We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Monsoon magic.. literally”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Windflower Resort & Spa, Vythiri
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Vythiri
Certificate of Excellence
IN
Level Contributor
55 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Monsoon magic.. literally”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

We have had many vacations, but this will stand out, since the rains ensured that we have nothing else to do, but spent time with the family.. and not go for the regular tourism and circus of packing/unpacking.

In that setup, Windflower was just perfect.

Amidst the heavy rains, the rooms (suites) were still in a good position, though, there is still a scope of maintaining them clean and mosquito-free.. The carpets and walls have foot stains. The toilets are good and large.

The best part of the resort is the 'food' itself.. Like many others have said, do go there for the buffets and you will be amazed by the quality as well as the variety of the spread. We usually are doubtful in buffets about quality, but Windflower appeared spotless in that. All 3 nights/4 days, we just kept praising the chef and the staff!

Lastly ,set your expectations right for Wayanad/Vythiri.. Go there to relax and have 3 nights package (if travelling from Bangalore)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelerInPal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinitarashinkar, Director-Marketing at The Windflower Resort & Spa, Vythiri, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted to hear that you had a great monsoon getaway at The Windflower Vythiri. We look forward to welcoming you to other Windflower resorts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    166
    44
    15
    15
See reviews for
258
118
1
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

The moment you check in to Windflower, your welcome letter reads "HOSPITALITY" in bold and let me assure you that it lives up to it. The rainy charm of Vythiri during this season is doubled by this surreal property with ample greenery and the Chembra peak to its view. The entire staff is cordial and really look after you. My special compliments to Chef Srinivas who went out of his way to cook us some lovely dinner on request (rarely you have such pleasantries).The property itself and rooms are well maintained and clean (even during relentless rains). Room service is prompt even if you consider that the rooms are some distance from the main block. Even in the peak of rains, we managed to scoot around to the nearby markets and the sentinel rock waterfalls as recommended by the resort staff. Right from the check in to the check out into Windflower we have had a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: Villas with jacuzzi and a mountain view are really worth trying.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SudipG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinitarashinkar, Director-Marketing at The Windflower Resort & Spa, Vythiri, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted to hear that your stay at Windflower Vythiri was a good one. We look forward to welcoming you to another Windflower soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Our stay at Windflower Resort and Spa at Vythiri was indeed like our dream coming true.

Entire staff is truly very warm, helpful and totally customer centered.

We definitely would be looking for no other resort as an option where there is a Windflower already.

We also hope that there are more of windflower resorts coming in different locations in the near future.

Would strongly recommend this to any of our close relative/ friends visiting this place.

They have excellent suites, villas, pool and game facilities. The food quality is also good and they keep us entertained by organizing activities like games for kids as well as adults, playing our personal favorite song/s during dinner creating a superb atmosphere indeed.

Truly, looking forward to next Windflower Resort trip, of course at some other location soon.

Room Tip: The suites available are good. But to enjoy exquisite jacuzzi experience in the wonderful open sceni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShivaniSK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinitarashinkar, Director-Marketing at The Windflower Resort & Spa, Vythiri, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay at Windflower Vythiri. We look forward to welcoming you to another Windflower soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

I had booked the resort during the fag end of this summer i.e. 1st and 2nd June 2013. While booking i was aware the monsoon was close to arrive and clearly asked the reservation manager if its raining. (booking done on 29th May). I later realized that it was raining in Vythiri when I booked and they didnt disclose the fact it was raining. The two days of my stay was just sitting in the room as it was raining profusely. Even for eating at the resort i had to get wet to reach the restaurant. So traveler be aware of rains and don’t get eluded by the reservation manager by their discounts. I echo the same as Shubha, that the housekeeping is very very poor, for almost one day there was no towels in the bath room and the lady at the housekeeping desk don’t understand basic English. Lastly, the restaurant food, is so bad both wife and self has be in the local hospital for dysentery. Travelers please don’t try the salad session, this is repeated for two or three days.

Room Tip: Room no 12 is the best room in this resort
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bijutrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinitarashinkar, Director-Marketing at The Windflower Resort & Spa, Vythiri, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are truly sorry to hear of your bad experience. We will look into all aspects of your complaint and take necessary action. We apologize for not being able to live up to your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

we travelled in family during first week of june 2013. we had villa room with jacuzzi. Check in process was very smooth and the service was good. But we found used bedsheets in room and asked housekeeping staff to change it. The view of some rooms is good while some has blocked view due to trees. rooms are quite spacious with separate living room and 2 televisions with popular channels. Outside verandah is nice place to relax and enjoy view.

I was disappointed to see jacuzzi for which we paid so much; that its in open and your adjacent villa can staright away peep there. No privacy at all. Also eventhough thay have USA's best brand Sundance Spa's jacuzzi, they have not maintained it at all. It seems that after making resort they planned for it and hence getting in and out of jacuzzi is little awekward. As we were there during starting of monsoon, water was quite muddy and we didn't dared to step into water. This is unacceptable from such reputed group.

The activities and recreation is very good. Specially evening games by Mr Ranjit and Mr Suman. Kids enjoyed with them. I will recomment everyone to go in their Tea Plantation tour. Its really good and do carry camera with you. They should provide shuttle to vythiri for shopping lovers.

Our stay was really memorable due to out of the world hospitality of their Chef Mr Sriniwasan and whole kitchen staff and restaurant serving staff. Everyone treated us like their personal guest and we were quite amazed and touched by this. The Chef just made us relish by his cusine and hospitality. Special thanks to him.

Spa was really disappointing, I went for Foot massage and was expecting to sit in chair, they straight away made me sleep and did "MALISH". Also when my wife went for treatment, after suoerb facial and massage , at the time of bath, they didnt had water in shower. Really wierd situation. They sell some herbal products there ; but didnt has testers with them to try.

I recommend to go for base category room instead of spending for jacuzzi as water was not clean and like Sundance Spa jacuzzi in other resorts (e.g. ramsukh solitair suits, mahabaleshwar) the water was not that warm.

Room Tip: If you want to go for jacuzzi villa go for 12 number villa. And in case wanna go in normal suite roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nehalzaveri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinitarashinkar, Director-Marketing at The Windflower Resort & Spa, Vythiri, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted to hear that your stay at The Windflower Vythiri was a good one. However, we do apologize for not matching up to your expectations in some departments such as the spa. We will look into your comments and take the necessary action required towards course correction. We do look forward to welcoming you to another Windflower property soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

Just checked in. The restaurant area was a huge mess and very unorganised. People were standing and eating at the buffet counters. Felt like I was at a weeding dinner at some city hotel. One wonders if the management is aware that by trying to fill up rooms by getting in people for conferences they are only diluting the brand when there is an opportunity of converting the beautiful place into becoming a exotic holiday destination for couples to families to nature lovers.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Sanooty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinitarashinkar, Director-Marketing at The Windflower Resort & Spa, Vythiri, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We sincerely apologize for the bad experience you have had at our resort. We are looking into the matter very seriously and we will ensure that action is taken immediately to correct the situation. Our apologies once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

The location of the resort is beautiful and the staff is cheerful and helpful. The food is also good.

But the housekeeping doesn't meet basic standards. The day we checked in, our washroom had a huge pool of stagnant water and despite repeated requests, it was not cleaned. The man who finally came to check it argued that it would not dry due to the wet season. When asked to clean it with a mop, he reluctantly ran a wet mop over the floor and left in a hurry.

The housekeeping department is not very regular with cleaning rooms either, and water bottles are not replenished regularly. Our room had a strong musty smell, indicating that it had not been aired for months. The air-conditioning also kept going off at night, and the spa had a cockroach running about during the treatment.

Besides, the staff at the dining hall was complacent -- they frequently ran out of crockery, and never checked if guests needed any.

For the amount that the resort charges you, these things leave you feeling a little cheated -- managers at the resort clearly don't pay attention to detail.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shubha1305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinitarashinkar, Director-Marketing at The Windflower Resort & Spa, Vythiri, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that your experience at our resort did not match up to your expectations. We have made a note of the comments and will work towards ensuring better housekeeping at the resort. We do hope that you will choose Windflower for your next holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vythiri
6.2 mi away
Sharoy Resort
Sharoy Resort
#1 of 20 in Kalpetta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
3.8 mi away
Silent Creek Resort
Silent Creek Resort
#3 of 8 in Vythiri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
12.5 mi away
Wayanad Blooms
Wayanad Blooms
#1 of 2 in Kenichira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Vistara Resort
Vistara Resort
#2 of 4 in Ambalavayal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
1.9 mi away
Vythiri Village Resort
3.4 mi away
Blue Ginger Spa Resorts Wayanad
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Windflower Resort & Spa, Vythiri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Windflower Resort & Spa, Vythiri

Property: The Windflower Resort & Spa, Vythiri
Address: 40 Survey No | Achoornam Village, Vythiri 673576, India
Location: India > Kerala > Wayanad District > Vythiri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Vythiri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Windflower Vythiri is set in a tranquil coffee and tea estate a rich legacy of an English planter's pioneering spirit. In fact, from the time you drive in, the sweep of Vythiri's landscape, our signature Buddha statue and water bodies prepare you for the serenity of our resort. Saunter into your sit out and behold the awe-inspiring Chembra Peak that defines our property - its grey peaks peeping through the wet, white clinging mist. This scenic sight is yours even as you sit down to feast on a scrumptious breakfast at our restaurant's expansive open air balcony; or when you wait in quiet contemplation outside the Spa and even as you float feather-like in our swimming pool fringed by Silver trees. These mountain top views are the essence of Vythiri and pervade our entire property.The Windflower Vythiri's hospitality extends across 25 acres of coffee plantations uniquely set amidst a tea estate. Here, elegant, well appointed Villas and Suites await your arrival. Come, take advantage ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Windflower Resort & Spa, Vythiri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing