We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“False advertising!”
Review of Hotel St Georg

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel St Georg
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Bad Aibling
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Booked through Expedia at advertised rate but was charged another 50 dollars for my 12 year old daughter. Turns out that is because they didn't have a family suite but instead shoved my family of 4 into one room. I just woke up to find myself covered in insect bites that I hope are not from the giant spider crawling across the wall. The advertised air conditioning is actually a window, there's not even a fan. We are only passing through on our way to Austria but we will not be staying any longer than necessary. In my religion, st George is the patron saint of soldiers, he surely isn't the saint looking out for weary travelers. I recommend staying here if you are desperate for lodging with a free breakfast, swim pool, and a few other resort amenities. I imagine this place was awesome back in 1982 but it's time has passed. To sum it up, the fee is not commiserate with the accommodations.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kkibby43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (201)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 201 reviews

Reviewed December 15, 2011

My company had a workshop at this hotel in the late fall. I stayed in the older part of the hotel and found the rooms a little dated, but clean. Food was "so so". The exercise room was so-so, and the pool area was very nice.

The service during the meeting was good.

I would not visit this hotel on my own.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main hotel area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank birdieca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2011

I have been in the hotel for two nights with a large group during an organized tour.
Very well organized for this kind of stay. 
Good cleanliness, food not bad and kind of traditional, breakfast excellent. 
Location is not exactly very interesting to visit the closest bigger cities of the Baviera.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blausetti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2011

My company held a workshop at this hotel and we had a great experience. The rooms were nice. The hotel overall is very clean and attractive. The food in the restaurant was excellent at all three meals of the day.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davidrleenc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2010

My husband was attending a trade show in Munich & a 1 day conference at the St Georg so I tagged along and spent 3 nights with him at the hotel (booking was made by a client of his). Bad Aibling is a quaint town with a beautiful park but the hotel was not conveniently situated for daily travel into Munich (2 trains + the S bahn). Guests who were obviously not attending a conference at the hotel, seemed to be in the 60+ age bracket. Rooms very ordinary but spacious. Could have been cleaner eg. bedroom surfaces dusty. Terrible mattress and noisy 'til late due to smoking area outside bar which was close to our room. Also encountered a rude male receptionist - we had a communication problem but I was in no way unpleasant and he was - unforgiveable in my opinion!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelbug69CapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2008

Having seen the above three reviews, my wife and I wanted at first to shorten our stay, which was booked for a full week as a gift to us from our children and their partners. The booking included treatments at the health centre attached to the hotel. We couldn't change our booking at that stage but we needn't have worried - the whole experience was very enjoyable.

Our accomodation was in a normal double room (i.e. no cooking facilities) which was reasonably close to reception and to all facilities. The furnishings, bathroom, temperature control, carpets and curtains were all of a standard one would expect from a very good 4-star hotel and rooms were cleaned and made up freshly every day. Flat-panel TV, hair-dryer, room safe, plentiful lighting, large balcony, Internet access via wi-fi were all excellent. The Reception area was also smart, clean and welcoming and contained a table loaded with catalogues of local facilities. It contained two PCs for land-line Internet access (for those without lap-tops and wi-fi) but those were fully occupied most of the time.

Meals were also generally excellent , with self-service and big helpings. Only negative was a certain lack of variation in the salad buffet, which became a little boring after a few days (we stayed a full week). We noticed that young children were well catered for with food, ice cream (in copious quantities) and soft drinks. Breakfast was great, lunch was perfectly adequate and dinner included a choice of 4 main dishes (including 1 vegetarian dish), which meant there was always a good choice. Only on the last day did we find the main course below par to what one would hope for (meat too tough and stringy on that occasion).

The bar was fine, some entertainments were laid on and the organised events (e.g Norwegian walking, keep-fit/yoga, bicycle hire etc) were more than one would normally expect to be offered at a 4-star hotel.

Staff were very friendly, though - as other reviewers pointed out - the receptionist(s) could be very busy at times. We found this friendliness in all staff, even though we had prepared ourselves for some brusqueness after reading other reviews.

The Wellness Centre and the Beaty Salon were bright and modern and again staff were very pleasant and helpful. There was (still is) a minor mix-up over the bill for our treatments (massages, baths etc) but we hope to have that sorted out soon; we think it occurred through some 'hiccup' between the hotel reception and the Wellness Centre. [Note: Because most of the treatments were pre-paid for us and because we couldn't be sure if there was double-billing, we simply paid and left it to be sorted out later.]

We found the (free to use) hotel pool to be very pleasant, with a Jacuzzi attached and with a very workable 28 degrees temperature. We didn't use the sauna or sunbed, though could have done so easily.

The Moor Express bus, which is free to residents, is a great facility for getting into Bad Aibling and back (until 16:30 latest!) and to the thermal baths in the town itself. We'd really recommend all St Georg guests to make the effort to use this facility (multiple pools, indoor and outdoor, all heated to 36 degrees C). There's also a fine skating rink right next to it, though we didn't use that.

All-in-all, a very pleasant experience and we'd have no hesitation in recommending the hotel and facilities to all age groups, couples or families.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank adrenalin3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2008

We booked to stay at the Sankt George over the New Year period, for a weeks stay. It had appealed as it offers everything you could want, transfer to ski-ing for my husband, pool, jacuzzi, sauna and treatments for me and a free creche for little ones - what more could we ask for!

We arrived 2 nights before New Years Eve, I had read on other reviews that reception were not the most welcoming, we were given no information on where to find anything in the hotel, details on the creche / treatments / meals etc, just pointed in the direction of our room. The hotel is split into a main section and 3 other outbuildings, we had been put in one furthest from the hotel and were given no baby monitor (we had our 2 yr old with us).

Our first thought when we walked into the building we were staying in was that it was their conference facility, which it was. We had booked a room in the hotel which was due to have 2 bedrooms and a sitting room, instead we had one bedroom and a sitting room that had the cot in it, so we had to move the cot into our bedroom. The room was decorated in 1960's style, was freezing cold at night and was very depressing.

Dinner was even more depressing. Although the hotel say they are child friendly, there were no meals that catered for children, so our little girl ate hardly anything. In fact it is fair to say that overall the food was extremely poor and the staff appeared to be constantly running around in a frenzy, so it wasn't the most relaxing of experiences. The creche is great for older children but for those under 4 who want / need some interaction, they won't get it as there are just 2 girls in charge, who didn't seem to be qualified, our little one hated it and she is normally great with childrens clubs. In addition to which the ski transfer was 40 minutes away, so they weren't entirely truthful about being able to ski nearby.

We were so dissapointed with the whole experience we decided we couldn't face seeing in the New Year, so having voiced our concerns on the evening we arrived, the following day we gave them notice we would be leaving in the next 24 hours. They tried to get us to pay an extra day on top but we refused and left.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank bluebombay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bad Aibling
0.9 mi away
Lindners Hotel & Restaurant
Lindners Hotel & Restaurant
#2 of 5 in Bad Aibling
133 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Schmelmer Hof
Hotel Schmelmer Hof
#4 of 5 in Bad Aibling
168 reviews
2.7 mi away
B&O Parkhotel
B&O Parkhotel
#1 of 5 in Bad Aibling
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Johannisbad
Hotel Johannisbad
#3 of 5 in Bad Aibling
61 reviews
4.6 mi away
San Gabriele
San Gabriele
#1 of 12 in Rosenheim
205 reviews
4.9 mi away
TRYP by Wyndham Rosenheim
TRYP by Wyndham Rosenheim
#8 of 12 in Rosenheim
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St Georg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St Georg

Address: Ghersburgstr. 18, 83043 Bad Aibling, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Bad Aibling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Bad Aibling
Price Range: $115 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel St Georg 3.5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LOCATION In the southern alpine landscape of Munich, only 4km away from the A8 Munich-Salzburg, the mountains are within easy reach. The hotel, idyllically located at the edge of Bad Aibling, offers more than just satisfaction. NUMBER OF ROOMS 220 rooms, of which 150 are double rooms, 42 queen-size single rooms, 24 two-room apartments and 4 disabled-adapted rooms. 17 CONFERENCE ROOMS An events pavilion is available, as well as 10 partly combinable conference and workshop rooms, e.g. for assessment centres. All rooms have daylight and are equipped with the latest conference technology. W-LAN is available throughout the hotel area (including the grounds). CATERING Various restaurant areas with conservatory and sun terrace, St. Georg room, Tyrolean and buffet room, bar and fireplace lounge, and grass area for barbecues directly at the hotel. WELLNESS AND BEAUTY AREA SPA area with indoor pool, whirlpool, underwater massage, water wall shower, rainforest shower, sauna area, fitness room and lawn, wellness centre and BeauDay cosmetics studio. LEISURE AREA Bicycle hire (including e-bikes), tennis court, table tennis, Ghersburg Forest directly next to the hotel for Nordic Walking and jogging. PARKING 90 underground garage parking spaces (against a charge) and 100 free outdoor parking spaces directly at the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel St Georg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Georg Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing