We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Windflower Resort & Spa, Vythiri
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Vythiri
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 15, 2012

I stayed at the Windflower Vythri in July 2011. Went there with family and friends a group of 11 people. Drive from Chennai was a long one as we need to bypass Bangalore Mysore and Nanjangud on the way. Coming to the resort its on a very secluded area amidts tea plantations. When we went there the resort was newly opened and not many activities were in operation. We stayed in a suite room which is spacious and has a big bathroom which is very impressive. Suite Room is built in traditional style. Its a comfortable room if you are travelling with kids. Restaurant serves buffet for all 3 meals but not much of the local cuisine is served which is a disappointment. You dont goto Kerala to have the kebabs and paneers!

The villas were equipped with Jacuzzi but were not in operation when we went. Spa and a Pool is there in the resort. In monsoon its not possible to use the pool. If you want a quiet stay amidst the plantations this is the place.

Room Tip: Villa with Jacuzzi
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SameerSultan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
onlineads, Manager at The Windflower Resort & Spa, Vythiri, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2017

Thank You For Your Feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (527)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

495 - 501 of 528 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2012

We went for a short trip from bangalore to this particular resort. The approach road is terrible, mind you. Better done with an SUV. The resort itself is great, well maintained. Scenic , peaceful...
The buffet spread, we loved it. But the service definitely could improve. Our stay at the resort was spoiled by a swami (a VIP) and his huge entourage, of followers, security, service staff. They literally booked the entire resort and had some 20 or more SUV's. They should have mentioned this to us so that we could have avoided getting there in the first place. Hence, I had complain the first day itself due to lack of service. The staff itself is friendly but could do more.....

Room Tip: We took the suite, if you are booking the same make sure its not the ground floor for want of better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank starsailor80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
v_rash, Public Relations Manager at The Windflower Resort & Spa, Vythiri, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2012

Thank you for your feedback. We apologize for the inconvenience caused to you by the VIP staying at the resort at the same time as you. We did not have prior knowledge of his stay or we would have made every effort to inform our other valuable guests. We hope you will not allow this incident to colour your judgement of the Windflower and we look forward to seeing you at another Windflower soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

My wife and I stayed at this resort end of June. We made the reservation by calling their Bangalore number and paying the entire amount in the SBI bank. At the time of making the reservation, I did not notice any difference in price with the web and calling them directly.

The hotel emailed the confirmation along with directions & distance. The direction/distance they emailed us was :

Route from Bangalore to Vythiri resort:
(130kms) (24kms) (35kms) (25kms) (7kms) (1km)
Bangalore to Mysore --- Nanjangud ---Gundalpet (From Gundalpet take Right) ----- Sulthan Bathery--- Kalpetta ---Chundel (from Chundel take right)---Harrison Malayam Tea Estate(3kms)---The windflower resort & spa

The direction is correct while the distances are wrong, it is around 300 kms from Bangalore and takes a good 5.5 hours of drive. The journey from Gundalpet to Sulthan Bathery is 73 kms and it passes through the Bandipur forest and is a very nice drive.

From Chundel to the Resort is a 3 km inner road which is not tarred and full of stones and you cannot go more than 5 to 10 kms per hour on this small stretch. The entrance to the resort is a steep 45 degree gradient. The resort is in the midst of a coffee plantation and lot of trees. It is very scenic, peaceful and calm. If you are looking for a nice break from the city away from noise, pollution and traffic and you love nature then this is the place to go to. There are a total of 48 units including a number of suites and a small number of villas. At the check in they take your picture in a webcam (for security purpose I believe) which I was not comfortable with. I haven't seen this being done in any other hotels/resorts that I have been to. Not sure if this is a new trend that is being started. A small buggy vehicle which is battery powered will take you and your luggage to your suite/villa. We found the room very clean and comfortable. The interiors are done very tastefully. The bathroom is huge with very nice shower. There is a flat screen T.V in the room with videocon D2H dish network. The T.V is fixed to a wooden unit which is turned away from the bed, meaning you cannot watch T.V lying on the bed ! You have to be sitting on the sofa to see this, I believe they have done this deliberately which was fine with us.

They have a nice pool, but unfortunately we did not get to use it since it was raining for the most part. The dining area and the food is excellent. Every day they cooked different variety of tasty food. The breakfast buffet was very nice, it included items like idli, vada, parata, dosa, different kinds of breads, fruits, juices, cereal, etc. Lunch and dinner included a huge variety of veg and non-veg items. For recreation, this resort has a snooker room, table tennis, chess and board games room. The spa facility is very nice as well. The manager is very helpful and friendly. A few things we found that could be done better were -

1. Room allocation - The resort when we went was about 30% full and mostly empty. The suite that they allocated was next to the room occupied by a bunch of young guys who were doing lot of noise by playing loud music, TV, yelling and shouting. We had gone to get some peace and quite and this was disappointing. We had to constantly call the manager to change either our room or our neighbors ! The front desk reservation can do a better job of matching the rooms to the guests needs instead of allocating it to have them all filled in a sequence.

2. Before allocating the room, there has to be a check in place to make sure everything works. Ex: A few lights were not working in the room, we had to call and it was promptly attended to, while some lights could not be fixed since the technician said there was a bigger problem and will require longer time to fix. The safe deposit locker also was not working, when reported, we heard that there is no theft and not required ! It did not make sense on why it should be there if this is the case.

There are a few nearby sightseeing spots like a dam, boating, etc. We did not go anywhere since I did not want to drive on the 3 km stretch of unpaved road again. The hotel people said they can arrange for transport (like a car) for sightseeing for around Rs. 2,500.

In summary, this is a very good resort to go and unwind. If you have kids, there is no activity for them and they can easily get bored. Go there to enjoy nature and peace and tranquility. The sound of birds, insects and the calm atmosphere will transport you to a different world !

Room Tip: If you have booked a studio, ask for the 1st floor room instead of ground floor. Ask for a room with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank snmbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
v_rash, Public Relations Manager at The Windflower Resort & Spa, Vythiri, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2012

Thank you for your feedback. We are happy to hear that you had a good stay at The Windflower Vythiri except for a few service glitches. We will endeavour to iron out the issues that you have pointed out .We look forward to seeing you at another Windflower soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

We went to Windflower, Wayanad from 2nd June to 4th June 2012 (my wife and myself). This place is one of the best places in terms of hospitality and infrastructure and most importantly food. Their restaurant serves very tasty and huge variety of food...we were very surprised to see those new combinations tried by chef. Room decoration is peaceful (looks like an old wooden villa with very spacious/modern bathroom attached to it.

This place lacks activities (area for play, evening bon-fire, place to hang). There is a good place for carrom, ludo etc but it is suffocated...so we never utilized it. It has a pool place..but that is next to kitchen....we need to go through kitchen for it...not very friendly.

Services were also not matching expectations...the reception people say something but then you need to remind them many times for small things like towel, tea etc.

Overall it was a pleasant trip for us and we enjoyed there.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Priyank_1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 15, 2012

Thank you for your feedback. We are happy to hear that you had a good stay at The Windflower Vythiri except for a few service glitches. We will endeavour to iron out the issues that you have pointed out .We look forward to seeing you at another Windflower soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

The Windflower seems to be in the midst of a lush tea estate, in actuality the tea estates that surround it is not part of it. It's all fenced off, it's private property. The resort sits on a small tract of land, which is bearable if you're there for no more than a day. The facilities were all alright. Check in and check out were the slowest i've ever encountered. Even though i rang them and told them that i was checking out in 2hours, they didn't keep the bill ready. The food was such a huge let down. It was all North Indian predominantly through the day! so much for going to Kerala, only to eat the not so glorious tikka's and kebabs and all things doused in a ton of curry. No plain delightful Keralite food, nothing local to Wayanad. We brough this up with the F&B manager so there was an option for breakfast the next day. The property leaves you nothing to rave about. It's all good, we paid 17k for 2nights inclusive of all meals (buffet). If you're a couple looking for some peace and quiet this is not the place. The place was full of screaming kids and large families. It's too small a property and so the crowds and noise seem everywhere. Like I said there are far better options in the area for the same price.

Room Tip: Get the villas at the end of the strip, the views are unobstructed and get a room on the first floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nym18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
onlineads, Manager at The Windflower Resort & Spa, Vythiri, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2017

Thank You For Your Feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2012

We had decided on Windflower, Vythiri based on our good experience at their property in Coorg. However we had a bad experience this time around and have decided not to visit again / recommend.

Pros :
1. Great view from the room.
2. Taste & variety of food is great.
3. Good Spa.

Cons:
1. Inadequately staffed.
2. No Bar
3. No room service.
4. I have a confirmation mail, from them promising welcome drink, plantation walk and cookies during my stay, but we never received any of these.
5. There was a large group staying at the resort and they were strictly vegetarian hence we were seated separately on those days and were served non veg. on the table.
6. We had people ringing our calling bell at odd hours 1:00 am & 4:00 am - Resort management should have ensured that the large group knows who is staying where.
7. Due to the large group, we felt as though we were in a crowd than a Resort.

This resort requires, good management.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suraj_dan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
onlineads, Manager at The Windflower Resort & Spa, Vythiri, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2017

Thank You For Your Feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

My friends and I visited Wayanad to climb the Chembra peak and stayed at the Windflower resort. I have been at the other Windflower resorts at Mysore and Coorg before and this one isn't as good. The food and the spread is great though as with the other resorts. Any room service order is typically unfulfilled or takes over 2 hours and repeated reminders. The spa is not as well staffed as the Mysore one and hence only one person of a gender at a time can enjoy a massage. The swimming pool is open only from 6 am to 6pm, but we couldn't find anyone to provide us towels or open the steam room and sauna even until 7:30 am. Fresh fruits and cookies were provided on teh day of arrival only and not replaced every day as per the package promise. There was no hot water on one day and despite repeated phone calls, was not fixed. On one day running water was not available for 30 minutes and was then fixed.

The room is pretty decent though and the bath is very spacious and well done. We had to wait for over an hour for the electric buggy at checkout. They seem to be short staffed.

We inquired if they could pack lunch for us as we were trekking up the Chembra peak, but they refused stating that food cannot be carried outside, this despite having paid for the package with all meals included. Very different from two other resorts in Wayanad that I have stayed in that obliged with similar requests. However we noticed some other guests being provided packed food, so don't know why the differential treatment.

One other major problem is the absence of a secure payment gateway for credit card based online reservations.Staff are friendly in general.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jaganr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 22, 2012

Thank you for your feedback. We apologize the inconvenience caused to you during your stay at The Windflower Vythiri. We are in the process of improving our online booking services as well. We do look forward to having you stay with us at another Windflower property soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vythiri
6.2 mi away
Sharoy Resort
Sharoy Resort
#7 of 22 in Kalpetta
918 reviews
10.5 mi away
The Wave Wayanad
The Wave Wayanad
#2 of 5 in Ambalavayal
174 reviews
1.9 mi away
Vythiri Village Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Blue Ginger Spa Resorts Wayanad
11.7 mi away
Banasura Hill Resort
Banasura Hill Resort
#1 of 1 in Vellamunda
340 reviews
4.8 mi away
Vythiri Resort
Vythiri Resort
#1 of 38 in Vythiri
1,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Windflower Resort & Spa, Vythiri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Windflower Resort & Spa, Vythiri

Address: 40 Survey No | Achoornam Village, Vythiri 673576, India
Location: India > Kerala > Wayanad District > Vythiri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Vythiri
Price Range: $123 - $290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Windflower Resort & Spa, Vythiri 4.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Windflower Vythiri is set in a tranquil coffee and tea estate a rich legacy of an English planter's pioneering spirit. In fact, from the time you drive in, the sweep of Vythiri's landscape, our signature Buddha statue and water bodies prepare you for the serenity of our resort. Saunter into your sit out and behold the awe-inspiring Chembra Peak that defines our property - its grey peaks peeping through the wet, white clinging mist. This scenic sight is yours even as you sit down to feast on a scrumptious breakfast at our restaurant's expansive open air balcony; or when you wait in quiet contemplation outside the Spa and even as you float feather-like in our swimming pool fringed by Silver trees. These mountain top views are the essence of Vythiri and pervade our entire property.The Windflower Vythiri's hospitality extends across 25 acres of coffee plantations uniquely set amidst a tea estate. Here, elegant, well appointed Villas and Suites await your arrival. Come, take advantage ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Windflower Resort & Spa, Vythiri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing