We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't miss this gem!”
Review of Der Furstenhof

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Der Furstenhof
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Kempten
Certificate of Excellence
Landstuhl, Germany
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Don't miss this gem!”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

What a treat it was to find a hotel with availability late at night with a reception manager who spoke perfect English! We stayed in a suite (really an apartment) for 3 that had a wonderful view of the town, 2 bedrooms, a living room and split bathroom - for a very reasonable price with breakfast included. Speaking of which, when we told them we had to leave at 6:00am, the night supervisor put the entire breakfast spread out at 5:45 so we could make ourselves a meal to go, and then offered us a six-pack of juice! I would stay there again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that looks over the town square - very quaint.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    81
    28
    4
    2
See reviews for
43
65
4
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2012

It's a great hotel with spacious and clean rooms.

The Hotel has free wifi.

Parking is a bit of a problem. But if you are lucky most of the time you can find a parking spot in the neighborhood of the hotel for free( or parking meter). The hotel itself has a few parking spots outside , but don't count on it ! Most of the time there is no space. The hotel also has a garage (payment).

The breakfast had a great choice of food and there was never an empty spot. Everything was immediately filled by.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Helena V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level Contributor
133 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012

This is a charming hotel in the centre of Kempten. It is a old hotel with lots of charm, nooks and crannies, so if you are looking for something modern don't stay here. My room overlooked the square where the Christmas market was. The room was very large, spotless and very quiet. The bathroom was also a good size. Breakfast was also very good though the hot options were limited. The hotel is in the centre of Kempten and in the pedestrian zone so all of the shopping is right outside. All of the staff were very helpful and they all speak very good English. I would recommend this hotel for its location and character.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valerie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012 via mobile

The hotel has many things to its advantage:it's at a great location,it's right next to the Christmas market,they have a carpark behind the hotel, the staff speak good English and the breakfast is pretty decent. Our only reason for giving it a 3 is that it's a little dated and its pretty hard to find via GPS.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samjogoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tortola
Level Contributor
142 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

31 years ago I used to travel to Kempten for business and always stayed at the Der Furstenhof. I thought it was a great hotel then, I thought it was great this time around as well. The customer service was warm and welcoming and the hotel location is unbeatable.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KiaOra97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

We had 4 rooms booked during our road trip of Europe and we just chose this hotel as this was on the way and had secure parking, arriving in a car to the town was easy but this hotel is in middle of the town and we had to ask the locals for direction, the town is very charming and the hotel is housed in a very old historic building which is beautiful to look at. The car parking is in the basement and though a bit tight to drive in has got space for few cars. The rooms are the biggest we have ever stayed in and our children could run around which they normally don't tend to get in most hotels. The breakfast was good and the town had few restaurants to dine in. overall it was an good choice in a nice town.

Room Tip: the room on the top floor is teh biggest and is spread over 2 floors, it is the size of a 3 bed room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fira31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
286 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Found it after a drive around town after a long drive from Venice. What a contrast! Kempten is a charming and welcoming place and the welcome from the hotel staff was in keeping. The room was big and well appointed. With a bath - oh joy! Very quiet and overlooking a pedestrianised area. The lift noise was a bit obtrusive but not troubling. While on the downside, there was a problem with the bath draining away - water came up through the drain thingy in the bathroom floor. Not good, but can happen in an old(er) building. On the upside, the breakfast room is beautiful and the food itself is splendid and more than adequate. Overall, we'd be very happy to stay there again and in fact we're keen to explore the town and the whole area knowing we'd have somewhere comfortable to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SussexBloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kempten hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Peterhof
Hotel Peterhof
#2 of 9 in Kempten
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
0.4 mi away
BigBOX Hotel
BigBOX Hotel
#1 of 9 in Kempten
4.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bayerischer Hof
Hotel Bayerischer Hof
#4 of 9 in Kempten
4.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Goldene Steig
Hotel Goldene Steig
#7 of 9 in Kempten
4.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
1.0 mi away
Landhotel Hirsch
Landhotel Hirsch
#5 of 9 in Kempten
4.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
0.2 mi away
myParkhotel Kempten
myParkhotel Kempten
#9 of 9 in Kempten
3.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Der Furstenhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Der Furstenhof

Property: Der Furstenhof
Address: Rathausplatz 8, 87435 Kempten, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Swabia > Kempten
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Kempten
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Der Furstenhof 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HRS, Cancelon, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Der Furstenhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Der Furstenhof Kempten, Germany - Bavaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing