We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vythiri Resort Feedback”
Review of Vythiri Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Vythiri Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Bengaluru, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Vythiri Resort Feedback”
Reviewed March 14, 2014

this is a good resort situated in a very green environment. the resort advocates an environment friendly attitude. However, we noticed some plastic floating in the stream in the middle of the resort. There was also some plastic along the pathways when we went for nature walks.

We really enjoyed the guided tour of the plantation and the forest. Very informative.

The food was very good and the service in the restaurants was decent.

Needs a larger team to manage the customers.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nvchoudary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VythiriResort, Guest Relations Manager at Vythiri Resort, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear Guest,
We thank you for choosing Vythiri Resort for your holiday and sharing your experience in TripAdvisor.

We look forward to welcoming you again in Vythiri Resort in future.

Best Regards,
For Vythiri Resort Wayanad,
Guest Relations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,033 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    550
    313
    94
    41
    35
See reviews for
343
516
7
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (370)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Millington, New Jersey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2014

This resort is probably the best I have been to. Situated in the middle of a forest it provides a unique experience of being in touch with the divine. The facility is clean, excellent food, highly professional staff all under the guidance of the general manager Mr. Gopala Kirshnan. We stayed here three nights and we want more in our next visit. We booked this facility through Unique Kerala and they did a thorough job in arranging this facility and others for our stay in Kerala for seven days. Lovely experience.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Atharvana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VythiriResort, Guest Relations Manager at Vythiri Resort, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear Guest,
We thank you for choosing Vythiri Resort for your holiday and sharing your experience in TripAdvisor.

We look forward to welcoming you again in Vythiri Resort in future.

Best Regards,
For Vythiri Resort Wayanad,
Guest Relations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
395 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Vythiri is a good hideaway and you notice this when driving there (it takes a while from the main road, roundabout 56 bumpers and even more curves).
You are in the nature including the monkeys, the setting is great. Food buffet looks great but really delicious is different. During dinner there was unfortunately too loud music and not really nature feeling.
We like the pool and also the activities for kids and parents (although Yoga missing or timing difficult).

Room Tip: don't take that treehouses, there might be better alternatives.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank haktus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VythiriResort, Guest Relations Manager at Vythiri Resort, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear Guest,
We thank you for choosing Vythiri Resort for your holiday and sharing your experience in TripAdvisor.

Yoga & Meditation is offered to guests in every morning at 7.30. Some of the evenings we organise very melodious soft music so that guests enjoy the atmosphere. Apologies if it was too loud and disturbing.

We look forward to welcoming you again in Vythiri Resort in future.

Best Regards,
For Vythiri Resort Wayanad,
Guest Relations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

We spent 4 nights at Vythiri - and agree with other reviewers, you do need time to really appreciate and enjoy the experience of being deep in the rain forest. The longer we stayed the more special we realised the experience was - and the more we appreciated how hard the staff work. We were pleased to discover that the resort - at least at the time we were there - was mainly visited by Indians. It was good to have an opportunity to talk to them and to get their take on life. We really enjoyed the food - both for its quality and variety. The buffet style service, with its gleaming pots and daily changing choices, gave us a chance to see and sample a huge range of different Keralan dishes. The various cakes, especially the banana puffs, the cafe served at tea time were a particular highlight. We took a number of trips out, by resort jeep. The drivers were all excellent - they were careful drivers and friendly people, who took trouble to help us to get the most out of the trips (in simple but welcome ways, like finding good spots to picnic and taking the dreaded speed humps at a considerate pace). We enjoyed the opportunity to see the surrounding countryside - the views of the mountains and plantations with the odd haystack and rice field were wonderful as was being able to return "home" back up to the jungle. Lots of fellow reviewers have mentioned how much they enjoyed their morning and evening nature walks with Yogi, the resort's resident naturalist - and we agree, this was a highlight of our stay. Though we didn't actually see a leopard, or a porcupine or a civet cat - Yogi pointed out that there were lots of signs (for instance their spore) that they were around. And as for the monkeys …. watching them from above as we sat reading on the tree-house balcony, and they swung below us through the tree canopy and leapt between branches or came tip-toeing nervously past us on our verandah, baby in arms, or scampered over our roof in the morning, was, for us, a source of endless delight (and great photos).

Room Tip: We mixed and matched. Someone told us that 601 is the highest tree-house in India, we stayed in 603...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AilsaTapp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VythiriResort, Guest Relations Manager at Vythiri Resort, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear Guest,
We thank you for choosing Vythiri Resort for your holiday. Thank you for sharing your detailed experience in TripAdvisor. You have explained the whole experience of Vythiri in a few paragraphs.

We look forward to welcoming you again in Vythiri Resort in future.

Best Regards,
For Vythiri Resort Wayanad,
Guest Relations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

First things first:
(1) it's not a budget trip; we took the 2N 3D package for all inclusive (meals, accommodation and a few extra facilities) 20,000 INR from 13 February (check in time: 1 p.m.) to 15 February (check out time: 11 a.m.)
(2) travel to and fro to the resort is not part of any package. We took a state run bus from Kozhikode to vythiri village (41 INR per person). The resort arranged for a jeep from the bus stop to the resort (around 4.5 kms away) for 300 INR. Alternately, for 1800 INR, they can arrange for a cab all the way from Kozhikode to the resort.
(3) we visited during mid February (fading winter) yet the climate was very pleasant.
(4) as a part of the package, we were provided free head massage. guided treks, yoga class, cookery demonstration, tea and snacks in the morning and evening etc.,

We (my wife and I) were there for a holiday. We were looking for a quiet holiday away from the busy city life. Also, we bought a new DSLR and we were looking for a beautiful natural place and Vythiri was just the place. We stayed in Vythiri habitat, a beautiful and clean room with a balcony which looks into a stream (there was less water this time around; during rains, there will be lots of them, we were told). The room had a damp feeling to it but nothing discomfort able. The greenery around, the pool, the restaurant, coffee house are all clean and are well maintained. The staff everywhere are very courteous and friendly. The climate was pleasant and beautiful. All the meals are buffets and one has a widespread to choose from for all the meals. Breakfast was my favourite and you will be treated to both continental and south indian breakfast (not your usual idly, dosa, vada ... You have a lot of Kerala dishes like , kalan, avial etc., For non vegetarians, there are a constant spread of sea food apart from other dishes.

To sum it up, it was a nice holiday for us where we felt that we have left closer as a couple and much of it is can be credited to the resort and the experiences it has to provide. We reccommand this resort to anyone who seek that date with nature and calmness/quietness.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Nisid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VythiriResort, Guest Relations Manager at Vythiri Resort, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear Guest,
Greetings!!!

We thank you for choosing Vythiri Resort for your holiday and sharing your experience in TripAdvisor.

We are very happy to note that you really enjoyed your holiday at Vythiri.

We look forward to welcoming you again to Vythiri Resort in future.

Best Regards,
For Vythiri Resort Wayanad
Guest Relations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mangalore, Karnataka, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2014

My son wanted a real refreshing outing for his Birthday and on the advise of a friend we (Me wife Son and Daughter) have zeroed in on Vythiri Resorts at Wayanad in Kerala it falls on Mysore-Kozhikode highway,
When we have reached the village on the high way in our Toyota Inova SUV, we saw the directional board of Vythiri Resorts-3KM pointing the direction, we thought it is a couple of minutes away, but then started the thrill, The Road was so narrow with so many Hair Pin curves, we were holding on to the edges of our chairs thinking whether it was worth after all??,
Finally we have reached the place, it was like any other resort to look at after all, then we have been received by an elderly Gentleman their GM Guest Relations Mr.Gopalakrishnan, who has explained about the Resorts and one thing I liked most is when he told "There is No TV",
After that it was sheer play fun and relaxation through out for the Three days we were there,
It was X-Mass time when we were there, it was pleasantly cool, the whole area is so green as the Resorts were built like Cottages with out disturbing the Natural slope and Forest, there was a Stream running in the middle of the cottages with a Beautiful Rope Bridge, The Cottages were maintained so well and the Hygiene was maintained so well that any Hotelier can be proud of that, there is only one Restaurant and it serves Break Fast, Lunch evening snacks and Dinner but all Buffet only still the Choice and taste is so good you won't feel you don't have a La Carte,
There is a Water fall with in about Half a Km from the resorts with so sweet and Fresh water that you won't feel like leaving that Place,
Despite such Greenery the area is so silent some times it feels weird except for occasional Squirrel squeaks Oh yes we were fortunate to see a real Malabar Great Squirrel in it's own environment,
Above all we had all the time to talk and enjoy ourselves so much that I don't know when it was last that we had so much of each other,
So weather it was Birth Day or Honey Moon this place is wonderfull

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sirivi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VythiriResort, Guest Relations Manager at Vythiri Resort, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Dear Guest,
We thank you for choosing Vythiri Resort for your family holiday and birthday celebration of your son. We are very happy to note that you really have spent a good amount of time with each other at Vythiri Resort.

We look forward to welcoming you in future.

Best Regards,
For Vythiri Resort

Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2014

We had three nights at Vythiri Resort, two in a cottage and one in a treehouse. A memorable and enjoyable experience. The setting is superb – the resort blends into the jungle very well.
The treehouse was most memorable, perched tens of metres up from the ground. The house was spacious with branches of the tree passing through the floor and walls. Great Malabar Squirrels and black-faced monkeys (Indian langurs?) but not much birdlife. The resort provides a jeep for transport between the main lodge and the walking track to the tree-houses. The walking track is rather rough and needs repair.
The staff was very friendly and helpful. Buffet food was great.
Beware of the monkeys! A tribe of bold bonnet macaques roams the resort; individuals can come into your cottage (even when you are there!) and will steal food from the table in the restaurant.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank RalphIraphne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VythiriResort, Guest Relations Manager at Vythiri Resort, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Dear Guest,
We thank you for choosing Vythiri Resort during your holiday in India. We are very happy to note you are going back with very fond memories specially about the Tree House stay.

We look forward to welcoming you again,

Best Regards

For Vythiri Resort
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vythiri
10.3 mi away
Sharoy Resort
Sharoy Resort
#1 of 21 in Kalpetta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
1.0 mi away
Silent Creek Resort
Silent Creek Resort
#4 of 9 in Vythiri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
1.9 mi away
Lakkidi Village Resort
Lakkidi Village Resort
#2 of 6 in Lakkidi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Vythiri Village Resort
1.6 mi away
Blue Ginger Spa Resorts Wayanad
4.8 mi away
The Windflower Resort & Spa, Vythiri
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vythiri Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vythiri Resort

Property: Vythiri Resort
Address: Lakkidi P.O, Vythiri 673576, India
Location: India > Kerala > Wayanad District > Vythiri
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Vythiri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique Rustic,Eco-friendly jungle resort located 3.5 Kms in to a plantation adjoining the rain forests of Wayanad in Kerala. You will dwell in perfect harmony with nature - tree ferns, Malabar giant squirrels, Malabar whistling thrushes, mouse deer, atlas moths etc. You may choose accommodations from Tree Houses to Jacuzzi Villas to Cottages overlooking the natural atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Vythiri Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vythiri Hotel Kalpetta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing