We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOT IMPRESSED”
Review of Zum Stift

Zum Stift
Ranked #10 of 141 Restaurants in Kempten
Cuisines: German, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Large groups, Families with children, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
california
Level Contributor
298 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“NOT IMPRESSED”
Reviewed August 13, 2014

We stopped by this typical Bavarian brewery restaurant expecting some good schnitzels but were totally disappointed. The place seems to be in the center of town next to the stift and residenz but it really did not impress even though we enjoyed the ambiance of the place,

The schnitzel meat was overcooked and did not taste good considering this is such a common Bavarian dish. Prices were also not particularly good except it did serve a very nice local pilsner beer.

I do not recommend this one!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dhlchung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    38
    25
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kempten, Germany
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Value”
Reviewed August 9, 2014

Getting typical bavarian food is worth going there. Variety on the menue is good and the value for food and beer ist great. Sitting in the Biergarten is awesome, especially on warm nights. Try it, you won't be disappointed

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ralf S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good atmosphere, huge helpings, miserable waitress”
Reviewed May 12, 2014

This place looks and feels like a typical Bavarian hostelry. Despite the large size of the main room, the atmosphere is warm and relaxed. As the evening progressed many of the tables were taken by people drinking or playing board games etc. The food is certainly not adventurous but the choice is wide and the servings are generous.
Our waitress, who certainly did not hail from Bavaria gave us a challenge; could we make her smile? We failed in that aim, despite valiant efforts. She certainly had no time for our questions, even though they were delivered in faultless German (by my wife for whom that language is her mother tongue.) I will give service poor rather than terrible because, to be fair, she did deliver everything efficiently and did not spill anything, but the management of this place should explain to all their staff that it is a good idea to make guests feel welcome! I am sure that other waiting staff were fine; we were just unlucky.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan
Level Contributor
45 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Worst hospitality on record”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

From the rudest possible welcome (after spending a few minutes standing, trying to catch a waiter's or the owner's attention, the only English speaking member of staff received me with "What do you want?", and they appeared even reluctant to seat me), to the very modest food, to the final refusal to accept a EUR 15.6 payment by credit card referencing a EUR 25 threshold which is not stated anywhere, this place qualifies as the most inhospitable I have ever experienced. Oh, by the way: they also didn't bother issuing a fiscal receipt, which might explain the interest in being paid cash... talk about stereotypes. To be absolutely avoided - plenty of places in the surroundings where you can spend the same amount of money, if not less, and even manage to get decent service and food!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TrapAdvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buena Vista, Colorado
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“great local spot”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We met an old friend for an afternoon visit at the Stift. My husband came here 30 years ago as a regular. It is still a great local spot with good food at good prices.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ooooTravelGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zum Stift also viewed

 

Been to Zum Stift? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing