mi away
Wayanad Silverwoods
Wayanad Silverwoods
#1 of 22 in Kalpetta
854 reviews
6.2 mi away
Sharoy Resort
Sharoy Resort
#4 of 22 in Kalpetta
891 reviews
10.5 mi away
The Wave Wayanad
The Wave Wayanad
#2 of 5 in Ambalavayal
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Vistara Resort
Vistara Resort
#3 of 5 in Ambalavayal
75 reviews
1.9 mi away
Vythiri Village Resort
3.4 mi away
Blue Ginger Spa Resorts Wayanad
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Windflower Resort & Spa, Vythiri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Windflower Resort & Spa, Vythiri

Address: 40 Survey No | Achoornam Village, Vythiri 673576, India
Location: India > Kerala > Wayanad District > Vythiri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Vythiri
Price Range: $106 - $262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Windflower Resort & Spa, Vythiri 4.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Windflower Vythiri is set in a tranquil coffee and tea estate a rich legacy of an English planter's pioneering spirit. In fact, from the time you drive in, the sweep of Vythiri's landscape, our signature Buddha statue and water bodies prepare you for the serenity of our resort. Saunter into your sit out and behold the awe-inspiring Chembra Peak that defines our property - its grey peaks peeping through the wet, white clinging mist. This scenic sight is yours even as you sit down to feast on a scrumptious breakfast at our restaurant's expansive open air balcony; or when you wait in quiet contemplation outside the Spa and even as you float feather-like in our swimming pool fringed by Silver trees. These mountain top views are the essence of Vythiri and pervade our entire property.The Windflower Vythiri's hospitality extends across 25 acres of coffee plantations uniquely set amidst a tea estate. Here, elegant, well appointed Villas and Suites await your arrival. Come, take advantage ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Windflower Resort & Spa, Vythiri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing