We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Luxury Option at wayanad” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Windflower Resort & Spa, Vythiri

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Windflower Resort & Spa, Vythiri
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Vythiri
Certificate of Excellence
kerala, india
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good Luxury Option at wayanad”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

spent 02 days at the windflower in July during the heavy monsoons. set amidst plantations the resort has its own charm. the rooms and amenities will keep the luxury traveller happy. the check in was swift. had some issue with the room allotted was twin bed due to some misunderstanding in communication. requested the beds to be joined or to have the room changed. Probably due to a full house the staff didn't seem too keen to sort it out but after a wait of around 20 minutes we got a better room. the rooms are very spacious and comes with modern amenities and comforts. Living area and bedroom seperated by a large LCD TV and cabinet. Spacious Balcony overlooks the greenery. bathroom is very spacious with a large shower cubicle. the dressing area and the bathroom has a common door from the bedroom which restricts the simultaneous usage of both by 2 people. the bathroom door was very tight and had to be dragged ( cannot blame , due to the weather).

the restaurant and the lobby area are tastefully done and are spacious.

food quality was really good. nice spread for the breakfast and well presented. had indian ( south & north) with ample continental choices and live counters.

Resort doesn't have provision for room service which at times makes things difficult especially with 2 kids in the rains. request was met with some difficulty, thanks to the help from the GM. Could return to hotel around 10.30 pm one night selfdriven, stopped at the reception, but no help help with a valet parking, not even some guidance about the parking and no one turned up sadly. finally had to search for some space in the tough terrain amidst heavy showers, and low visibility which was a bad experience.

there was a power failure aroudn 11 pm only in our room which was attended immediately upon intimating however took another 20 minutes to get rectified fully.

The GM of the resort was helpful and had offered all help and personal care but the staff down line didn't seem to go the extra mile and offer the helping hand even if it doesn't cost anything.

The staff are more tuned to cater only for the weekend traffic from nearby cities of Bangalore and there is scope for tremendous improvement.

If the service side is pulled up the resort is a much better place as I strongly regard the " human element" in any resort as the key which I prefer any day than utmost luxury.

overall its a nice holiday product, ideal for 2 nights stay in Wayand, nestled away in the hills , close to tea estates. around 3.50 km from the main road, the last 300 meters form the main gate is quite adventurous drive through the winding concreted pathway on first gear only.

Room Tip: only 2 categories viz suites and villas. opt for something near to reception if you cannot walk up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hari_KC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinitarashinkar, Director-Marketing at The Windflower Resort & Spa, Vythiri, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at The Windflower Vythiri. We have made a note of your comment regarding "human element" and we will endeavour to educate our associates accordingly. We do hope to see you at another Windflower soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    166
    43
    15
    15
See reviews for
255
118
1
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

Just returned from an amazing experience at The Windflower, Vythiri.
I was really surprised by the Hospitality. They really treat you special. The check in was a breeze. The villa's view is just breathtakingly amazing. The vila itself was done tastefully.
Enjoyed the huge balcony. Enjoyed the Jacuzzi. It was just two days of bliss.
The food was so good, after hogging like crazy during lunch, you would still look forward to Dinner.
My 5 and half year old got each and every one of his request fulfilled. Ice cream, manchurian, Donut. They made it especially for him.
A real treat for all my senses.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RamanWalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinitarashinkar, Director-Marketing at The Windflower Resort & Spa, Vythiri, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at The Windflower Vythiri. We do hope to see you at another Windflower soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

Me and wife spent 2 days/nights at the Windflower, Vythiri. Amazing experience. Though it was rainy season, we were treated very well and taken good care of. Essentially, we had gone to relax and spend time talking, watching a few movies and playing cards etc. Not only did we do that, but also the Chef - Mr Srinivasan took great pains to ensure that none of our meals were less than a voluntary stuffed package!! We eat veg and he prepared amazing starters, salads, soups and some main course dishes for us. Suman came and sang songs for us while we ate dinner on the 2nd evening, which was special. For people looking for activities, vythiri may not be the best place except for some self trekking. This is a quiet place and very good to relax and spend time with family. Not many activities for kids as well. Also, this resort is 3.5 km away from the main road and you have to have your own conveyance, so keep that in mind.

Room Tip: The suites have 1 issue: the TV does not face the bed, rather the living room!! The villas dont have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ratishcam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinitarashinkar, Director-Marketing at The Windflower Resort & Spa, Vythiri, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at The Windflower Vythiri. We do hope to see you at another Windflower soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

We went to Windflower resort with our 11 month old baby, this being his first trip! We were little sceptical as to how this will turn out to be. But I have to say, first reaction after seeing the resort was Wow! What location this is situated in! Breathtaking views of Chembara peak and tea estates!
I will first like to mention the best hospitality I had experienced till date! The staff is so courteous and they will greet you with so much warmth! Just amazes all the time :). My son was a celebrity there, with whole of the staff taking care of him :)!
Second but the thing that stood out was food! They had amazing chefs! They asked for our choice of food and made it so delicious, that i salivate while writing this :P. the buffet spread is awesome and all the stuffs were fresh and even rotis/ naan were made to order in the buffet :).
Overall the experience have been amazing and i must say, this will be an unforgetable vacation, thanks to the staff and ambience of the resort! Kudos and keep this going :)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Prime304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinitarashinkar, Director-Marketing at The Windflower Resort & Spa, Vythiri, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at The Windflower Vythiri. We do hope to see you at another Windflower soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erode, Tamil Nadu, India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

we have been there (wind flower resorts) for a break from the rushing city environment for a couple of days. it was a great experience we had in wind flower resorts. What a unexpectable hospitality they offered us? all staffs were very helpful in all regards. regarding food, instead of giving choices, they asked what you want ? they prepared the food up to our requirement... that too it was very delicious and we enjoyed the kerala foods served by the chef.... house keeping, front office, travel guide, spa, security..... like this we going add on....... all departments given mind blowing service. it's my great pleasure to recommend this resort to anyone.... the ambiance is very nice, the infrastructure, room cleanliness, everything were beyond our expectations. balcony in the suite provide a relaxed greenery view after getting up from the bed and had a relaxed coffee or tea.... in the continuous rainy season, we have no words to appreciate their cleanliness and the care they taken on us by providing buggy service to reach restaurant and spa while raining....

Room Tip: room ambiance is good. that too the balcony attracted me more
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Eswar M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinitarashinkar, Director-Marketing at The Windflower Resort & Spa, Vythiri, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at The Windflower Vythiri. We do hope to see you at another Windflower soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IN
Level Contributor
55 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

We have had many vacations, but this will stand out, since the rains ensured that we have nothing else to do, but spent time with the family.. and not go for the regular tourism and circus of packing/unpacking.

In that setup, Windflower was just perfect.

Amidst the heavy rains, the rooms (suites) were still in a good position, though, there is still a scope of maintaining them clean and mosquito-free.. The carpets and walls have foot stains. The toilets are good and large.

The best part of the resort is the 'food' itself.. Like many others have said, do go there for the buffets and you will be amazed by the quality as well as the variety of the spread. We usually are doubtful in buffets about quality, but Windflower appeared spotless in that. All 3 nights/4 days, we just kept praising the chef and the staff!

Lastly ,set your expectations right for Wayanad/Vythiri.. Go there to relax and have 3 nights package (if travelling from Bangalore)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelerInPal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinitarashinkar, Director-Marketing at The Windflower Resort & Spa, Vythiri, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted to hear that you had a great monsoon getaway at The Windflower Vythiri. We look forward to welcoming you to other Windflower resorts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

The moment you check in to Windflower, your welcome letter reads "HOSPITALITY" in bold and let me assure you that it lives up to it. The rainy charm of Vythiri during this season is doubled by this surreal property with ample greenery and the Chembra peak to its view. The entire staff is cordial and really look after you. My special compliments to Chef Srinivas who went out of his way to cook us some lovely dinner on request (rarely you have such pleasantries).The property itself and rooms are well maintained and clean (even during relentless rains). Room service is prompt even if you consider that the rooms are some distance from the main block. Even in the peak of rains, we managed to scoot around to the nearby markets and the sentinel rock waterfalls as recommended by the resort staff. Right from the check in to the check out into Windflower we have had a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: Villas with jacuzzi and a mountain view are really worth trying.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SudipG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinitarashinkar, Director-Marketing at The Windflower Resort & Spa, Vythiri, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted to hear that your stay at Windflower Vythiri was a good one. We look forward to welcoming you to another Windflower soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vythiri
8.4 mi away
Sharoy Resort
Sharoy Resort
#1 of 19 in Kalpetta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
9.4 mi away
Wayanad Silverwoods
Wayanad Silverwoods
#2 of 19 in Kalpetta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
1.1 mi away
Silent Creek Resort
Silent Creek Resort
#3 of 8 in Vythiri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Wayanad Blooms
Wayanad Blooms
#1 of 2 in Kenichira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
2.1 mi away
Lakkidi Village Resort
Lakkidi Village Resort
#2 of 5 in Lakkidi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
10.4 mi away
Vistara Resort
Vistara Resort
#2 of 4 in Ambalavayal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Windflower Resort & Spa, Vythiri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Windflower Resort & Spa, Vythiri

Property: The Windflower Resort & Spa, Vythiri
Address: 40 Survey No | Achoornam Village, Vythiri 673576, India
Location: India > Kerala > Wayanad District > Vythiri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Vythiri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Windflower Vythiri is set in a tranquil coffee and tea estate a rich legacy of an English planter's pioneering spirit. In fact, from the time you drive in, the sweep of Vythiri's landscape, our signature Buddha statue and water bodies prepare you for the serenity of our resort. Saunter into your sit out and behold the awe-inspiring Chembra Peak that defines our property - its grey peaks peeping through the wet, white clinging mist. This scenic sight is yours even as you sit down to feast on a scrumptious breakfast at our restaurant's expansive open air balcony; or when you wait in quiet contemplation outside the Spa and even as you float feather-like in our swimming pool fringed by Silver trees. These mountain top views are the essence of Vythiri and pervade our entire property.The Windflower Vythiri's hospitality extends across 25 acres of coffee plantations uniquely set amidst a tea estate. Here, elegant, well appointed Villas and Suites await your arrival. Come, take advantage ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Windflower Resort & Spa, Vythiri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing