We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bakkhali Tourist Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Deepak(Bakkhali)(Great Value!)
$11
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Amarabati(Bakkhali)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (77)
Filter reviews
77 results
Traveler rating
19
42
12
1
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
19
42
12
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswest bengal tourismonline bookingsea beachopen spacemodern amenitiesfishample parking spacetasty foodthe cottagesbook in advancegentle wavesnon stopbreakfast menuac restaurantgovernment touristchilli chickenomelet
Filter
Updating list...
69 - 74 of 77 reviews
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Situated on the beach, Bakkhali tourist lodge is one of the best Govt. set ups I have ever stayed in. You won't find any other hotel so close to the sea at bakkhali.
Food available is wonderful, specially fresh sea fish.
Rooms are spacious, well decorated with modern amenities (eg. flat TV). relax on the sofa and enjoy the surrounding view from the room.
You wont have problem in accomodating your driver in the available dormitory @ nominal charges.
Staff in general are cordial and helpful.
Overall is was a memorable stay.

Room Tip: Plan your travel and book online/ from WBTDC office early to avoid disappointment.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank aroy77in
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

We went to Bakkhali on 20th July 2011 and had booked bakkhali tourist lodge long back in April, to get booking and decent rooms.
This lodge is nearest to the beach, and is a really huge property to nice garden, lawn, a small pond, quite a pretty place and the greens soothes your eyes.
We were a group of 5 and so had booked 2 rooms. We were alloted room number 3 & 4.
On first glace the rooms looked ok, a little shabby though. The linens looked like they had served there life, and won't feel too sad if they are replaced by new sets.
The walls had damp here and there. Still manageable.
But as I tried to charge my mobile, the wall socket came out in whole. Had to call their electrician, who blamed the breakage on previous occupier of the room :O
Wanted to freshen up, so went to bathroom. Its of quite decent size, can't call it exactly dirty, but the floor wouldn't mind a good scrub for sure. The maintenance is so casual. When tried to open a tap, well, the water was coming out of pipe end, instead of tap faucet. The manager came and said, well, you know, we don't have extra tap, so you have to manage with this. I demanded a change in room, claiming I booked my room 3 months back, so they should have kept a better maintained room. After 15 minutes, the tap got replaced :-x

Later in the evening, while we sat chitchatting inside our room ( Room number 3), I could feel water pouring down my neck, though there was no sign of any rain outside.After a little scrutiny, we could locate that water was dripping from AC. Again on calling the manager, his solution was to pull the bed away from AC duct. What a convenient solution. !@#$%^&*.

Well, I must say, apart from these, rest of the stay went fine.

The Garden is good, its the best maintaned part of the property.

The restaurent also serves quite tasty food, though a little over priced, and the options are limited. Whatever item you ask for apart from 2 types of fish and chicken, they will say, if you buy from market, we will cook for you !!!! Whats that?????

There is even a watchtower inside the gate, when climbed on top, the view is really nice.

Its a pity, though, this is the best located hotel in Bakkhali, and the rooms are so big and airy. I seriously wish, if somebody could look into the maintenance part, this hotel can be the finest one to stay .

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Monalways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2012

We stayed in Bakkhali tourist lodge on 23rd and 24th Mar 2012 for 2 nights. The lodge is located very close to the beach. It is only 5 minutes walk. Rooms are nice and well maintained. The support staff were helpful. The restaurant is air conditioned. However, all the items mentioned in the menu card is not available. The room tariff includes complimentary breakfast. However the option is limited to bread and omlette or luchi and sabji. They do not provide complimentary tea/coffee along with breakfast. Also it is located near the sea, however, variety of fish is not available in the menu. We got prawns, ruhi and bhekti fish. The water is deep tube well water. Hence it is advisable to buy packaged drinking water. You do not have to carry water from Kolkata. There are lots of shops who sells Kinley, Bisleri water. Fruit juice, cold drinks etc are also available in the small shops on the beach and in the market area. The tourist lodge is spread in a big area. There is a huge garden. There are few swings for the kids. The lodge also has two watch tower. Once you climb you can get a view of the sea along with the forest. Overall it was an enjoyable experience staying at Bakkhali tourist lodge. The manager Mr. Kanjilal was very helpful. People who are travelling with kids, please note that milk is not available in the tourist lodge. It is better to carry from Kolkata. In one of the shop near the bus stand we got Amul tetra pack milk alongwith amul dahi. While travelling to Bakkhali, you must visit Henry island. The beach is isolated and we saw lots of red crab. Bakkhali beach is good. The waves are small however, the area where the vendors are located is very polluted with plastic strewn all over the beach. If you walk little further down the beach is clean and you can see lots of red crab. We saw two dead tortoises on the shore. Locals were saying that either it got caught in the fisherman's nest or was not able to swim back to the sea. It was a sorry sight and felt very helpless as we could not do anything to save them.

Overall it was a pleasant weekend gateaway from Kolkata. The only pain was crossing Hatania/Doania river. If a bridge is made across the river, it will save a lot of travel time.

Room Tip: None. All rooms are same type. However try to choose room no. 12, 11, 10, which is in the farthest corner of the building.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MountainloverKolkata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2012

The closest resort to the beach, with wide open lawns and gardens and lot of playing space for kids. However the service is not very good. Rooms are good but not well maintained; look out for the slippery floors. Bathrooms are not very clean and often full of water everywhere. Patches of wetness on the walls. The maintenance staff is not very cooperative. We had booked five rooms and after much coaxing one room boy took all our luggage and dumped them in the nearest room and said that we could shift it ourselves. If you're staying for more than a night, they often refuse to change the linen etc. everyday. On the intervention of the manager, we managed to get it changed only late in the evening. The restaurant is not very good with overpriced food, not very cooperative service staff. You need to order at least 3 to 4 hours in advance; even a cup of coffee cannot be ordered urgently. Actually the govt. type staff are not used to doing any courtesy service. Restaurant table sevice is also very poor.

Room Tip: Not much choice of rooms; but please book in advance (online) specially for weekends.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank JAYANTBISWAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2011

I stayed at Bakkhali Tourist Lodge for 2 days in the month February2011.It is located at Bakkhali ,Sundarbans,South 24-Parganas,West Bengal,India close to beach of the sea.I had a great experience when I entered at the Lodge.It is cottage type decorated with all modern amenities, neat and clean rooms with a very quite peace environment.There is a open space in front of the Cottage.The Lodge has a own Restaurant.It serves all type of foods including soft drinks.Round the clock service. I really loved this hotel

Room Tip: Two bedded room are good
  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank golam_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews