We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A high-value hotel in a great Amberg location.”

The Allee Parkhotel Maximilian
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Amberg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Allee Parkhotel Maximilian
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Amberg
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A high-value hotel in a great Amberg location.”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

I've stayed at the Allee Parkhotel 5 times while in Amberg on business and will be arriving for my sixth stay next week. I tend to be a "value" shopper and give this hotel a 5 rating on it's ratio of quality to price, not simply on the level of luxury, number of services and amenities, etc. This is a basic hotel with limited amenities which may garner a 4 rating from some but what the Allee Parkhotel does, they do well and charge a very reasonable price it.

I've stayed in just about every class room they have and all are very nice. My favorite, however is not the 2-level rooms on the top floor (categories 4 and 5). Rather, the category 3 rooms facing the wall of the old town are my favorite - quiet, cozy, and they offer a great view, especially with the large shuttered doors opened. Since they face away from the main street out front and face the old walled part of the town, there is little street noise.

In typical German style, the rooms - especially the bathrooms - are modern, clean, and very inviting. The tube-type TVs they had last time I stayed are a bit of a throwback to the 90s but who has time to waste watching TV? Get out and explore the sites, have a Kellerbier at the Brauerei Bruckmüller, a freshly grilled bratwurst at the Amberger Garten...anything but sit in the hotel watching TV.

Parking is very convenient under the hotel and access is available right into the basement level of the hotel from the garage. The cost is very reasonable too though I can't quite remember the exact cost. Internet service is good - a real necessity for the business traveler. The breakfast is good and with plenty of choices - meats, cheeses, soft-cooked eggs in the shell, herring, breads, yoghurt, fruits, jams, etc.

This place is always a solid choice at a very good price and I have no reservations recommending the Allee Parkhotel - excellent value.

Room Tip: Go for the category 4 or 5 if you like or need lots of room but the category 3 rooms facing the old...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank msb64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    16
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
3
7
2
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
107 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

Although not in booking.com or other booking sites this hotel is locaties near Amberg historic Centre. I took room type 4 (duplex) with great view on the old city. Very neat room, great living area and nice lighting...automated blinds you have to like. Good breakfast buffet and a lot of help if you require this. There are a lot of extra's I still need to find out... So I will return...no restaurant though.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Marko B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oviedo, Florida
Level Contributor
69 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I've stayed here many times over the years. Not sure I will next time I go to Germany, but that's because I've found that there is another hotel that caters better to Americans. The good news is that they've done a good job at improving their wireless internet connectivity. It is free. If you want to use the wired connection it costs. While I was there they added some English TV channels but they're all of the news variety - no AFN. There is no business center - I had to go down the street to a copy place to get documents scanned. Herr Fischer's English hasn't improved much over the years, but his granddaughter is slightly better. You will be charged 18 Euros a night more if two people are in the room. Like others have said - it's a convenient walk right inside the walls to the old part of the city. I do like this town and hotel...but times are changing.

Room Tip: Third floor has rooms with two levels (the side facing the city)- the bed is up a set of stairs...be...
See more room tips
Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank DontAsk4AScreenName
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level Contributor
315 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Stayed one night on a motorcycling tour of Europe. The hotel was very welcoming and is ideally situated a short walk from the beautiful centre of Amberg. Parking was very cheap at €2.50 per night in the underground car park below the hotel. The rooms are very spacious, modern and well appointed - we had a Category 2 Panorama room. Breakfast was superb (as we've come to expect in Germany) and we were able to have it on the outside terrace.

We look forward to returning to Amberg and the Allee Parkhotel in the future and for a longer stay next time.

Room Tip: Choose the Category 2 Panorama rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2012 via mobile

Very helpful staff. Modern and comfortable. Next to beautiful park. very clean hotel, nice small bar. They were very accommodating even took a comfortable lobby chair to my room because of my sleep apnea.

Stayed September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany
Level Contributor
122 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2011

For business purpose in this town. Hotel has all one needs. Best point = on walking distance from "old town", where you can find great local restaurant(s).
For business purpose in this town. Hotel has all one needs. Best point = on walking distance from "old town", where you can find great local restaurant(s).
For business purpose in this town. Hotel has all one needs. Best point = on walking distance from "old town", where you can find great local restaurant(s).

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FlyingDutchmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okeechobee, Florida
Level Contributor
169 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2011

I've stayed here twice while on business in the area. I like the Euro style and features as a welcome change from the chain hotels I usually stay in. The staff is very friendly and efficient and all speak English and are patient with my stumbling attempts with German. They have a daily breakfast that is amazing - meats, cheeses, breads, yogurts, granola, etc.. plus scrambled eggs and bacon for those who prefer more American type breakfasts. The hotel's location is right on the park that rings the outer wall of the old city. It is only a short walk and you're in the old town square with many cafes, restraunts.and shops. I highly recomend this hotel and look forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JVBV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amberg
0.2 mi away
Hotel Brunner
Hotel Brunner
#1 of 7 in Amberg
69 reviews
0.5 mi away
Vienna House Easy Amberg
110.2 mi away
Hotel-Brauerei-Gasthof Haas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Drahthammer Schloss'l
6.5 mi away
Brauerei Gasthof Hotel Sperber-Brau
Brauerei Gasthof Hotel Sperber-B...
#1 of 2 in Sulzbach-Rosenberg
44 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hotel Garni Kleindienst
Hotel Garni Kleindienst
#1 of 1 in Ursensollen
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Allee Parkhotel Maximilian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Allee Parkhotel Maximilian

Property: The Allee Parkhotel Maximilian
Address: Pfalzgrafenring 1, Amberg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Palatinate > Amberg
Amenities:
Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Amberg
Number of rooms: 47

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing